We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda
Nearby Hotels
Garni Marika(Navazzo)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Livia(Gargnano)
US$126
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lido(Gargnano)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Lac(Gargnano)
US$229
US$194
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$139
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tiziana(Gargnano)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,972)
Filter reviews
2,972 results
Traveller rating
2,505
356
76
18
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,505
356
76
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslefay resortinfinity poolour honeymoonbreathtaking viewsflip flopsshuttle buswelcome drinkworth every pennysalt laketop qualityrelaxing atmospherelong weekendworld classamazing locationstaff were excellentgreat facilitieswalk in wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 2,972 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When your staff "excel at mediocrity"....

During our recent trip to Germany and Italy we stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Munich, Il Sereno on Lake Como, Villa San Michele near Florence, Lefay, and the
Charles Hotel in Munich again...

All of which, with the exception of Lefay, deserve 5 stars, not only for the location and
quality of the property, but also significantly for the level of service provided by their
staff...

The Lefay, while it is an amazing property in an amazing location, has a staff that, in
my opinion, falls significantly short of the levels of service associated with a 5-star
property!

First impressions are lasting ones, and our first impressions were poor!

We arrived at the hotel in the late afternoon, there was no one at the front of the hotel
to greet us and take our luggage, as we unloaded the car ourselves another guest
also arrived, and they too waited in vain for valet etc ... eventually they lost patience
and went inside, finally someone came out to take our bags...

We then joined the line for check-in, with only 2 clerks, one of whom promptly
disappeared we stood for several minutes while another guest tried to decide if
they wanted a welcome drink, or to go to their room, and if they did, would they
take their luggage or have the bell staff take it ...

meanwhile more guests arrive, some of whom have already checked in, and are
exasperated waiting to be shown to their room ...

finally we get checked in, the hotel is apparently (nearly) full, so we will not be getting
a complimentary (virtuoso) upgrade (no issue with that) ... but apparently we are
getting a different room from the one we booked that the hotel "thinks of as a upgrade"

Which is interesting, since its on floor -3, separated from the earth's core, only by the
meeting rooms below it ... and its hot and stuffy too boot!

We complain, "this is not the room type we booked, and do not want it" ... unfortunately
our room type is not available and this is "considered a better room" ... but they will
check tomorrow and get back to us ... which of course never happened...

They also forgot to mention that we might like to book a table for dinner at their
trattoria ... so when we, and several other guests subsequently, showed up for a
table there, we were all turned away to either dine in the bar, or at the "il Limone"
restaurant, that un-surprisingly had space given that it was featuring "Octopus 8 ways"
that evening...

So we dined in the bar, which was ok, but not particularly ideal ... as we watched
other guests also be turned away...

Off to bed - only to discover that the "high tech" A/C in the room, would only allow
you to reduce the temp by a max of -3C from whatever steam setting the rest of the
hotel were basking in ... oh wait - not you could also adjust the fan 'noise' too ...

So, we threw open the curtains and doors in order to achieve a reasonable sleeping
temperature and airiness!

I will admit that the pool area and bar etc is lovely with spectacular views of the lake
and we spent a lovely day lounging ...

having learned our lesson, we made a dinner reservation, and tried the trattoria that
night, it was ok, but noticed that the staff tended towards preferring Italian tables,
so despite being seated before others, we did not receive our service before a
number of others seated after us ... but we were not in a hurry.

On the morning of checkout we discovered (but again were not told at checkin) that
in order to receive our complimentary (virtuoso) breakfast we had to take in it the
dining room as opposed to in-room...

To their credit, once we pointed this out, the hotel did remove the breakfast charges
from our bill.

Overall our experience was poor, the hotel itself is stunning, but we felt that the staff
just did not care about our experience there, and certainly were a distant "last" in
service levels when compared with the other 5-star hotels we stayed at during our
holiday.

As a result, I would not return to this hotel, and cannot recommend it as anything but
poor (in comparison to those other hotels)

your experience may vary, but I think that is the point - everyones experience should
be excellent - ours was not.

Room Tip: somewhere else... the whole hotel is very warm and stuffy even with A/C
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LarryCable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcide L, Direttore generale at Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to learn that you appreciated the location of our Resort, situated inside an 11 hectares natural park in the heart of the spectacular and renowned “Riviera dei Limoni”, surrounded by gentle hills and natural terraces rich in olive trees and woods overlooking the lake.
However we are very sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the standard of service rendered during your stay. In particular, we are sorry that our Suite did not fulfill your expectations, especially given the great efforts we take to offer rooms that provide great moments of peace and relax. About this, please let me assure you that your Suite is one of the most appreciated among our Deluxe Junior Suites because not only it offers total privacy in a charming and relaxing atmosphere, but also overlooks a private garden.
Anyway, as our Front Office Manager informed you, there was the possibility of a room change starting from the following day.
In addition, regarding your comment about the temperature in you room, let us please inform you that the cooling of rooms is achieved through sophisticated temperature radiant systems installed within ceilings and floors. In the future, we suggest you to ask our Front Office for assistance: the Engineering and Maintenance Team will be happy to help you.
Moreover, we want to clarify that the room rate includes a buffet breakfast at “La Grande Limonaia” Restaurant, otherwise the room service is an extra service which implies a surcharge. However, in your case, our Front Office was pleased to arrange your request as a compensation for the not availability of the late check out.
Last, we thank you to provide us with your feedback, since it is only through these valuable comments that we can better understand and satisfy our Guest’s desires and expectations. We hope you may alter your opinion and give us the pleasure to welcome you again in our Resort. Meanwhile, my Staff and I send you the best regards from Lake Garda.
Alcide Leali Jr.
Managing Director
Lefay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great place, amenities and staff lovely rooms.....not in agreement with the mixed sauna rules but then call me old fashioned. Calmness beautiful location and view leave you feeling calm and in another world.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank glennlacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcide L, General Manager at Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
I would personally like to thank you for choosing Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda as ideal destination for your wellness holiday. We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated your stay in our Resort, conceived according to Lefay’s concept of overall wellness. Regarding your comment, let us inform you that Lefay SPA offers a Lady Sauna: this is for ladies only and has a delicate floral perfume which envelops the body in an atmosphere that evokes summer gardens by the lake.
We thank you to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in our Resort.
Alcide Leali Jr.
Managing Director
Lefay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve travelled the world to the very best hotels and locations as hotel is most important factor for me.

If you’re looking for the best spa hotel for couples or for friends to goto this is it.

The facilities are brilliant, plenty of sauna and steam rooms of different types, 3 different pools and properly heated so it’s hot all year round. The addition of the ice pool is great, and the daily fresh snacks at 4.30 are well received.
The massages and treatments are very good, in fact it’s only missing a real mud bath.

The views from hotel are incredible and the best anywhere around lake Garda. Note that you need to travel up a winding road, to get to the hotel with plenty of hairpin turns. Smaller cars are recommend with big engine, unless your used to driving in Italy around lake Garda.

Car Parking is easy and large spaces across 2 floors.

Breakfast - so over the years it seems breakfast as changed, sadly in my opinion not for the better. The options are limited, if you’re gluten free or used to hot breakfast (missing things like baked beans - not that I eat them) The pastry’s are too dry and not sweet enough. Also the range has decreased. They’ve introduced vegan and sugar free options. However it seems they’ve forgotten about people that just want “normal” food.
Lefay if you’re reading this review please up the game for breakfast, staying there for over a week at the hotel get very boring for breakfast food.

Lunch and other food - lunch menu by the out door pool has again had option cut and nothing really of any tasty good food there. On the main deck for lunch again options cut and really could do better. Dinner, whilst the food is nice, it’s not wow by any means. I would recommend going to Tignale anytime you want to eat over the hotel which is ashame.

Rooms - so where the hotel facilities are brilliant the rooms are a let down. Shower water temperature changes from hot to cold (this happens in every room all day; I’ve been there well over 15 times).
There is no AC period. They say there is water air cooling but you would get more cooling by leaving the taps on cold running. It’s the most pointless system I’ve experienced. It maybe eco but in 20-30c temperature with rooms with no airflow you don’t care about eco you want cold air.
Beds - actually the worse beds of any 5 star or better hotel I’ve stayed in. They are Hard but you feel the springs. After a week it really hurts your back. Pillows might as well be a pancake as they would be more comfortable.
The products in the room, this year using olive oil are horrible. Please switch back to the honey based products. They smell and clean better.

Cleaning - the hotel is very clean and everywhere is very well kept. Nothing really looks old or tatty.

Staff - generally all very nice, and helpful.

That all said. I love the hotel, and that’s why I keep coming back. There are areas that they could improve on to really make the difference.


Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Layth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcide L, General Manager at Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
I would personally like to thank you for choosing Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda as ideal destination for your wellness holiday.
We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated Lefay SPA, the exclusive temple to wellness of 3,800 sqm where mind and body are regenerated through the rediscovery of genuine emotions.
However we are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the offer of Lefay Viital Gourmet our culinary concept which pays particular attention to the health aspects of food, following the principles of sustainable cuisine. About this, we definitely understand that our menu may not be to everyone’s taste, but appreciate any feedback as we want to continually improve what we offer.
Moreover we are sorry that our beds did not fulfil your expectations, especially given the great efforts we take to offer Suites that provide great moments of peace and emotions. Please let me assure you that, for those who require it, it is possible to have a latex top mattress cover on the bed. In the future, we would suggest to state this at the moment of reservation: our Team will be happy to satisfy your individual requests.
Last we thank you to provide us with your feedback, since it is only through these valuable comments that we can better understand and satisfy our Guest’s desires and expectations.
We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in our Resort. Meanwhile, my Staff and I send you our best regards from Lake Garda.
Alcide Leali Jr.
Managing Director
Lefay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Absolutely stunning location with great facilities - total relaxation. Very attentive and welcoming staff apart from the miserable and unhelpful blonde lady who 'greeted' guests at breakfast. Other than this the whole experience was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CKAS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcide L, General Manager at Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
I would personally like to thank you for choosing Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda as ideal destination for your wellness holiday. We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated your stay in our Resort, situated inside an 11 hectares natural park in the heart of the spectacular and renowned “Riviera dei Limoni”, surrounded by gentle hills and natural terraces rich in olive trees and woods overlooking the lake. However we are very sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied with the standard of service rendered during your breakfast, especially given the great effort we take to pay attention to details. About this, please be sure that we’ve already shared your note with our Restaurant Manager in order to improve our service.
We thank you to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in our Resort.
Alcide Leali Jr.
Managing Director
Lefay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

Outstanding hotel, with the most beautiful view. An overwhelming sense of calm throughout our whole stay, a truly stress free environment.
A perfect balance for anyone looking for a wellness retreat, but also where you can be served wine and cocktails by the pool.
We've stayed at a few 5 star hotels in the world, this is by far the best on every level. We will be back this year!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank madebytidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcide L, General Manager at Lefay Resort & Spa Lago di Garda, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Guest,
I would personally like to thank you for choosing Lefay Resort & SPA Lago di Garda as ideal destination for your wellness holiday.
It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We are very delighted to learn that you appreciated your stay in our Resort, conceived according to Lefay’s concept of overall wellness. Please rest assured that we will continue to be receptive and sensitive to the needs of our Guests so that your future visits will be as enjoyable as the last. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in our Resort.
Alcide Leali Jr.
Managing Director
Lefay Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews