We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”

Fox Hall Inn Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$42
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in the beautiful Yorkshire countryside, the Fox Hall Inn offers a traditional country pub feel with an exquisite dining experience. Enjoy an array of freshly cooked dishes in one of our two dining areas, both overlooking the spectacular views of the Yorkshire Dales. Each dish is cooked and prepared with such detail it is guaranteed to be a taste sensation. Our dog friendly bar area is open 12noon to until late for all visitors and their furry companions. Here you can sample an impressive selection of beverages including local guest ales. Or why not treat yourself to one of our specialist gin combinations created by our expert mixology team? ​ Looking for a venue for a party, function or group bookings? Why not reserve our newly refurbished function area?
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were on vacation with our friends when a covid breakout at a restaurant which we had booked to go to made us make alternate plans. The fox hall inn in east Layton was fairly close to our holiday accommodation and reviewed well. We booked for an afternoon meal, only 2 days into our 7 day break.
We were all very impressed with the staff, meal quality, price and cleanliness of this establishment and booked again for the following day.
We then decided to book a stay over the next day to evaluate the bed and breakfast for future reference when we return to this area. It exceeded all our expectations and will look forward to returning.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank MariaSteve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (765)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 765 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were staying in Greenbank Barns which is less than 5 mins away. We visited as a family with 4 adults & 2 small children. It was teatime on a week day so was quiet but the service was brilliant, very friendly & attentive. They brought my son a colouring activity which was nice. Food was amazing & we all enjoyed it. I had the Featherblade Beef & highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank Rachylou1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were looking for pet friendly hotels/B&Bs in the North Yorkshire area as a last minute get away when we stumbled across the Fox Hall Inn.

I already had a good gut feeling about the place from the extremely helpful customer service I received booking the 3 pet friendly rooms. The staff I spoke to were very friendly and couldn't do enough to help us, they were very accommodating for all our requirements.

The stay lived up to expectations and more, the rooms were modern, fresh & clean. Each room had a dog bed, bowl and treats for our four legged friends. The views of the countryside were gorgeous and the staff continued to be helpful, friendly and welcoming throughout our visit.

We also had our evening meal at the Fox Hall in for our evening meal which was to a very high standard and very reasonably priced. The staff again were very attentive and even threw in a bottle of fizz to celebrate one of our birthdays.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and glad we chose the Fox Hall Inn. We cannot wait to visit again for what will most likely be an annual occurrence. Thanks again to all the team :)

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lisacD7719YX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This was a recommendation by our hotel it was a last minute booking as we arrived later than anticipated.The choices available was ok but I would say a trifle limited.We both ordered the trout which was lovely however it was served on a bed of what tasted like cold sauerkraut rather odd ???The desert was average nothing to write home about.All in all it was adequate fare, slightly better than normal pub offering.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Fionacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2021

We stayed here for a night for my husband's birthday weekend and it was just lovely. The restaurant and bar area is really spacious and beautifully decorated. Our room was gorgeous and spotlessly clean. Huge comfy bed...didn't want to get out of it.
The food was amazing and the staff are so attentive and friendly. They really couldn't do enough for us.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Y1382VKsarahp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox Hall Inn Restaurant also viewed

Scorton, Richmond
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 
Richmond, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fox Hall Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.