We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Vio.com
Etrip
Booking.com
eDreams
ZenHotels.com
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
201
71
22
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
201
71
22
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews glass igloo front row once in a lifetime northern lights bucket list igloo village unique experience aurora borealis clear skies breakfast provided hot water nice breakfast sausage open fire ski resort in december ice hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2022

I have mixed feelings about the “Golden Crown Levi Igloos”: While the location is fantastic, the Igloos are very close together, so this means you will get “light poisoning” from your neighbours. Plus, there is not a lot of privacy – So if you don’t like the idea that somebody can get a glimpse of you in your pyjamas, better don’t go. For us, that wasn’t a problem at all.
If you want to go, I recommend you spend the money for the front row ones (approx. 55 Euros more) or even the suites, as the website just gives away in fine print, that the “normal” ones for 330 a night have very limited view of the beautiful scenery. Breakfast for the next day was placed in the fridge with plastic wrapped bread – Eeks! But I must admit, it was tasty, and we enjoyed the explanation given for the local food, e.g., the Lappish bread cheese. Yet, I consider the standard igloos overpriced for what they are: service is minimal (3* hotel), so you only pay for location and glass roof. Of course, the hotel cannot be kept responsible for atmospheric conditions, so expect to sink many hundred Euros for seeing nothing at all should it be overcast. We were lucky: no clouds and aurora borealis the one night we stayed (and the “aurora alert” works pretty well you get a voucher for – it sounded the moment we spotted it ourselves, as we were still awake).
Do I recommend you to go? Yes! But do splurge on the room and bring your own favourite drinks and food, as there is no minibar (but Ittala tableware – nice!) and the restaurant closes early.
Recommendation to the owner family: It would be great, if the Igloos were not placed that close together, but I guess that cannot be changed. So at least make it more transparent on the website how the igloos are placed. We would have upgraded to front row or even suite on the spot – but they weren’t yet cleaned, so we couldn’t. And it would be great if the restaurant could be enhanced (e.g. à la carte), so there are other options than just the set menu. Overall increase the service a bit (e.g. replace the “made in China” toiletries with local ones), so guests have more perceived return in value in case the aurora borealis isn’t seen.

Room tip: Book front-row or suites, forget the others!
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reeta Kari, General Manager at Golden Crown Levi Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest,
I am sorry to hear we werent able to meet your expectations while your stay with us.
Autumn time we have little a bit more limited services at the area but we try to make everything still special and inform these to our guests. I seems that we werent able to inform you well enough.

As we are GreenKey sertified location, we are moving towards ecological toiletaries etc, but we are using our old storage before that. This is sustainable way to do the move towards new products.

Overall, thank you for your feedback - we will definitely looking into it and try to improve our services and our information on our web page. We always try to be as transparent as possible, and this is one of our main values.

Hopefully we will meet again at igloos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2022

Firstly it's absolutely stunning, better than the pictures with a magical feel about it. We were so excited to stay here but it turned into a nightmare. When we got to the room, we removed the cover from on top of the bed and it was covered in hairs from the previous guests. This was around 10pm so no one was around so we had to remove over 20 hairs belonging to previous guest from our bed ourselves before we could sleep. We checked surrounding area (tables and shelves) and found a further 5 or 6 hairs, not a great experience on our first night. The hotel is beautiful and we wished we could have stayed longer but this isn’t what we would expected so we checked out the following day.

Also the conversation with the head of house cleaning the following morning was very concerning as she admitted that they don’t wash the throws on the bed after guests leave. And she also said we should expect some hairs as she can’t see everything! We also found pop corn around the microwave from the last guest. It would have been nice to have been offered a partial refund for our night there but this wasn't offered to us.

Breakfast and service in the morning was good, but such a shame about the filthy Igloo.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bappad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reeta Kari, General Manager at Golden Crown Levi Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review! It has great value for us.

Im sorry to hear that the cleaniless of the igloo was not as expected! This is very important part of the overall experience that we want to offer for our guests. This time we have definetely failed to meet in you case.
Normally in the hotel industy the throws and decorative pillows etc are not washed after each guests. Therefore this is not also our procedure on these materials.

I will definetely go though this feedback with our staff to prevent this happening again.
Once again, I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience and that we faild to meet your expectations. Hopefully you could give us a second change in the future.

I wish you a lovely autumn time!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2022 via mobile

Everything just perfect. Dreamy hotel with wintery scenery, just like a dream. Good breakfast provided, winter activity can be arrange by the hotel. For best view, please choose the premier igloo, that would be the front facing the winter forest. We definitely will come back to this Hotel.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ai_117
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reeta Kari, General Manager at Golden Crown Levi Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2022

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review! Im happy to hear you have enjoyed the stay with us!
Hope to see you again at Igloos!

Kind regards,
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2022

We stayed here during the season so the place was wonderfully white. There are about 30 igloos, all separate with their own door, of which three, I believe, are suite igloos. These are more spacious and right at the edge of the igloos providing an uninterrupted view across the expanse of trees. I would recommend if your budget stretches.

It is about 15 minutes from Levi and reception booked us a taxi.

The on-site restaurant, Utsu, is excellent.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reeta Kari, General Manager at Golden Crown Levi Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2022

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review! I am truly happy to hear everything was as expected! Hope to see you again at the igloos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2022

We were very fortunate to stay in a suite igloo for one night. Everything was perfect. The interior and views are simply stunning. The welcome drinks and snacks provided was a really nice touch. Unfortunately we didn’t get to see the Northern Light but it didn’t ruin the experience at all for us. It’s been on my bucket list for years and I’m so lucky I got to do it in style. I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending staying here for a once in a lifetime experience.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Casserole007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reeta Kari, General Manager at Golden Crown Levi Igloos, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us also without the northern lights. Hope to see you again - maybe next time with the auroras!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews