We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
19
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews down the road guest house adelaide noise garden breakfast town
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2020

This is the first place we've been to in Tanzania that we feel fits the name "bed and breakfast". I'm sure there are others, but in our three years we haven't come across them. Everything here was top-notch, tasteful, and with excellent attention to detail (which is rare in Tanzania). The room was clean, spacious and homey. The facility is just beautiful and well-constructed. It feels nice when corners were not cut in the tiling and woodwork. The gardens were groomed and gorgeous, with a nice view of the lake. The staff was really friendly. Breakfast was excellent.

It sits up on the hill overlooking the lake. The neighborhood is pleasant, feels safe, and is far from the noise that I would expect closer to town. There are a couple other hotels very close, and the rooms are cheaper. However, I took tours of both and the rooms and facilities - while clean - did not compare. The experience at Balamaga is top-notch. We went out for dinner at the hotel down the road, and it was good. We'd probably do that again, since there is no food available at Balamaga except for the breakfast.

We only stayed overnight, but sometime we'd like to stay for more than one day so we could relax and enjoy the experience more. We can't praise this bed and breakfast enough, and the price is very reasonable.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jlundeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2019

This is beyond shadow of a doubt the best place in Bukoba. I come here two-three times a year, and after long working hours it is like coming home. The rooms are the best, the garden is wonderful, and all the staff are friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank BK_578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

This is the place to stay when visiting Bukoba. Amazing gardens. Staff Adelaide very friendly and helpful. Gave us ideas of things to do. Clean comfortable rooms. Good hot water. Good breakfasts both hot and cold. Catered breakfasts according to our needs. Adelaide was caring and made ginger tea for us when we had bad tummy’s and also baked our gluten free bread for us when we supplied the gluten free flour. Great communication by emails with owner Stella/Frits. Thanks for wonderful stay. 100% will come back again!

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sandymt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2019

I've been there twice a year during 3 years : the top view and the garden are amazing ! The house is well equiped and the staff (Ms Adelaide) is very nice and helpfull. There are 4 beautifull rooms cleaned every day, bath towels and bed linen are changed several time a week. The staff can also does the laundry. It is also possible to rent a mountain bike; there are many pathway around the guest house. I had the chance to meet the owner's and it was very pleasant to spend time together. The place to be in Bukoba :-)

Room tip: Top view on the lake, amazing garden, fantastic service
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank franck3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Passing through Bukoba 1 night. View of lake but what is most impressive is the gardens. Good breakfast. Could not order food at guesthouse itself, but staff organized takeout from another place and it was delicious with huge portions and very reasonable price. Very pleasant staff.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews