We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (485)
Filter reviews
485 results
Traveller rating
418
50
13
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
418
50
13
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los perros horseback riding la tienda y el costa rica surf lessons sand boarding rental car main restaurant destination wedding kids club taco stand natural beauty hiking trails infinity pool an amazing vacation medical clinic
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 485 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2016

This was our first time staying at Rancho Santana and it was awesome. We cannot wait to go back. It is such a beautiful property - such gorgeous buildings and amenities. The service was great, the food was delicious and so reasonably priced for such a nice place. The property was not crowded at all which made everything even more relaxing.

You can stay busy the entire time at the ranch or lounge by the pool and beach (which is mainly what we did). Lots to do - hiking, horseback riding, surfing. There are five beaches on the property. We only had time to explore the one but we'll be sure to take trips to see the others when we go back.

During our four days, we had a couples massage at Pura Spa (highly recommend this). They are still building the Spa in the Inn, so they are set up in a temporary space in one of the property's condos. But it was still really nice.

My favorite was the morning horseback ride. We did a two-hour ride along the water to Popoyo Beach and had breakfast. It was just the two of us and the two instructors. Tip - when booking your ride, be sure to request either an English-speaking or Spanish-speaking guide. Beverly was our English-speaking guide. She was great and so informative. The Ranch does such a great job with their horses. They are beautiful animals and very well cared for.

I could go on about this property but will wrap up by saying go see it for yourself. You will NOT be disappointed!

P.S. - Thank you to Vera in concierge for all of your help during our stay!!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingDoubleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo A, Manager at Rancho Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2016

Traveling DoubleW,

We cannot wait to welcome you back; glad to see the feeling is mutual! I am very happy that you enjoyed your time here with us.

There are ample things to do while here at Rancho Santana and you took full advantage of these offerings. We definitely appreciate the positive feedback and will use this to reinforce our mission, to provide the highest level of service with beautiful Nicaragua as our backdrop. I will make sure to personally thank Vera on your behalf. She is a great asset to our team and has been with Rancho Santana for 5 years.

We would love to see pictures of your time here. Please send to thegoodlife@ranchosantana.com, so that we may share them on our social media platforms.

Hasta Pronto,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2016

WOW...just WOW. This is THE NICEST place I've stayed at so far in Nicaragua. My husband and I stayed at The Inn and the room was super lux with a lovely view of the ocean (admittedly not the best, but you could still enjoy the fantastic sunset from your balcony). iPads in every room, enormous bathroom, plush beds and towels: luxury. The grounds and multiple beaches are gorgeous with NO ONE on them! It was like we had the hiking trails and beaches to ourselves! The dipping pool overlooking the beach has comfy loungers right there along with a bar, and it was nice to be able to return to the room for an afternoon nap. The restaurant had great service, friendly staff, and good food that was not too pricey for such a high-end hotel. We'll definitely treat ourselves and stay again!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank almitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo A, Manager at Rancho Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Alyssa M,

Right back at cha! All of us at Rancho Santana are very please that you enjoyed your stay and loved your accommodation.

The goal is for you to enjoy yourself and it seems that we achieved that task. We maintain a certain level of privacy at The Ranch for you to feel comfortable throughout the grounds. We hope that you can come back soon to enjoy our new projects coming up this year.

We will save a lounge chair for you to enjoy the view once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2016

We had a wonderful time. Very relaxing and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly. The concierge, Alberto, was great and made sure we had everything we needed and assistance planning our activities. I looking forward to my next trip to Rancho Santana.

Room tip: I think all the rooms are probably great. I'm sure some may have better views than others, but they are all great.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tthac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo A, Manager at Rancho Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

tthac,

Thank you for the great review!

I have forwarded this review to Alberto and he was very humbled by the review. He has been a pillar of the concierge department for 5 years and is a great asset to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back. If you have any photos of you enjoying your activities, please forward them to thegoodlife@ranchosantana.com. We would love to share them with the world.

Best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2016

We stayed at the Casa McVay on the property of Rancho Santana, and it was fabulous! Five star accommodations and first class service. The concierge was extremely attentive and helped us plan activities and dinners for our entire week stay. The infinity pool was very relaxing and had a beautiful view of the ocean and La Playa Rosada. We took many walks on the beach, and walked to breakfast at the Club numerous times. Try a trail ride on the beach to Mag Rock, too! Amazing views and beautiful beaches.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo A, Manager at Rancho Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016

Adrian P,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your most recent visit to Nicaragua.

I will make sure to pass on the great news of your visit to our team. All departments work tirelessly to ensure that we exceed our guest’s expectations. If you felt the infinity pool was relaxing, I would encourage you to relax on Playa Escondida. It is one of our more secluded beaches and my personal favorite!

Lets plan your next visit so that you can enjoy the view once more. When ready, one of our reservations specialists will be available to assist. They can be reached via email at reservations@ranchosantana.com.

Hasta Pronto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2016

Ive stayed at RS several times and they just keep getting better. they have added dining at Los Perros beach, improved the infrastructure all around, increased lodging options and added a shuttle to reach all parts of the property. dining at la finca is excellent for breakfast lunch or dinner. staff all speak english

Room tip: casitas best for lower budgets, villas good for a group, the Inn for couples,Houses for larger groups/more privacy/higher price points
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eduardo A, Manager at Rancho Santana, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2016


Traveling Brian,

We do this for you! Our jobs become less and less like work we have the BEST guests in the world.

Los Perros has been a welcomed edition to our property. Our F&B team has started a special taco menu on Thursday nights, 5pm-9pm courtesy of Chef Rogelio. We hope that you can stop by soon to indulge. We now have hammocks too.

I look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews