We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$97
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brakanes Hotel(Ulvik Municipality)
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Voeringfoss(Eidfjord Municipality)
US$163
US$150
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eidfjord Fjell & Fjord Hotel(Eidfjord Municipality)
US$201
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fossli Hotel(Eidfjord Municipality)
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
18
30
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
30
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat viewsit outsidedinner buffetroom was cleannext morningsmall hotelstaff was friendlybuffet stylehotel roomgreat hotelhardanger fjordstrandvossterracekayakconnectionhardangerfjord
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Rather small hotel with a nice setting right on the waterfront. Note luxury, but all what you need for a stop in Ulvik. had a large boubble rrom with a terrace overlooking the fjord. Nice outdoor area to enjoy a glass of wine.....
The hotel have sea kayaks and bikes for rent.
For dinner they served a buffe which was rather limited, but ok if your not looking for
shrimp, lobster and other fancy dishes. Breakfast was ok. The staff was very helpful though they only spoke english, but that's fine as long as you get the service you expect.

Room Tip: Room with terrasse
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank umeGol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

My parents and I stayed here for one night during a recent trip to Norway on our way from Bergen to Oslo via the Hardangerfjord. The Hotel is about a 10 minute walk around the shoreline from Ulvik and where the boat and bus depart on the 'Hardangerfjord in a Nutshell' journey.

We had a single room and double room - the double was upstairs with its own balcony overlooking the Fjord and the single was downstairs with a door straight out onto the communal grass area also with stunning views. Ulvik has a lovely relaxed feel which we prefered to the more 'touristy' areas further North. The staff (and other locals) we encountered were friendly, chatty and down-to-earth.

We had a buffet meal in the Restaurant for dinner which was basic but adequate and the breakfast buffet in the morning had everything we needed. The Hotel also has a lovely lounge space with books and boardgames for relaxing and a wonderful deck area with Fjord views.

My favourite feature of the Hotel was the free 1 hour kayaking and 2 hours cycling included with the room! I made the most of this with a 1 hour kayak around the Fjord which was a blissful way to start the day! The Hotel itself is a bit dated in parts but the views and location more than make up for this. Would definitely make a return trip!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadicKiwi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Nice basic hotel, two upper floors all rooms have balconies, every room has a gorgeous view. Room was comfortable enough. Because of some other issues, really I'd rate this hotel only average, but the views made up for it. Despite the relatively quiet location, it actually wasn't too quiet at night, as folks arriving "late" (after 10:00 pm) tended to sit outside and talk very loudly, smoking too, and didn't really seem to care if they were bothering anyone or not. The sun wasn't setting until close to midnight so I know they were enjoying themselves but it detracted from the experience. A big tour group on a bus did that to us one night, just a group of friends traveling together the second night. It was unseasonably warm and there's no A/C, so we were leaving the windows open...wasn't really an option to shut them. Anyway, it's a great place, not really their fault a lot of people are basically inconsiderate. The bed was comfortable, towels could have been better. Breakfast was wonderful - as long as you weren't trying to go in when the bus tour group was there. Bike rentals at the hotel made for a nice day cycling, such great scenery. Also the fruit-and-cider trail is a short walk uphill from the hotel. We stayed here as part of the Hardangerfjord in a Nutshell tour and the hotel was a very short walk from where the bus dropped us off and where we got the boat two days later.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms all have balconies, ground floor rooms have seating outside.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Liza W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

It was the one the most relaxing hotels I have ever stayed. View is great. You can feel the absolute silence. You can make kayak free of charge. Breakfast is over average. I strongly recommend this hotel if it is on your way to fjords.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ozcan y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our GPS took us on a narrow winding road to get there but it was well worth the scary drive. Once we got there and found the room with a balcony that overlooked the water we were relaxed and happy. The free parking was a huge plus. Room was spacious and food was excellent. Great place to stay while exploring the fjords.

Room Tip: Get directions for the alternative tunnel access road..
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank clergyspouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews