We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$139
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Popoyo(Tola)(Great Value!)
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solost(Tola)(Great Value!)
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Magnific Rock Hotel(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machele's Place(Tola)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Punta Teonoste(Tola)(Great Value!)
US$199
US$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nicawaves(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Cerveza(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
US$10
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotel Ola Verde(Popoyo)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
14
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Of course the surf is great with predomnant offshores and consistent swell. 100 yards out the front door is awesome beach break, so the location is superb. But, what really made the trip complete was the total package provided by Richard and Susan. Richard has the whole placed wired, knows where to surf, where to eat, where to fish, what to watch out for, how to stay safe. He never led us astray. He's also one of the most colorful characters I've ever met. Dude's going on 60 and still charges 20' outer reef bombs. Unreal! So, as you contempate a trip to Nica, you've got to think about the total package - the surf, the lodging, the eats, the advise and counsel needed to maximize the experience. You won't go wrong with Richard, Susan and the Popoyo Beach Lodge!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidfaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Get some perspective and book Popoyo Beach Lodge! It was my first time traveling to Nicaragua, and I was recommended this spot from a friend. On arrival you will be blown away by it's unique location. The loge is minutes away from one of the most hollow fun waves in Nica. It's safe and secure and very inspiring place to stay. It's the perfect combination of beach and countryside. Accommodations are secure, quiet and comfortable. Perfect for a group of 4. You can not find a better view in Nicaragua. If you want to experience the most epic sunsets this planet has to offer, look no further. I will definitely coming back!
Don't forget to bring some extra cash for some Tona's!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnantoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

I had an awesome stay at the two brothers Popoyo beach lodge. This is seriously the closest place you can stay to the popoyo beach break (one of the more consistent surf spots around). While all the other surf camps are waking up at 4 am to get their groups rounded up to go do spot checks, at the popoyo beach lodge, you just need to roll out of bed, look out the window, and in 5 minutes you could be the first one in the water. Also nice is the fact that this little residential part of the village has it's own security and private gate.

I came here with my two buddies to surf. We had a great time and caught some great waves. If I had to do it over again, I'd probably go down in May or early august, and stay 2 weeks instead of 1.

Robert, the owner, is an amazing host and guide. He lives on a hill in a beautiful home he built by hand (where he also has other accommodations). He has lived in the area for over 11 years and knows the surf spots really well. He's also a very kind family man, naming the two brothers after his two sons. He has lived one of the most interesting lives I've ever seen. Try to get to know him. He's a lot of fun. He'll usually stop by once a day to make sure everything is ok.

A quick disclaimer. The beach lodge is like a hostel, as described on the website. There are private rooms w/ ac and with private bathrooms. The living room and kitchen are the common areas. We basically had the place to ourselves while down there, but I think even if it was full, there is plenty of space and privacy. Everyone in the area is there to surf, so everyone sleeps early to wake up early. It's a quiet little village.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rumpy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Myself and two friends stayed for a week in June, 2011, and absolutely loved the Popoyo Beach Lodge. The rivermouth/beachbreak directly in front of the property is one of the best/least crowded waves in the region. Other restaurants, surf breaks, etc are within walking and or biking distance. The rates are beyond reasonable. This really is THE place to stay on a budget surf vacation. Safe, gated, comfortable. We'll be back, and this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zandermorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Spent a week at Popoyo beach lodge and if i were to go back to Popoyo i wouldn’t
stay anywhere else... the lodge is perfectly located, right in front of probably the best
beach break in Nicaragua, add to that incredible sunsets and great comfort. There is a fully equipped kitchen and a few restaurants only a couple minutes walk away. The rooms are equipped with AC and after long day spent surfing, there is no better feeling then stepping into an air conditioned room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santosha23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews