We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews down the road guest house adelaide noise garden breakfast town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Passing through Bukoba 1 night. View of lake but what is most impressive is the gardens. Good breakfast. Could not order food at guesthouse itself, but staff organized takeout from another place and it was delicious with huge portions and very reasonable price. Very pleasant staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

In May 2018 we stayed with 2 friends 4 nights in this guesthouse and we enjoyed it very much. The house offers fantastic views over the lake, has a beautiful garden, nice spacious and clean rooms and good breakfast. 3 Of us are enthousiastic birders and they have been able to supplement the bird list to 102 species (in the garden only). Dinner at the Kolping was within walking distance and very pleasant and tasty.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margit-Romijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Set on Balamaga Hill just a few kilometers from Bukoba Town, this unique B&B offers a piece of paradise! Our room was very spacious, airy and bright, impeccable, with a big comfortable bed and a large self-contained bathroom. We especially loved waking up to the sounds of birds in the garden and eating the delicious (fresh fruit and juice, eggs, bread, etc) breakfast out on the veranda overlooking the beautiful grounds. Although the owners were out of town during our stay, we felt very well taken care of by the kind-hearted Adelaida, the guards and the two dogs. If you plan to stay at the Balamaga B&B make sure to spend some time enjoying the absolutely gorgeous gardens. We felt so at peace here - a fantastic way to ring in the new year 2018!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank spinderel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Visited this B&B in 2007 just after opening and visited again recently on our way North.
The B7B is located almost opposite to the rather Spartan Kolping hotel but offers spacious comfortable rooms with bath/shower and a fantastic garden. Breakfast served by manager Ade is great with fresh fruits from the garden and home made bread and yoghurt. Meals can be ordered from the Kolping hotel.
We were informed that the owner is European/Dutch which becomes clear from the furnishing. We were sorry to leave after a 2 night stay but will not easily forget thi B&B and wonderful garden.

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank worldtraveller046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2016

What a nice place to stay in Bukoba. Before we used to stay at Victorious Perch but this place tops it. Located just outside town, just a bit above the bay the view over Lake Victoria is amazing. Balamaga is located in a residential area so no noise at night.
It is very clean, spacious and the garden must have cost a fortune. While having breakfast in the morning one can overlook the lake. Breakfast is served by "dada" (Swahili for Sister :-) ) The last days of our stay we met the owner, Mrs Stella. She is very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is good. We were there with our two small kids (2 & 4yrs old) and they were allowed to watch (our own) DVD's on the television set. At night we went to Victorious Perch Hotel or the nearby Kolping Hotel for dinner.(100 meters down the road)Some night we brought the food to Balamaga to eat it there. Overall a nice place to spend some time while visiting friends in the area.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank debackerwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews