We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grecotel Eva Palace
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Visited at the start of July and found the hotel in most part true to previous reviews. There was no panic for a sunbed and the pool was a pleasant temperature. Meals in the main restaurant were good but have had better in similar Greek hotels. The a la carte meal was superb however as was the service, don't forget to visit here. Lunch was a little disappointing, as a n all inclusive guest there were two main options, buffet at the a la carte or order from the pool bar menu where some choices were allowed. We did both, the buffet was very repetitive and really for me revolved around whether I liked what was on the grill outside. The pool bar menu had a burger on it which was far to big and over facing but at about £12 to non all inclusive guests I suppose it had to be value. However I would suggest a mid size for guests with an average appetite and children.
Many people comment on the 'climb' up and down to the main bar, reception etc. Yes it is a series of quite steep steps but there are alternatives such as using the path to the left of the pool to reach the beach. I am not that mobile and managed ok.
The bar service at both bars was very good. We didn't see much entertainment but joined it 'Viking Chess' and found Susie and the other entertainers friendly but not pushy.
My main negatives about the hotel was the fact our room was on the main floor with reception and the lobby bar and several times we were woken up or kept awake by cleaners, case moving, chairs be moved etc. Also our sea view room did ha8547ea lovely view if you were standing up but the balcony was a large wall and so you couldn't see the view if you were sitting down.
The area is only for those with a car as there is nowhere to go, not even a few bars. Cabs are quite pricey to Gouvia and other places.
Did I enjoy my holiday? Yes, staff are great, food fine in general and general feel of hotel is lovely.

Room Tip: Bungalow or level 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winniecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_Palace, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your sincere comments with regards to your recent stay at the Eva Palace. We are very pleased to read that you were satisfied with the hotel in general and I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our facilities, services and most of all our staff – I strongly believe that they are one of our strongest assets!! At the same time I apologize about the noise issues you had with your room. If you had just mentioned it we could have tried to find an alternative but anyhow. Just giving you a tip for next time!!

Thank you once again for your kind review and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Grecotel Eva Palace in the near future.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,441 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2017

Eva Palace lacks the finesse, elegance and luxury expected from a 5* hotel.

Whilst most of the staff are friendly and willing to help, the hotel itself is very tired and lacking in wow factor. The only spectacular element is the beautiful location and scenery.

There is only one restaurant offering an alternative to the main dinner buffet and it isn't open every night. The overall quality and choice of food is very poor and boring and there is a distinct lack of fresh seafood which is very surprising. As a result we ate out most nights in some fabulous restaurants.

The pool area is nice enough, however the staff are not as attentive as they are in other 5* resorts. I was shocked that they do not offer drinks service to the sun loungers so instead you have to get up and walk to the bar every time you want something. In addition to this, they started to play very loud disco music at lunchtime which really lowers the tone and is disruptive to guests who want a relaxing and peaceful time.
The beach area is ok and we enjoyed a couple of nice swims in the ocean but overall it is very scruffy and unkept.

We were lucky enough to stay in one of the villas with a private pool which was very nice inside but the cleaning standards could be much better & like the rest of the hotel there were many aspects which need attention.
The pool itself was absolutely freezing so it wasn't possible to swim, the patio area needed a good clean/hose, there were weeds growing out of the tiles and we found ourselves repeatedly asking housekeeping for the same things - new towels, bottles of water etc. There was also a big issue with the sound proofing between each villa and we could hear everything!

We had a nice relaxing break and enjoyed some sun but I wouldn't return to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_Palace, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for sharing your sincere comments with regards to your recent stay at the Eva Palace. I am disappointed we didn’t manage to go that extra mile for you and make you really want to come back.

Regarding the points mentioned in your review that need improving, I would like to inform you that they have been duly noted, with the very best intentions and we thank you for giving us the incentive to improve and enhance our products and services.

I would like to thank you once again for your constructive criticism and hope that I will meet you in person here at Eva Palace sometime in one of your next holidays.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We have just returned from a Thomson stay and cruise, we can recommend it.
Our week in the EVA palace was very enjoyable, staff very helpful and considerate,
with a special thanks to Yolande and colleagues for their kindness.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very nice with fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmm992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_Palace, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for leaving your sincere comments with regards to your recent stay at the Eva Palace. We were pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stress free holiday and that we managed to meet most of your expectations.

Thanks once more for your positive feedback. My colleagues and I are greatly looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

We had a wonderful week at Eva Palace, we had the PP package and this gave us access to a variety of drinks, plenty of yummy food and an excellent A La Carte evening, which was exceptional. We stayed in a Villa which over looked the beach, it was very spacious and housekeeping was excellent. There are a lot of steps which would cause difficulties if you were infirm, but we found it useful in working off the calories!!!! All the staff are very professional and friendly all wanting to make your stay memorable, especially Magda at the Beach Bar, always smiling and never forgets your drink order. We did the Durrell's trip with the hotel, which if you have watched the series is a must. We found the location ideal as we wanted a relaxing hotel in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevonDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Excellent location with fantastic views. Beach good for swimming but a bit small. Quite distant from anything else on the island, expensive taxis needed to get to Corfu old town or Paleokastritsa.
For food it may be best to head out. The beach bar isn't great. There are two restaurants, one posh but with a limited menue, the other a very expensive cafeteria.
Room well equiped with a superb view. The hotel has a very nice style.
Has aspirations to being a five star hotel but lacks the class and wow factor to really match up but if you're only there for sun it will probably do.

Room Tip: Bungalow's are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron_A_Aardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva_Palace, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Grecotel Eva Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for choosing Grecotel Eva Palace for your recent holidays. We also thank you for your comments here on Trip Advisor and for your time to share your opinion with the rest of the viewers. I am really sorry to read that unfortunately our hotel did not meet your expectations and I wish there was something I could do about it.

Thanks again for all your comments and I hope we will have the chance to welcome you back to Grecotel Eva Palace in one of your next holidays

Sincerely

Nikolaos Pagonis
General Manager
Grecotel Eva Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kommeno Bay
1.9 km away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
18.5 km away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,484 reviews
20.7 km away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Grecotel Daphnila Bay Dassia
1.5 km away
Louis Corcyra Beach Hotel
7.8 km away
Corfu Palace Hotel
Corfu Palace Hotel
#4 of 11 in Corfu Town
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grecotel Eva Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grecotel Eva Palace

Address: P.O. Box 57 | Tzavros, Kommeno Bay 49083, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Kommeno Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kommeno Bay
Price Range: $206 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grecotel Eva Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Grecotel Eva Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Eva Palace Hotel Kommeno Bay
Grecotel Eva Palace Kommeno Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing