We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB!!!”
Review of Old Chequers Pub

Old Chequers Pub
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Saxmundham
Description: We are a country pub with dining. We are child & dog friendly. Closed all day Monday and Tuesday. Food served Wednesday to Sunday, Wed to Sat 12.00-2.00pm & Evenings 6.00pm-8.30pm. Long Sunday lunch served 12.00 to 3.30pm. Booking recommended at weekends. Usually open on Bank Holiday Monday lunchtimes 12.00-3.00pm
Restaurant details
Description: We are a country pub with dining. We are child & dog friendly. Closed all day Monday and Tuesday. Food served Wednesday to Sunday, Wed to Sat 12.00-2.00pm & Evenings 6.00pm-8.30pm. Long Sunday lunch served 12.00 to 3.30pm. Booking recommended at weekends. Usually open on Bank Holiday Monday lunchtimes 12.00-3.00pm
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Great pub, very friendly welcome, good choice of drinks, great food and dog friendly...
one of the main reasons we return to the area for holidays!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Manager at Old Chequers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you so much for this review, we really do appreciate you taking the time.

Best wishes,

Andy & Carol

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our Easter break took us to Friston Suffolk just 4 miles from Aldeburgh.
This pub in the village was above our expectations. Greeted by both the Landlord and Landlady who where both very friendly and efficient.
This pub seemed to have had an in and out makeover in recent times and was very well done.
Waitresses where quick, efficient and friendly .We had a very decent dinner with wine.The bill was also very reasonable considering the quality of the meal.
They are not open every day so best check online before turning up.
All in all a special place we felt in a tucked away village.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank macbromley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Old Chequers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello & many thanks for reviewing our dining pub. Really pleased that you enjoyed your Suffolk visit & that the Old Chequers pub was part of your experience. We will look forward to welcoming you another time!

Carol & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We visited three times in our week staying in a cottage close by,we were very satisfied with all aspects each time,all six meals were excellent and service very pleasant.

Thank traveller293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Old Chequers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing our pub, we are really happy that you enjoyed it so much you visited three times in your one week stay! Hope to see you again next time you visit!
Many thanks, Carol & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We visited last June and were very impressed-we hoped this visit would be as good-it was!
Welcoming,friendly,great food and good wine list-can highly recommend.
The other bonus for us is that they are extremely dog friendly-a table by the wood burner suited our thin skinned whippets perfectly.
Would definitely return if in the area.

Thank Moiracarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Old Chequers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Thank you for revisiting us from last year & we are really happy that you enjoyed your second visit as much as the first! We have within the last 6 months upgraded our wine list and like to think there is something for everyone on the new list, so glad you mentioned that too.

Hopefully we will see you for a third break on the east Coast!

Many thanks, Andy & Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Good food, nice welcoming owners. Recommend dropping in and having a meal. The pub is really well presented and a credit to the village

Thank Supahoopsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol W, Owner at Old Chequers Pub, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for reviewing us & we are glad you enjoyed the visit!
Kind regards,

Carol & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Chequers Pub also viewed

 

Been to Old Chequers Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing