We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$332
View deal
Booking.com
US$313
View deal
FindHotel
US$293
View deal
Hotels.comUS$332
eDreamsUS$313
Trip.comUS$324
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
759 results
Traveller rating
549
103
57
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
549
103
57
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star private island hot tub hilltop reserve hole golf course amuse bouche pre dinner drinks main restaurant wooden bridge wine list roaring fire stunning scenery scones clay pigeon shooting stayed two nights dining room couple of nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 759 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2021

We stayed here a few months ago, and have such happy memories of our stay. Eriska is a magical place, we were very fortunate to be upgraded to the Spa Suite. The grounds on the island are amazing, I wish we had booked more than one night to explore them fully. The Michelin starred restaurant was excellent and our dietary requirements were no problem.

The staff we met were so kind, friendly and nothing was too much trouble- particular thanks to Claire and Emiliano who made our stay the best it could be.

I would highly recommend the Eriska to others, we will be returning!

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fionnghualam2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 October 2021 via mobile

We had been touring and wanted to find a relaxing hotel where we could chill. The Isle of Eriska has it all Superb service where nothing is too much trouble. We arrived in torrential rain and our reception was both caring and efficient. There are lovely sitting areas with log fires and always plenty of room. A great bar and dining room and bedrooms large with our T V within a mirror!,
Food at dinner was excellent as were the breakfasts.
There is a spa etc and lovely walks around the wee island
Just go and you will not regret it We look forward to returning

Room tip: Arrive in daylight as although signed it’s a narrow access road and easier before dark.
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Triglyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 October 2021 via mobile

Sweet staff, but a disappointing experience in general. This hotel seems to be living off the benefit of the small country building at its centre. In reality guests are paying a premium but then located in dated bungalows around the perimeter. We paid for a hot tub which was heated to a tepid 35 degrees. We weren’t told we needed to book the spa in advance. And (in an example of overstaffing and an extreme version of social distancing) guests were changing and swimming one at a time while being observed by a completely unnecessary lifeguard. The meal was delicious, but the general decor, fixtures and fittings in the rooms were tired. We would not recommend a stay here.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Q8959RNrachelw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

After having spent a wonderful afternoon having a drink in the garden this time last year I was extremely dissatisfied in my return trip today. We visited in September last year and after speaking to a very friendly waiter, was advised we were welcome to have drinks. With nothing to advise on the hotel website that it was only open to residents we travelled out from Oban with family to what I was hoping to be another wonderful visit. How disappointed, and embarrassed was I. We travelled down the narrow winding road to the hotel to be "greeted" by a member of staff, who without explanation, quite curtly advised it was for residents only and was quite patronising in his following remark to "Have a nice day. "
I was left with the impression, that now we are post lockdown we were no longer welcome.
Or has the 5 star service left with Mr Cheevers, whose restaurant, in Glasgow, I visited recently and received exemplary service.
Come on guy's, get your act together. If my custom is not welcome, at least it clear on your website and save me a long and wasted trip from Oban or train your staff to be a bit more empathetic

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Scrimgeour, General Manager at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Dear Tom C,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am of course disheartened by your review as it was not a decision we made lightly. We always appreciate our patrons and the custom that they bring to us and the local area and thankfully many of our non-resident clients understand the issues that currently face the hospitality industry.
We do have several stop guards in place to avoid the experience that you had. For example: restricted availability when booking online or via our reservations team, signage at the front of the hotel entrance and our welcome porter who would advise of the current situation. As you had come via the rear terrace and sat yourselves you would have missed some of these. Only then, when the server learned that you were not staying, he apologised that due to the current climate we had made the difficult decision to not accommodate non-residents.

I am sorry that you had that an unfortunate visit with us, it would never be our intent to embarrass or disappoint you. However, the decisions we made have helped us to retain all the same wonderful staff you had met last September.

I do hope you can visit us again.


Kind Regards,
Lewis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2021 via mobile

Had lovely afternoon September 2020 at the hotel with excellent service, so decided to start our week’s holiday there today. The hotel was quiet and we quickly placed our order in the empty bar. After taking our order and asking for our room number the bar man in a loud and patronising tone advised the hotel did not accept non-residents. It’s a shame there was no signage to avoid the embarrassment- very poor! It’s good to know the hotel is doing so well it can turn guests away.

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 787fionaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Scrimgeour, General Manager at Isle of Eriska Hotel, Spa & Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2021

Dear Fiona A,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. I can completely understand how disappointing your visit to us was, please know that turning away guests is never a choice that we make lightly, however due to the current situation it was the best decision for the Isle of Eriska and its team.
We do have several stop guards in place to avoid the experience that you had. For example: restricted availability when booking online or via our reservations team, signage at the front of the hotel entrance and our welcome porter who would advise of the current situation. As you had come via the rear terrace, you would have unfortunately missed some of these.

I understand that this can be disheartening however every other guest who we have sadly turned away has understood completely and hope to return when the hospitality industry has grown into a healthier form. I do hope we see you again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Lewis

Lewis Scrimgeour
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews