We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Old School Bar & Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Old School Bar and Kitchen is an award-winning contemporary Gastro Pub in Mount Hawke, Cornwall. Located in a recently refurbished iconic school building, in the heart of the village. This family-run business is focused on providing friendly service in a wonderful setting whilst serving innovative, high quality food created from locally sourced produce to ensure the freshest of flavours.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I love this welcoming, beautiful place. Lovely family run pub, lovely food and new posh umbrella's

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Old School Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi Tara

Thank you for you review I am please to hear you like our new Tarquins umbrellas, I love them too! we look forward to welcoming you back to Osbk again soon.

Jenny,Dave and the rest of the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 75 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We’ve just had a really lovely evening here, we couldn’t fault it any way.

The menu is great with a lot of choice and the food was beautiful. Everything was cooked perfectly. I had the catch of the day which I would fully recommend. There’s a lot of local produce and the fish was caught locally that day.

The service was brilliant - friendly and attentive. Thank you Natalie and Charlotte

And then finally the atmosphere was lovely, chilled but it still had a buzz.

Keep doing what you’re doing, it was fabulous! We’ll be back! Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank V7983TRalexg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Old School Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Hi Alex

Thank you so much for your review I will pass on your comments to Natalie and Charlotte and the rest of the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to Osbk in the future.

Jenny,Dave and the rest of the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

me and my wife dropped in on a sunday at about 5;30 for an evening meal, we was the only people in the restaurant when we arrived, we was told there was a few meals not available so we ordered two starters and two mains which was the catch of the day sea bream then after about 20 mins a table of 4 adults arrived then a table of two. they all ordered there meals, they had all got there meals of starters and mains and we hadn't even had our starters and was over an hour in, we was told by the waitress it is because we ordered the crab tians, then we was told we cant have the main meals we ordered can we pick something else which we did but two people on the other table had the catch of the day which we had ordered 20 mins before them but did not complain then we was then told after about another 15 mins we was told we can have the catch of the day, all the while we still haven't had our starters, then when the meals did eventually come [all the other diners had eaten and left by then] the starter was ok but the mains of sea bream of which we could, then couldn't, then could have, was a tiny bit of fish which the chef must of thought oh sod i can make 2 meals out of that, so for the mains we £18 each for a minuscule piece of fish a few baby potatoes and a few prawns when you de shelled was not even worth eating. terrible experience wish we hadn't of bothered, the chef or manager want to seriously sort themselves out, i felt sorry for the young waitresses who it left up too to apologies ect

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dan336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Old School Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Dan336

Thank you for leaving us a detailed account of your time with us this Sunday. We can only apologise for your experience whilst you were with us. We won't try and analyse each element of your visit as we will end up going round in circles. This is certainly not the dining experience that we would ever wish to give our customers, and having spoken to the staff that were on that day this will never happen again.

We would like to invite you back to have a meal with us to reinstall your confidence in us. Please call to book your visit and ask to speak Jenny to organise this with us.

We look forward to meeting you very soon.

Jenny, Dave and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

This was a difficult place to review. My wife and I came for a meal following positive reviews on TripAdvisor.

It was a nice looking place, with a pleasant atmosphere. Staff were friendly, if a little lacking in confidence and clumsy- they were new so it's easily forgiven.

The starter was excellent, mussels in a delicious broth. The main however, was honestly just terrible.

We ordered a burger and expected something special given the reputation, quality starter and price. Firstly, it was huge with far too much iceberg lettuce: almost impossible to eat without dissecting and cutting. Probably about 6 inches tall. The patty was well seasoned but it was all so dry! No sauce of any kind available or offered. Nothing in the burger except an 1.5 inch thick mealy patty, tons of iceberg lettuce and a huge tomato.

Basically, was dry and bland and a confusing course given what we had experienced so far. I'd still recommend a visit as other meals seemed great, hence the 4 stars.

Just don't order the burger

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Tjam84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Old School Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Tjam84

Thank you for leaving us a comment on TripAdvisor, we always look forward to feedback be it positive or negative. We are really glad you enjoyed your mussels, they are locally sourced and great to have on the menu. As for the burger we can only but apologise, we usually have fantastic feed back, but we being only human can make mistakes.

Our burgers are made from 100% chuck steak mince, that is seasoned and tested with every batch. We use baby gem lettuce and beef tomatoes and ciabatta rolls. We can only apologise that the burger was not put together to its usual standard. We have changed our cooking to make the burger a lot more moist. We have also started to put a garlic mayonnaise on the plate with the burger too. We would love it if you would come back to the old school and have a burger on us to reinstall your confidence in us. Please do give us a call on 01209 891609 and ask to speak to Jenny to make your booking

Jenny, Dave and the rest of the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018

We was staying in Mount Hawke for a week at the end of June. We was looking for somewhere to eat on our first day there and found this place. My wife is on a Gluten Free diet and it was nice that they knew exactly what allergens were in all of there food, my wife was able to choose her food from the menu and they adapted the food if it was needed. It is all home cooked food none of this preheat, pre packaged stuff, we ended up eating here 4 times in the week and all meals we had was of a superb quality that left you with very little room for a dessert, although I did manage to eat a Sticky Toffee pudding with clotted cream that was divine. They have a good choice of local ales and spirits which is well worth sampling !
We felt that this pub is at the heart of the community here, but it made us tourists very welcome and we would have no hesitation in recommending this place for anyone to eat
Thank you OSBK

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny C, Owner at Old School Bar & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Hi Adrian

Thank you for your review the Team and I look forward to welcoming you and your Wife back to Osbk when you are next in sunny Cornwall.

Jenny, Dave and the rest of the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old School Bar & Kitchen also viewed

St Agnes, Truro District
Porthtowan, Cornwall
 
St Agnes, Truro District
St Agnes, Truro District
 
St Agnes, Truro District
 

Been to Old School Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing