We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Paradise Resorts(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backwater Retreat Theme House(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Illikkalam Lakeside Cottages(Kumarakom)(Great Value!)
US$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,523)
Filter reviews
1,523 results
Traveller rating
911
408
116
51
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
911
408
116
51
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaya spalime treelaguna basspresidential pool villabamboo raftingman made lagoonvembanad lakepaddle boatingswimming poollagoon viewstar resortartificial lakeoutdoor showerhigh teagames roombeautiful propertycottage rooms
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,523 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

So I was recommended to stay here by a Keralite colleague & I’m glad I did. The Resort is actually more stunning than I had imagined but as it was off season I feel the vibe was not as it would normally be. Definitely take a boat ride for some pictures & try their spa for an Ayurvedic treatment! My only comment would be for the room linen to be updated as they didn’t feel as crisp as a hotel of this standard should have. Apart from that - highly recommend this beautiful resort if you are in the area.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
2  Thank Madcatuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Guest,
I truly appreciate your feedback and the time you took to comment on your visit.
While it is certainly good to hear you enjoyed the service you received from our dedicated and professional associates.
We will look into the quality of linen and take up with the vendor based on the feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back for many future stays and I thank you for taking the time to submit your thoughtful and thorough comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We checked in yesterday and from the time of check in till today... The experience is going from bad to worce.. The time you enter the room , you see the moist in the room , the Tv was full of moist , that we could not even see a picture... had to wipe it and then the room is totally outdated and the furniture is old and toned. The bathroom fittings are dirty and taps are moving.

Later in the evening we received a call at 04:35 Pm from reception telling that we will have cruise at 04:45 pm . So please be there in time or else it will leave and go... We just got up and went there in 5 min and waited for other people till 05:10 pm. So again poor management by Zuri Staff.
At the same time the high tea is kept... So client paying for the cruise is bound to miss the high tea.
After all this hik ups... we decided to relax in the sauna and steam...but unfortunately it was closed. and nowhere the timings are mentioned. Its just mentioned that Spa and pool are open till 8pm..
So a client checks in at 02:00 pm , reaches and gets comfortable in the room by 03:00 pm and suddenly he feels that he has to do all the activities at the same time or else he will miss everything and he gets stranded because timings for all activities are same.
Later at the dinner : it was the worst 5 star buffet spread. A warning to the North Indians , please bring your own stuff , as the variety of north Indian dishes are very limited and tastes awful. The buffet was cold and staff was rude.

After all this we wake up this morning , in expectations of a good breakfast , but the same story instead worst. The drink contains : only 2 items : Cold Coffee ( not cold) , pineapple juice ( Not Cold) and the dishes that should be hot was cold. and when complained , the staff made an excuse of air conditioning , as if the air conditioning is only in Zuri and not other 5 star resort. and if Air conditioning was the play then the drinks should also have been cold.

Note: The hotel does not offer any privacy. The incident happened with us yesterday.
After check in , we were relaxing in our room and heard the bell . so i was just getting ready to open the door but suddenly the room services persons cam inside with hi key.
So after yesterday my wife is like please put a chair or something on the door , so that they do not open it again when we are in the room.

The stay has been the most disappointing. Have stayed all over the world and always stay in 5 star. But such an experience that to in Kerala was never expected.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ashumegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your visit. I see from your comments that the facilities and service you received during your stay did not meet your expectations and for this I sincerely apologize.
I do understand your frustration with the restaurant operation and hope you will find suitable selections in our a-la-carte menu to choose, with our chef's who are always there to assist.
Besides our main dining restaurant called Lime tree other restaurants are Laguna Bass for coastal and continental cuisine, In-Room Dining multi cuisine menu option, 2 Blue- Poolside during the day provides a healthy mix of short bites to munch on and Trunk Call Bar which offers short bites as one lounges to enjoy a drink.
We cater to a global audience who relish our local cuisine so as to experience the culture and cuisine.
North Indian fare is again prepared by chefs who are from North of India so as to replicate the cuisine taste as close to what one gets home.
On arrival the welcome letter details every aspect of the resort activities with timings to enable guest to pace and enjoy the different activities with able assistance provided by our guest relations to all queries.
Our trained associates follow standard operating procedures and are empowered to take decision at all touch points which ensures guests needs come first and for guests to experience hospitality the way it is meant to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

It was an unforgettable experience at lime tree restaurant in zuri kumarakom..One of my friend suggested me about the restaurant, to be frank the food classification in the buffet was not up to the mark but the service provided is unbeatable..Especially mr.adarsh who is a best example of hospitality,should learn a lot from him and the way he done his service was brilliant..My daughter was not well so we had to go soon otherwise could spent a wonderful time at the restaurant..The only thing was the buffet had very less options not widespread,as a frequent traveller to hotels my perception in 5 star category buffet is something huge and those who look at the buffet should have an intention to go for it blindly..

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank thankachan255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment, and with this understanding, we hope you will join us for another visit when it will be our utmost pleasure to welcome you back.
The spread is based on the number of residential guest arrivals for luncheon on that day. We arrange a lighter buffet if arrivals are late or not on meal plans and stay over guests are negligible and generally opt out from having a buffet.Buffet price points also are dynamic.Food wastage is a social crime and our chef's plan meal periods accordingly.
I totally endorse your viewpoint from a non residential client perspective since walk-in clientele is not a daily thing to the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

This 5 star super deluxe resort - whatever that may mean- will catch your eye as you drive in and you will stay mesmerized till you leave. The 16 acre property has an artificial lake with beautiful landscaping and cottages and two story building blocks overlooking it. There are also some private cottages overlooking the natural lake with private swimming pool and garden. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom quite big with a bath tub and shower. Bathroom fittings need to replaced and some design elements are not very user friendly.
Service is excellent and staff have been trained to treat the customer as king. Lilly who welcomed us and drove us around the property was ever ready to help.
The breakfast spread was ok but the a la carte dishes served for lunch and dinner were close to inedible. The karimeen pollichathu was under cooked and the shrimp curry so so. The flambe was very disappointing too. The Chinese dishes we ordered through room service were a total let down - the fried rice was watery - neither Indian nor Chinese and the Lamb was more North Indian than Chinese. The property needs to improve food quality. The sea food restaurant was closed for renovation so only the Lime Tree was available.
There is a free high-tea served between 4.30-5.00 pm daily. Coffee, tea, milk, cookies and a fried snack are served on a tethered house boat. This is a clever idea and guests feel pampered; also a great time to make friends.
Would like to visit again but will dine at one of the many authentic restaurants that are located close by.

Room Tip: All rooms and cottages face the lake - first floor rooms do not have lift access
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swapna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback regarding your stay at The Zuri,Kumarakom.
I can certainly understand the frustration you express and am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations in the cuisine front.
Our Chef's will certainly re-look into the standard recipes to make it delicious to all palate.
We hope you will find many more occasions to visit us, from which to enjoy all that kumarakom has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

Zuri is well maintained, beautiful property. The cottage where we stayed was overlooking the lake. Kids enjoyed the boat ride, cycling and fishing. Food is good. Also loved the spread of Kerala food. Staff is courteous.

Except for a problem with the room AC that we faced, that didnt get resolved and probably the management could be more proactive and responsive, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank SijiNairKaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarat_valsraj, General Manager at The Zuri Kumarakom, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Zuri,Kumarakom.
I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your overall visit, but am truly disappointed to hear that your experiences in our room air-con did not live up to your expectations.
I hope you will find another occasion to stay with us again and that the service and response are more in line with what one would expect at a Zuri hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews