We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Erniec318
Melbourne, Australia

worst service ever experienced(read before you book)

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Nov 2012
Incident 1
Only the westerners were offered coffee and tea during breakfast. The asian guest were not even asked if they would like any of the aforementioned. So how reliable is my assertion? As I wasn't offered(I am asian), I personally asked the asians sitted around me if they were offered. I asked at least 4 asian couples to be extremely sure. They all answered in the negative! I highlighted my concern to the onsite manager who in turned reply that he was unaware of such an occurence. However, his conjecture was that the westerners were mostly retired and were staying for at least 2 weeks whereas the asians were likely to stay for only 4 days, hence the staff were likely to know the westerners drinking preference better. My response to that was; is it that difficult to even offer coffee or tea to all guest and how did this simple question even relate to the duration of ones stay.

Incident 2
Anybody who's even considering the resort please do note that the hotel predetermines the time you are allowed to leave the island upon checking out. For example my flight out of maldives was 11.25pm and the boat that they arranged for me out of the island was 8pm. Do note that the check out time is 12pm. Hence I would have had to spend like 8 hours in the bar. BORING MUCH? Having booked the last flight out on purpose was to visit the capital city such that I was able to experience how the locals live their life's in the purest form. I explained to the reception of the aforementioned reason and was told that I could change my boat timing only if I pay an additional $45USD per pax. Do note that I had already paid for the transfer. I was like this additional charge on top of the transfer fee is unreasonable simply because firstly I did not agree to the 8pm departure time and secondly I had given you reasonable 30 hours in advance to make arrangements and not an unreasonable 3 hours. I asked them why wasn't I consulted on my preferred departure time? I had been to resorts in Bali and Fiji but this is the first time a hotel is instructing me what time I am allowed to leave? The reception and the onsite manager insisted that it was hotel policy and when asked for the policy in its written form, nothing could be evidenced. Further speaking with the onsite manager, he admitted that such practice is to ensure that the resort milks as much money as possible from each guest. Hence, if I were to stay till 8pm, I would have to eat lunch and dinner at the resort and he would probably make another $40USD from me and my partner. I explained to him are you sure you want to treat your guest who has paid at least several thousands (and yes that includes your asian guest who stays only for 4 nights) in such a manner just to earn that extra $40USD who is likely to be very unhappy when he/she departs, that's just financial shortsightedness at its best I told him. In the end, I guess I used some legal expertise to avoid paying the $45USD. To sum up, the monetary value here is not the key issue. Rather, paying the $45USD was as good as giving in to injustice, unfairness and it gives the green light to the resort to continue such unfair practices.

Incident 3
I have never ever seen a reception that is so rude. They sulk and give you the WTF you doing here face. Its that bad. I had seen this brought up on tripadvisor previously. Well, I did experienced it.

Conclusion
Even though the water villa was not too shabby and the snorkelling was awesome, the fact that the resort treats its guest, especially the asians in such an unbelievably unprofessional manner would dissuade me from ever returning. I have also informed my friends who were about to book thulhagiri, to refrain from doing so. And guess what I'm not even a picky vacationer. Need to buck up big time. PS- I am writing this minutes after reaching home. It just highlights the severity of my displeasure.
Date of stay: November 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
S$504
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
2.1 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$118
  • Expedia.com
    S$127
4.7 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$768
S$625
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    S$625
  • Priceline
7.0 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$406
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$128
  • travelup.com
7.9 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Beachfront
Pool
Tripadvisor
S$478
S$389
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
  • Priceline
7.9 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Tripadvisor
S$86
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
9.2 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    S$246
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$195
  • Priceline
10.1 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    S$1,372
  • eDreams
11.6 km from Thulhagiri Island Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Thulhaagiri Island
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
382
282
87
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
382
282
87
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water bungalow fish our waiter beach bar crab bottled water reef sharks lovely waiter shower room diving school our honeymoon dive shop relaxing holiday snorkeling trip evening entertainment sri lanka marine life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
248 - 253 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I celebrated our belated honeymoon at the resort for 3 nights. We stayed in a beach villa (room 128) with half-board (breakfast & dinner buffet). The room was equipped with a tv, mini-fridge, tea making station, vanity, bed, chairs, patio with chairs, back door with feet washing station (which we thought was genius!), and 24 hours of hot water. The buffet food was decent and we bought lunch everyday at the restaurant (usually a sandwich approx. $5). We took a lot of our own snacks, which was a good decision since the gift shop had a very limited selection and was quite pricey. We did however have a couple cockroaches in our room even though we were very careful with throwing out all our wrappers and zipping up our food.

We genuinely enjoyed our stay at the resort. We loved having access to the beach just a couple feet away from our patio and being able to listen to the waves as we fell asleep at night. The snorkeling around the house reef was also amazing! It is just a 5 minute swim out and you will be at the edge of the coral and what we referred to as the "deep blue" ocean. We saw hundreds of fish, some reef sharks, squid, and an eagle ray. We took our own snorkeling equipment and we are glad we did. Renting costs $7 /day and it didn't seem like they had very good quality gear to rent.

We paid extra to rent a kayak ($20/hour) and easily made our way around the island. (If you kayak at a slow speed you can kayak around the island 2 times in 1 hour.) While kayaking you can easily see the coral and the marine life. We had a reef shark swim right underneath us! They offer other rentals such as standup paddleboards, windsurfing, jet skis (pricey!!), tubing etc.

We also paid extra for a 50 minute massage at the Coconut Spa on the resort. It was very relaxing and the massage room opens up directly to the water. ($90/ 50 minute Balinese massage)

Check out is at noon and the resort prearranges a speedboat transfer for you back to the airport according to your flight time. We asked nicely if we could change our time and tag along with an earlier boat so we could have time to see Male before our flight. We got the impression they don't usually allow it (and would charge $45 extra per person to change the time) but because we were tagging along with a transfer that was already arranged they made an exception. They also offer a complimentary "shower room" to use for 30 minutes when they have extra rooms available and you had already checked out. That was really nice to use to freshen up before our departure.

All in all we would recommend this resort to future travellers.

Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hannnahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Me and My sister stayed for 5 days in this beautiful resort, the villa was very clean and every room occupied with tea-making facilities. the meals was delicious espp dinner choice, but the breakfast was very standard :( they need to work on that.
the island is small and beautiful, loads of birds singing in the trees also, and the island is spotless.
the beach is great for swimming and sunbathing too.
highly recommended :)

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VERA1504151
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My wife and I went here on our honeymoon between 24 June and 5 July 2012. We booked this as a once in a lifetime trip and it certainly lived up to our expectations.

Good points:
* Transfer between the airport and resort by speedboat is very impressive. We saw dolphins on the way.
* When we arrived at the destination we were given a cold drink and cold towel which is very welcome after 10 hours on a plane + going through the airport in Male!
* Staff are very friendly, polite and take your luggage to your room. We noticed some negative comments on here regarding staff and can't understand this at all - they go out of their way to make sure you're looked after.
* Rooms are fantastic. They are cleaned twice a day and have everything you'd want in there and more - TV, fridge, tea/coffee facilities, beach towels, safe, life jackets, showergel, etc.
* The food was excellent. There was lots of variety and something for everyone, although fewer vegetarian options (not an issue for us but worth noting).
* Excursions were good but some have minimum customer requirements and are cancelled if not enough people want to go. We did the island hopping tour which was excellent although we only got to see 2 of 3 islands due to unpredictable weather.
* Spa is excellent but pricey. Had a 30 minute back massage that was $65. Generally everything on the island is expensive and they charge you for certain things you may expect to be gratis at such a resort (e.g. you pay for wifi).

Negative points:
* There are no shops or anything on the island other than accommodation/reception. Anything you can buy, including drinking water, is purchased at the bar.
* Evening entertainment is short and basic. They had a magician who was very good but other nights they just showed short videos advertising their activities. Entertainment is repeated on a weekly basis so there is nothing "new" after one week of being there.

Other points:
* Island is small and can be walked around in 20 mins. Little to do other than sunbathe/swim. BUT... this is great if you're after a relaxing break where you can literally do nothing. Would recommend the island hopping excursion to see other nearby islands.
* Weather is hot and humid but unpredictable. As well as blue skies/sun we had thunder, lightening, rain, cloud and wind.
* Sea is great for swimming and snorkelling. There are lots of fish and reefs to explore. Current can be strong but the rooms have lifejackets so you can wear these when going out.
* When we went (June/July 2012) we were one of the only English couples there. Most people were from China or Germany which meant conversation with other guests was limited (on our part!).

We went here for our honeymoon but this is not exclusively a couples place - families and groups of friends were also there. Overall this was a fantastic place to visit and a very memorable location. I would recommend this to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annnnnnnnnndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2012

If you are out for a real maldives-experience/feeling and don't want to buy an island, book a waterbungalow on Thulhagiri Island. You get privacy, space, incredible views, private acces to the shallow lagoon (if you are lucky with some reef sharks, mantas etc....). It's an all inclusive island, and it's worth it. Additional meals and drinks might severely increase your holiday-budget!
The (poor) pool is just suitable for the kiddies. The A/C gym is well equipped - but who is going to the gym on the Maldives?!
Thulhagiri is just an 20 minutes ride by speedboat away from Male intl. airport. And yes, there is some air traffic going on. But compared to London Heathrow it's towards zero and not really embarassing! By the way, those who complain about the air traffic: how did they get to Thulhagiri? By rowing the boat - all the way from Europe, China?!

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 September 2012

As I live and work in the Maldives, I have been to quite a few of the resorts in the country. We just came back from a weekend at Thulhagiri. We had the unfortunate experience of dealing with some of the less trained members of staff, and on two occasions staff were plainly rude to us. Basic courtesy is simply not part of the package here. Indeed, this is one of the absolutely cheapest resorts at first glance, but then they have also cut costs to the bare bone - buildings are run down, towels are torn, and cushions have stains. They have also played revenue earning tricks such as withdrawing the typically complimentary drinking water, thus making money when people are forced to buy locally produced drinking water for about five times the price of the same water in a regular shop in town. None of this is really a huge problem, but if you only pay a little more, about USD 50 more per night, other resorts in Male' atoll will offer you a much more memorable stay. The water sports centre is very good (managed separately from the rest of the hotel). I have not had a chance to try the dive centre yet, but that is also managed separately, and may thus be much better than the rest of the resort. Thulhagiri has a nice house reef, but so do many other islands in the vicinity. Bottom line; pay just a little more, and you can get a lot more from several other resorts in both north and south Male' atolls.

Room tip: Not all beach bungalows are in fact on the beach. So if you want to be able to walk out from your front door directly onto the beach, you better ask them for a bungalow where this is possible.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lanka320
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews