We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear”
Review of Thai Again

Thai Again
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Nelly Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Genuine Northern Thai , cooked at time of order with only the freshest local produce .perfect venue with beautiful surroundings for large groups, functions and weddings
Restaurant details
Description: Genuine Northern Thai , cooked at time of order with only the freshest local produce .perfect venue with beautiful surroundings for large groups, functions and weddings
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I love Thai food. I lived in Thailand for several years in Chiang Mai and other parts of northern Thailand so i know good Thai food. This food is bland and feels like budget food for Aussies.
I realise that fresh produce is expensive on the island but i suspect that chillies, kaffir limes, ginger, galangal, tumeric, papaya, banana, coconut etc grow well on MI. That special balance of spicey, salty, sour and sweet is not at this restaurant.

The building and gardens could be magical. It's dirty, unkempt and the music was 70s rock kareoke. It's amateur stuff here.
Yes and the ?husband wife team looked stressed. No Thai smiles here.
I know there will be a scathing reply as i have read the responses.
Mai pen rai. Chook dee.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank DarwinSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thanaphan B, Owner at Thai Again, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

No scathing reply just a reminder that sorry you and your assumed privilege will occasionally be told No ! You were quite aghast that other customers were actually enjoying the music and we’re upset that it was not” romantic “ ... come back for Valentines and we will be playing love ballads ( actually don’t) , you won’t break our hearts
As for your meals you nearly licked the plates clean and made so many positive remarks - also about how authentic the setting was ..I now see that you were simply being disingenuous as people with tour attitude ( tickets) on themselves are won’t to do .
As for your stuttering Thai - well kun poot Leo / kun gahook ‍♂️
Getting bad reviews is expected in hospitality , as owners you can take notice and make adjustments where necessary which is a good thing . Dealing with two faced liars is the down side to it and if you actually know anything about Thai culture you should know that it is not accepted

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Without a doubt the best food we had on the island. We even went back for a second visit. We’re still talking about the coconut rice being the best we’ve ever had!

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank 521chloed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

We dined twice because we loved it - we ordered prawn meals and they were so fresh and delicious - friendly service and beautiful deck with view of surrounding bush land
Hope to return
Thank you !

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank LeanneM482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2020

Family run restaurant, featuring local northern Thai dishes. Full of flavour with generous servings.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sgrant70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2020

The food was fantastic, I have a peanut allergy and the staff went above and beyond to ensure that I had a delicious meal despite the limited menu. The owners were very kind and thoughtful, ensuring that I would not experience an allergic reaction while my family enjoyed peanut-full, authentic Thai food.

Date of visit: December 2020
1  Thank maddiekatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Again also viewed

Magnetic Island, Queensland
Picnic Bay, Magnetic Island
 
Horseshoe Bay, Magnetic Island
Picnic Bay, Magnetic Island
 

Been to Thai Again? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Singapore
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.