We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House boat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake View House Boats
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017 via mobile

Never book overnight stay at houseboat at Rudra houseboat. It was one of the horrible experience for our families. We were 3 families along with 5 kids. Boat took us for riding with small circle in back water like local boating and then parked it at same starting point where area was dirty and with full of mosquito. Food served was worst and very limited. Finally we got down and purchased local food from outside. There was saulty cold water for bath. There is no hot water. Toilets are dirty. Whole night we could not sleep. When complained to boat staff, replied rudely that you sleep and let us also sleep. Don't disturb. You will get this much only. When contacted their manager at office, it was horrible. He said why you are disturbing. You are with family so enjoy ... Do you want to spend night on road with family? Charges were 30000 per night which we had paid in advance. So never take this risk... Atleast with families. We meet another couple on adjesunt boat who were also having same experience and literally regretting for booking boat.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
3  Thank Dinesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (281)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 281 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

We were initially skeptical about the houseboat journey as we heard some unpleasant stories- dirty toilets, mosquitos and rude staff. But this premium houseboat (jacuzzi, glass window, full AC) put of anxieties to rest. Without a doubt, the 1-room Lakeview Houseboat lived up to its expectations.

The staff and crew were extremely courteous, professional. Mr Kannan offered to pick us up from our resort (Zuri). The maintanance of houseboat was up to mark, food was delicious and crew went out of their way to make our journey comfortable.
No trip to Kerala is complete without the quintessential 21-hour houseboat journey.

The docking area was ok, but you dont have to venture out.
Avoid expensive fish from the designated middlemen.

Room Tip: Choose houseboat from Kumarakom as it is less crowded than Alleppy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tusharthane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake view h, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Tushar,
Greetings from Lake view Houseboat.
We thank you for using your valuable time to write your travel experience about our houseboat. It is indeed a detailed one. We glad that your stay in our houseboat is a memorable one. Thank you for sharing.
regards,
Sreekumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

Its really a best place in our entire Kerala trip. We enjoyed the sun rise, sun set and had some tasty, spicy fish food. We spent almost 10 hours in the boat. It was really an excellent romantic place. The boat was halted in a near by village where we went and enjoyed to the core. Must try for newly married couple

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ranjith_K87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

He viajado con mi hija dos dias con el barco Maniyara de la empresa Lake View House Boats- y hemos tenido un crucero estupendo. Relajado tranquilo y muy bien atendidas.
El Maniyara house boat es un barco muy bien preparado, moderno por dentro con mobiliario comodo y todo nuevo. Muy espacioso y limpio.
El equipo de personas que nos atendieron , muy educados , amables y muy buena comida.
Repetiria y recomendaria a todos mis amigos, asi como la empresa de Sreetours que nos ha gestionado el viaje por Kerala.
El Sr. Sreekumar que la regenta, es muy fiable y honrado, nos ha tratado muy bien,
Han sido unos dias fantasticos por la India del sur.
I traveled with my daughter two days with the boat company Maniyara from Lake View House Boats- and we have had a great cruise. Relaxed quiet and very well catered for.
The Maniyara house boat is a very well prepared boat, modern inside with comfortable furniture and everything new. Very spacious and clean.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would repeat and recommend to all my friends, as well as the Sreetours company that has managed the trip to Kerala.
Mr. Sreekumar who runs it, is very reliable and honest, he has treated us very well,
It has been a fantastic day for South India

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank MariAngeles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake view h, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear Dr Angeles, We thank you for using your valuable time to write your travel experience about our houseboat. We glad that your stay in our houseboat is a memorable one. Thank you for sharing.
regards, Sreekumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Travelled on 8-10-17 in Maniyara 1 Bed Room Premium House boat. Was served 1) Welcome Drink 2) Yummy Lunch with payasam as desert 3) Lip smacking Snacks and Tea coffee.
The Cleanliness and upkeep of boat is a 10/10.
The staff (total 3 ppl) all smiling ready to help and ultra co-operative.
I travelled from Kumarakom to Alapuzha ( Punnamada Jetty) Beautiful experience.
The A/c was on full time in both Bedroom as well as Living Room. Sitting in the Upper deck of the boat is just a memorable experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank cyrilshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lake view h, Owner at Lake View House Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2017

Dear sir, Thank you for writing your feedback about lake view houseboat in trip advisor.
We are happy to hear about trip and hope you will refer some of your friends about this boat and its service. Thank you for sharing.regards,
Sreekumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kumarakom hotels
1.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
6.6 km away
Backwater Retreat Theme House
2.5 km away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Abad Whispering Palms Lake Resort
0.1 km away
Lake Palace Family Resort
Lake Palace Family Resort
#21 of 26 in Kumarakom
41 reviews
1.2 km away
Cocobay Resort
Cocobay Resort
#14 of 26 in Kumarakom
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View House Boats

Address: Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Kottayam District > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range: $186 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Houseboat, pioneers in Kerala Backwater cruise, starts its operation During 2002. We have 6 houseboats with a total of 12 rooms for renting. We are located at Kumarakom Govt Boat Jetty, Kumarakom Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Lake View House Boats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake View House Boats Kumarakom, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing