We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$233
Booking.comUS$233
TravelocityUS$233
Orbitz.comUS$233
TripadvisorUS$233
Trip.comUS$242
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,959)
Filter reviews
1,959 results
Traveller rating
1,336
471
97
31
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,336
471
97
31
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach house kids club water villa fish garden villa surf break outdoor shower complimentary snorkeling sunset cruise water sports local island special thanks hermit crabs boat transfer half board dive sites kids menu
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
870 - 875 of 1,959 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

excellent hotel with amazing services ...the team is just wow and always ready to help ...a special thanks to Zane ,Shiva and netra .highly recommended ...the food is very delicious ...and the gelatos there to die for ...
regards
nitika and abhishek

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank nbajaj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear nbajaj2,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with our resort on TripAdvisor.

We really appreciate your positive comments and we are pleased to hear that you fell in love with our home made ice cream!

We hope welcoming you back in our paradise soon.

With Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2015

2nd time to Maldives & 2nd time to HI, it just gets better and better each time! Greeting at the airport was fab and within 15min we were whisked away on the boat, within an hour on a gorgeous little island. Tomas explained everything and in no time were off to Beach House 1. I was very grateful to be allocated this beach house, with a 10month baby, we were close to the pool, restaurants, everything at our finger tips, thank you. Beach house, well just spectacular, so fabulous for small families, plenty of space for them to run around underneath. The outdoor shower delightful, bed with a view, balcony to watch the sunsets, bliss. Shout out to housekeeping who did a great job, each and every day. First afternoon we signed up for the whale shark excursion, they said they needed 10 people to go. We stayed 9 nights and never got to go, the closest they got was 8 people, crushed. This was probably my biggest disappointment of the trip. I very much wanted to see a whale shark. Last time we stayed we went on the manta ray excursion and we saw a glimpse, the water was too rough and weather stormy, so I very much wanted to do the manta trip again but I didn’t know that manatas are seasonal, the man at excursions said no manatas at this time of year. It’s such a shame we’ve been twice and not seen the big animals I wanted to see. Do check the season if that’s your thing too. We did the turtle snorkel trip and recommend this, the corals and fishes you will see are beautiful and yes we saw a turtle. So what’s new this trip? Kids Club!!!!! Great timing, we were delighted we could use the facility and have some quiet mum and dad time. The ladies in there are excellent, so friendly, warm and my 10 month adored them. They taught him to clap. On the last day he was very poorly and they came with us to the doctor on the island. Thank you ladies. The baby sitting charges are affordable so I would recommend this resort for new families like us, this was the first time I’ve had time off in 10 months, thank you. Other thing is new, is that the f&b packages are explained much better with a brochure disclosing all pricing depending on the room and what you would like. Please double check with reception tho, there still is some confusion depending who you speak to in regards to click over, some said it was 24hrs, some said it was a calendar day, Regina spotted it and fixed my bill, thank you, you saved me $500USD! We went the Premium All Inclusive for 6 nights and it was lush lush lush. A free massage has been added, which we loved, but the real highlight of our holiday was the beach BBQ they set up for us under our villa. It was the best night of our holiday, indulgent, fun, felt very special. Food delicious, sunset, nice wine, they even set up a high chair for bubba. Seriously DO THIS! We ate at the Kitchen every other night and loved the food, it seriously is one of the best scenic restaurants in the world. On the beach, watching hermit and ghost crabs all night, a shark feeding on Wednesday, staff spoilt us rotten and we filled up on the most beautiful food, highlight for me was the Onion Soup with Foie and my husband enjoyed the Duck & Foie. I’m so glad pork was served because I really miss it, the slow cooked pork was delicious too. I recommend the once a week buffet in here, mainly because of the DJ it was nice to hear some funky lively music. The only dish we didn’t rate was the steak, it was too long rested and was cold. I know it’s cheffy to rest steak, no blood on the plate I get it, I ordered mine with café de paris butter and the butter did not melt at all because the steak was too cold, a big blob of hard butter not pleasant. The breakfast buffet very good, I waited and waited each day for real bacon but it never came, umm turkey and beef bacon tastes wrong, sorry. A great place for lunch is by the pool and there’s one reason for that Daisy. Daisy should be cloned and put in every IHG property around the world, she is just the best. I’m sorry but if she isn’t F&B director by my next visit, it’s a real shame. Daisy ROCKS, she a real understanding of hospitality. Speaking of people, and it’s the people who really make a holiday and big thanks to again Tomas, Regina (money master), Yoosuf (breakfast king and always took the time to play with bubba) and Naseed who kept us hydrated with lovely drinks all holiday. But I’m saving the best for last, there was a young life guard by the pool and a little girl playing in the pool, slipped under the water while her mum was at the café and dad was playing with other kid. Like a super hero he leapt into the water and retrieved her from under the water, I have no doubt he saved that little girls life. It happened right next to me in a blink of an eye. It can be so easy while doing this job to be bored, distracted, tired etc but I was just so proud of this man and wanted to give him a big hug. Management came down and rightly shook his hands, it would have been nice if they had given him a dry shirt and pants tho, poor guy sat there for an hour sopping wet. I really loved this return trip, especially with our baby. Its just so easy to holiday here. Do your research, this resort won't suit everyone, thankfully the Maldives has resorts to cater for all tastes, this resort suits us perfectly. Awesome, stay guys, thank you, see you again, I’m sure.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wellywinewalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2015

Dear SumoDoha,

thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your detailed feedback from your holidays in our beautiful resort.

We are always very delighted to welcome repeated guests in our little paradise as it is the best proof of quality of our services.

We will share your feedback with all our team members as it keeps us motivated to deliver unforgettable experience to all our guests.

It is really great that you had a chance to experience The Kitchen restaurant as we believe that the ambiance of this fantastic restaurant is amazing and very romantic.

We are looking forward welcoming you in Kandooma again soon.

With Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2015

Holiday Inn Resort proved to be a fantastic place for our first visit to Maldives. Well designed for maximum fun, privacy, water-activities etc. Very well thought rooms, catering to all your beach vacation needs. We felt that we packed a suitcase extra!
Spent 3 days in the resort and didn't feel like coming back. Daily complimentary snorkeling trips, snorkeling and diving lessons are really good.
Friendly staff and prompt service. Overall very satisfied with our stay and may return for more :-)

Just a small suggestion though - could offer more for Platinum IHG Reward members

Room tip: All rooms are well designed
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tayalmanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2015

Dear Manu T.,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with us and thank you for your loyalty being our IHG Platinum member.

We are happy to read that your first experience in Maldives was great and you had pleasant time in our resorts.

Maldives are just perfect place for relaxing and for water sport lovers.

We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

With Best Regards

Joseph Della Gatta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

The Positive
- Genuinely friendly service from the whole team (housekeeping, restaurants, boat crew etc.)
- Excellent dive centre (Euro Divers - friendly and professional). Great value.
- Very family friendly (brand new kids club, great kids team, generous, fun child activities)
- Great value (for Maldives!) not money grabbing, fair pricing a-la-carte, plenty of complimentary acivities and discounts for chidren (or free)
- The Hotel GM Joseph is friendly, approachable and clearly cares about his team creating a great hoiday experience

The Neutral
- boat transfes are very expensive. (Around $1000 usd for a family of 4). These prices are typical for Maldives, but still feels painful for a 45min trip to/from the island Very high quality boat & crew. Professional, fast, safe. Private tansfer. Crew saw dolphins so took us for a mini sightseeing. Overall good value for Maldives, but expensive compared to anywhere else.
- no ATM and all in USD, but chargeable to room. I wanted to give tips as service was so good, so had to do it in Singapore dollars which was welcome, but obviously not ideal. My fault really for not bringing USD.
- rooms are great for families or outdoor seekers e.g. divers, but on the simple side so don't expect either a latest & greatest, or a traditional luxury feel. We enjoyed it, but it's simple.

Less Good
- Semi-fine dining restaurant was very disappointing. Many of the BBQ's (fisherman's on Saturday) and other specials were surprisingly good, breakfast is great, casual dining very good compared to Caribbean etc.

Overall an excellent stay, highly recommended for Maldives at great value and with children. Not really a honeymoon or an 'ultra-luxe' place. Really friendly. Stay on South side is a must if you want easy access to beach / kid friendly.

Via ipad so apologies for typos

Room tip: If travelling with young children then south side #1-40 are ideal
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gwendal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear Gwendal C,

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us, I loved reading through your review and hope that other viewers will find your comments inspiring!

Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team and that all of us are looking forward to having you back with us again soon as we truly believe that diving close to Kandooma is one of the best!

With Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Our first time to the Maldives. We picked this resort primarily due to the rating it had here and elsewhere online, and the very good rate that we good via the resort website. Also because we planned to get our PADI offshore rating and Euro Divers has a dive centre there.

We reserved a beach house without any knowledge of the island. When we arrived we sat with a manager who explained all the facilities and where our room was located. A little bit farther from the water than we would have liked, but it was on the good beach side of the island. The only real downside was due to the time of year, the ocean breeze was from the back of the house and blocked when we opened the large sliding doors on the front leading to the deck.

We had done some resort dives and snorkeling in the past, and the diving conditions/environment here were amazing. This time of year just happened to be the best for clarity, a good coincidence for us. The instruction was very good, and staff in general was always friendly and helpful.

We did not plan to use the all inclusive option, as we are not big eaters. Most days we shared a breakfast in our house, shared a lunch, and had individual dinners. Food was better than we expected. Drinks were on the expensive side, but on par with most resorts we've been at.

We had some small issues associated with our beach house, but management took care of them, and appeared genuinely concerned with taking care of us as well.

Most of the clients were an unusual mix of either couples, or families with children 5-6 or younger. Nothing really in between. The island is big enough that the presence of children should be a problem for those wanting a quiet get away. It looked like the resort had a daycare service as well, but you should confirm.

Overall a very good resort at a very good price.

If we have the opportunity, we'll definitely consider coming back.

Room tip: Ask what direction the prevailing breeze is coming from and try to arrange for your room accordingly.
Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Spyglass9er
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joseph D, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2015

Dear John C,

thank you for your review, it is a pleasure hearing that you had an enjoyable time with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our little paradise soon and that other visitors will find your review inspiring.

With Kind Regards

Joseph Della Gatta

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews