We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday in Athuruga Diamonds Resort Maldives”
Review of Diamonds Athuruga

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Diamonds Athuruga
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We spent 10 nights at Diamonds Athuruga - a beautiful tiny Island with Italian flair. We were welcomed warmly by Stefano (GM) and his team. The entire staff is friendly, welcoming and we felt so special all around, even though you are left to your own devices. Excellent foods and service. Clean bungalows (we stayed in the beach bungalows). Snorkeling around the Island is excellent, See turtle, spotted eagle rays, nurse sharks, abundance of beautiful fish. Whale shark -, Manta Ray-, and snorkelling excursions a must! We can recommend this Island to anyone seeking tranquility and a Paradise!

Room Tip: All beach bungalows are approximately the same, no particular fancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hellaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your thoughtful review on your time at Diamonds Athuruga. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

All the members of our staff are motivated and committed to provide our guests with an exceptional and unique experience. As you say, we overlook nothing in order to make you feel “special all around”.

I am glad that you enjoyed the cuisine on the island, and that you had the opportunity to experience the life below the water. Our many fish swimming happily among the corals are a beautiful and memorable sight to see. Furthermore, I am very happy to hear you took advantage of a host of excursions that you offer. The peacefulness of swimming around a Whale Shark, so large and yet always so calm, is a moment that leaves a lasting impression.

Thank you again for your heartfelt review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for more tranquility on our “little Paradise”!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 993 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2017

We stayed her for 5 nights for our honeymoon after travelling around Sri Lanka for 10 days. We stayed in a beach bungalow which was beautiful and fab for walking straight into the sea. The food is lovely with lots of fresh food stations and the staff are wonderful. We had a private dinner on the beach which was delicious, as well as the Tepanyaki lunch which was also very tasty. Snorkelling gear is free to use and the sea life around the island is amazing. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your toughtful review on Diamonds Athuruga. I am very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was truly a pleasure to have hosted you for your honeymoon.

I agree there is something remarkable about stepping outside of your Beach Bungalow room, only to step onto our pearly-white beaches. Heaven just outside your doorstep!
I am delighted you enjoyed the cuisine on the island, along with the snorkeling just off of it. The marine life is a spectacle that amazes me even to this day.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we are excited to welcome you back again soon!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Small compact island. Water bungalow the best ever. Spacious inside and out. Room service, first class. Breakfast on veranda a must. The snorkelling was one of the best areas we found. Plenty of colourful fish and corals. Would I go again? You bet!

Stayed: November 2016
Thank 661happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Diamonds Athuruga. I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

I am delighted you enjoyed our Watervillas, and that you appreciated our Room service. Experiencing the Maldives over water is a unique experience that everyone should try, and I am pleased you not only experienced it, but found it very much to your liking.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon for some more snorkeling amongst our colorful fish and corals.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

My family immensely enjoyed our stay! Very accommodating staff! Had the chance to snorkel with Manta rays, sting rays, very colorful fishes despite the bleached corals, saw huge sharks at a distance. There are also turtles, sting rays, nurse sharks, swarm of fish around the water villa! Great food and they use shampoo, lotion products called healing ocean, never saw plastic products in this hotel, mainly natural fabrics!

Room Tip: Any water villa is great! The beach villa facing the water is also a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanArisFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Diamonds Athuruga. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience.

I am glad to hear you took advantage of our wonderful aquatic activities, and that you were able to see so many incredible marine animals.

Diamonds Athuruga is determined to do our part in promoting the use of sustainable, eco-friendly materials, so that we can all continue to experience the wonders of the Maldives for many years to come!

Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Diamonds Athuruga soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We've spent 8 days in Athuruga and another 6 in the sister island Thudufushi.

Athuruga is a nice little gem with great beach and crystal clear waters. It's a real escape where you can recharge the batteries in such a tranquil and beautiful environment. You don't have to think about anything really - just enjoy your vacation.

The staff does an amazing job and the island has a very friendly vibe in general. You cannot get bored really - there's plenty of things to do - activities, excursions
and evening entertainment and everything is so balanced.

The weather was great - we only had 2 quick 20mins showers after 7pm and the rest was beatiful sunshine. The marine life in the house reef is out of this world. Pretty much every time we went snorkeling we saw turtles, white and black tip sharks, eagle rays and plethora of colourful fish - a different world and unique feeling.

Food - well, the only bad thing is that it's so hard to resist to the difderent temptations. I feel like i needed a gym session to burn dome calories. I wish there was mango more often - really delicious!

A special thanks to some of the staff members who made a real difference for us:
First of all Titu - the grill master. He's been so nice to us and he cooks the best beef and fish in the world. One of a kind!
Mois - our waiter. Great guy!!! His service was exceptional and we so much liked his personality.
Imran - our room boy. He kept our beach villa in perfect condition. Didn't see him often as we were out on the beach or swimming but he kept everything stocked and villa was always perfectly clean.
Mirella - we liked her passion very much. In the same time she's very funny and makes people feel comfortable and during our manta ray trip, she made sure everybody had a great day with this unique creatures.
Alyssia - she was really nice to all guests and worked hard, taking care of plenty of activities. Just like Mirella, she made people feel comfortable.
Nicole and Francesco - always very friendly and helpful. Thank you!

This island simply has to be experienced! A review simply cannot capture the full picture.

Just two small things to mention:
- the fisherman's island trip is not worth it in my opinion. Leaves you with very mixed feelings. It's a freebie but if it's replaced with different trip, guests wil enjoy it more.
- you should advertise in tbe web-site, that there is a beach tennis court. It's getting very popular and it will be good to let people know it's there.

Thank you very much Athuruga, i hope we will come back and hopefully soon.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikolay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefano G, Manager at Diamonds Athuruga, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Diamonds Athuruga. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay.

I agree with you completely that our “little gem” allows you to escape into a world of relaxation, entertainment and wonder.

Our staff is dedicated to making our guests feel comfortable while experiencing incredible moments, and I am very glad to hear about your incredible sightings when going snorkeling, and that you enjoyed the tasty food our talented kitchen staff made. I am pleased to hear that certain members of our staff were able to make your stay more enjoyable, we pride ourselves on the group of people working at Athuruga!

Thank you again for your detailed and thoughtful review, we look forward to welcoming you back so for more mangoes, beach tennis and exciting excursions.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Athuruga Island
9.7 km away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,168 reviews
14.7 km away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
821 reviews
32.3 km away
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.5 km away
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
Vakarufalhi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Vakarufalhi Island
942 reviews
14.8 km away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
591 reviews
30.1 km away
Mirihi Island Resort
Mirihi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Mirihi
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamonds Athuruga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamonds Athuruga

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Athuruga Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Athuruga Island
Price Range: $1,010 - $3,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Diamonds Athuruga 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Athuruga Island Resort is the twin island of its sister Thundufushi. The island comprises of a thick vegetation of coconut palms and surrounded by powdery beach which extends to one side of the island. The lagoon on this side is small and the superb house reef is within the swimming distance while on the other side the lagoon is very large, sandy and is ideal for paddling around. Athuruga Island resort is best described as an elegant and intimate holiday resort with a high standard of service which offers offer All Inclusive only. There are only 51 rooms, named as 46 Beach Bungalows and 05 garden Villas. Catamaran, laser boat, canoe, windsurfs offered free to guests who must be experienced & licensed for these activities. Snorkeling equipment are offered free against a deposit towards loss of damage. Free guided snorkeling on house reef daily. Free laundry service. Aerobic, stretching, water gym and dance lessons free of charge.1 sunset fishing and 1 fisherman island excursion per stay included free. Beach towels provided free. Free doctor's service and infirmary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Diamonds Athuruga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamonds Athuruga Beach And Water Villas
Diamonds Athuruga Beach & Water Villas Hotel South Ari Atoll
Athuruga Hotel South Ari Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing