We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$101
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$93
View deal
Agoda.com
US$101
US$80
View deal
SAVE US$21
eDreamsUS$101
PricelineUS$101
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
374
146
23
14
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
374
146
23
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar pride rock boutique hotel watch the sunset breakfast buffet turn down service island hopping during happy hour el nido beautiful sunset excellent place to stay filipino dishes minute tricycle ride visit coron air conditioner front office bottled water
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2020

We stayed at The Funny Lion in early March of this year when we had to make an unexpected detour during our honeymoon trip . At first, I have to admit, we didn't consider the resort because of the name. We decided to give it a chance however when our friends recommended it. After all the reviews were good, the photos online looked nice and the location seemed to be fine. We were not disappointed!

The friendly airport representatives waited for our arrival at Busuanga Airport. This has to be pre-arranged but is worth it for just a few pesos more than having to sort out your own transportation. Cold towels and chilled bottles of water were offered before heading to the resort in their van. We always appreciate this simple gesture when traveling!

The resort is a pleasant, peaceful, safari-themed property with a lovely pool area that can be easily enjoyed the whole day. Just be a bit cautious when coming in and out of the pool as it can be quite slippery.

The room we had was nice and spacious and we were greeted by lovely honeymoon amenities. Once in a while, we would find freshly made beverages in our fridge during the day and a delightful sweet treat from the Chef at night. I have to mention how wonderful it was to come back to our room after it was cleaned each day, it smelled so clean and relaxing.

At Hunt, the resort's restaurant, aside from some items being either a bit too salty or too sweet, the menu choices are creative and mostly delicious.

From the front office to the restaurant side, service was consistently good. Everyone was always engaging and friendly. A special commendation to JB, the duty manager and Thel from Hunt restaurant.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cast_TravelandDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2020

Hi Caroline!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review. We work really hard to ensure that each of our guests will have the most wonderful experiences as soon as they step here in Coron so we’re glad that this was reflected on your last visit. We're very honored to be chosen as part of your honeymoon itinerary so we're very happy to know that our colleagues were able to assist you during your stay. We will forward your feedback to the team especially to JB and Thel—I'm sure that your kind words will make their day and encourage them to continue doing their best for our guests. Thank you so much for sharing this with us and we can't wait to see you in the resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2020

We had booked a stay at the Funny Lion for 3 nights but due to the lockdown the hotel had to decide to close it’s doors for a while. The duty manager, Jay, his service was of the highest quality. He really helped us out.
We want to thank you, Jay, so much for all your help. Even though we didn’t stay at the hotel, we were allowed to make use of the jacuzzi on the rooftop. The view from the rooftop is breathtaking and the service at the Funny Lion is great. We will definitely recommend a stay at the Funny Lion. We will be back one day!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank estherrsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

"Hi Esther!

Thank you so much for your review. We're very sorry to know that your plans had to change because of the government-mandated community quarantine. Despite this, we're glad that Jay were able to assist you and still provide you with the warmest service during your short stay here in Coron. We're glad that during this short period, you were able to enjoy the view from our Pride Rock Deck--this is definitely one of the best views in the island especially when the sun sets. Thank you so much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you once again and finally be able to stay with us when circumstances get better."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2020 via mobile

I wanted to say a huge thank you to the Funny Lion for thinking about their future customers and making their cancellation/refund process very easy and quick in light of everything that is going on in the world. Such honesty from the hotel, a caring attitude and absolutely no problem in refunding our money (unlike some other hotels and airlines sadly). We are absolutely gutted that we will not be staying with you in April but know that once this craziness is over we definitely will. See you soon....we hope!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4  Thank Dirk_Schmoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2020

"Hi Dirk_Schmoker!

Thank you so much for your review and we hope that you are well. We're very sorry to hear that your plans had to change due to the current situation but we're still very happy to hear that our colleagues were able to assist you in your cancellation/refund process and ensure that everything goes smoothly. Our colleagues are trained to ensure that each of our guests will receive the warmest service so we're glad that this reflected your experience. Thank you so much for sharing this with us and we hope to finally welcome you as soon as the circumstances get better."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

The staff are wonderful. The hotel is a short hop out of the central town. The hotel has a tricycle service into town, takes about 5 min and getting back is about P100 in a local tricycle or a 30 min walk. Very safe walk but you might want torch for some of the walk home. Rooms are large and well appointed.The air conditioner a bit noisy at night, so bring earplugs
We loved the small touches the hotel offer. Little drinks in the fridge every day, a free foot massage at the pool, all unexpected and appreciated. The pool was really nice. Not too warm or cold, just perfect. And lots of sunny and shady areas.
The jewel of the hotel is the bar on the rooftop. Amazing views and good happy hour cocktails.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitripper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi kiwitripper64!

Thank you so much for your review. We're very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us. The location of our resort is indeed ideal for those who wish to have a relaxing stay after a day of adventure yet still a few minutes away from the main town. We're also very happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities especially the views at Pride Rock Deck. It is also our favorite spot to watch the sunset with of course, our favorite cocktail in hand. Thank you so much for choosing The Funny Lion for your vacation here in Coron and we hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2020

It’s given, The Funny Lion has a sophisticated and beautiful aesthetics, but I would like to give its staff a 110% appreciation for all the goodness, care, and warmth they all show the guests! Truly admirable and commendable! Thank you The Funny Lion! Special shout out to Sir Mike, Sir JB, Ms Jen, Ms Roxan, Ms Ann, Sir Ryan and the guys at The Hunt and Pride Rock Deck - actually, ALL THE STAFF! Thank you. You guys make The Funny Lion a great home away from home.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank yangobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katalene Agmata, Marketing at The Funny Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2020

Hi yangobs!

Thank you so much for giving us a perfect rating reflecting your recent stay. We're glad that you enjoyed the aesthetics of the resort and the warm service that our team has presented you. Our amenities and our team's services are indeed designed to provide our guests with wonderful memories of Coron so we're glad that this was reflected during your stay. Thank you so much for choosing The Funny Lion for your vacation here in Coron and we hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews