We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience and Highly Worthwhile”
Review of Stilts Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stilts Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We visited at the recommendation of our taxi driver to feed the Bush Babies. The staff were great, especially the owner Wayne who made everyone feel welcome and spent time with his guests. He's done a great job at creating an intentionally relaxed vibe. The 7:00pm feeding of the Bush Babies was a treat and a cool, educational experience. The food was very reasonably priced and very good.

We'd highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi David, It was great meeting you guys. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and tell other travelers about visit to Stilts. Next time your in Diani please stop by and say hi.

Many Thanks and Safe travels

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights in a treehouse. The room was nice and clean, there was a net over the bed and functioning wifi everywhere on the property. You cannot store any food in your room because of the monkeys but there is a bar and a restaurant. Good thing is that you can use the pool that belongs to another hotel/restaurant close to the beach. The staff was excellent, very helpful. We had a wonderful time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Katerina,
Thank you so much for your comments. We love hearing from our guests and are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope we can be part of your holiday once again in the near future. Safe travels and Thank You again

Best Wishes
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of Stilts' double rooms, which was a 'treehouse-esque' structure with a balcony and seating... and it was utterly amazing!

Though we had a shared bathroom, which was a short walk from our room, cold and saltwater, this was a completely new experience for us and added to the immensely rural and natural experience here!

Staff here are very friendly and happy to help you with laundry, travel arrangements and local knowledge. Good food and drink is served in the communal bar, again on stilts, where at 19:00 each evening there is a unique opportunity to help feed the bush babies, which we really enjoyed!

Access to Stilts' sister hotel across the road was free, where we could use the pool, snooker room and have access to the white sanded beach!

Overall, an incredibly relaxing and satisfying stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi George,
Sorry I missed you when you were here those couple days. So glad to hear you had a good time with us. Our sister property is very new for us but we should mention the snooker room is not open for anyone to play in. Other than that you're spot on and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Regards

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

Great Place if you love staying with nature. Visiting wildlife (bushbabies), while having a dink in the evening is enthralling. Good food and great ambience make up for the short distance to the beach. Its about 10 mins walk to the beach. Though the staff advises you to return before dark and not travel alone, they readily escort you back in case of delay while returning. Short distance from Ali Barbours cave restaurant which is not to be missed. While going out to sea for snorkelling, diving etc do plan a trip with the local guys and strike a deal. Restaurants are far in between but locals can cook up a fantastic BBQ meal on the beach so look out for them and negotiate.

Room Tip: Towards the common area and toilets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vikram m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

I have no idea on how to write this without it sounding like I am being paid to write this (I am not).

I was booked at Stilts for 3 nights while in Diani to celebrate by best friends birthday and it being a backpackers, I expected it to be your typical bare-minimum, no thrills and frills, sleep, eat and go place.

It wasn't.

I was pleasantly surprised. From the main reception area which doubles as a bar/restaurant/chill spot, to the various types of accommodation (tree houses, tents, cottages) spread out in the forest housing it, Stilts was very well laid out. Not only that, it was extremely clean, had flushing toilets (that work) and showers with hot water.

The cottage I was booked into was very spacious. The main room had a double bed and a single bed, and still had room to add a few more. It had a large adjoining bathroom with a shower, a toilet and a sink. It also had a small verandah outside with a table, couple of chairs and a spare bed. This became my fav spot as soon as I woke to hear the birds chirping away in the forest and at night before bed to listen to the stillness of Africa.

The staff were incredibly responsive and friendly, so much so that they became intuitive by my second night. Wayne, the owner, was always on hand to assist in any way and whose hands on approach and attention left me feeling like a VIP. Since the sentiments were shared by other guests at Stilts, I can state that he is a superb host.

(Wayne gives a small talk on Bush Babies during their feeding time 7pm sharp daily.)

The coup de grace was the food. Despite trying many of the famous 5-star restaurants around Diani, I kept coming back to Stilts for their fish curry. The chips mayai, the tomato soup, the vegetable curry and the entire smorgasbord that is their menu alone is worth opting for Stilts.

Now here is the confusing bit. Despite the 5* food and accommodation, everything at Stilts still priced like a regular 1* backpackers!!!

You CANNOT go wrong with this option. Good food, great people, awesome atmosphere, pocket friendly. Be back soon!

Room Tip: Get a cottage and share it with a few friends, esp Cottage No. 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Samdave69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Wow, I don't even know what to say right now....(humbled) Thank You soooo much for your incredibly amazing review. I am so pleased to hear you were thrilled with everything and we thank you so much. Truthfully it's the guest that really make Stilts what it is. Yes we help a bit...but it's awesome guests like yourself that chose to interact, share stories or a drink with others (or myself:P ), that create the chilled vibe we all love so much.

From the entire Stilts team:
We thank you

Safe travels...till next time

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
520 reviews
6.2 km away
Kusini Beach Cottages
Kusini Beach Cottages
#23 of 29 in Diani Beach
29 reviews
3.5 km away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#3 of 72 in Diani Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Footprints House Diani Beach
Footprints House Diani Beach
#4 of 72 in Diani Beach
33 reviews
0 km away
Bidi Badou Beach Resort
Bidi Badou Beach Resort
#28 of 29 in Diani Beach
5 reviews
15.1 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Backpackers

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: $33 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****SEE RATES BELOW***** Our accommodation consists of 5 Tree Houses and 3 cottages and a camping area. As well as a Restaurant/Bar and Lounge area where we have Bush Babies visit us every night at 7:00pm. The Tree Houses are built out of native materials off the ground in the tree canopies, they do not have their own bathrooms. The rate for the Tree houses are: Single Ksh 1,800 per night, Double Ksh 1,400 per person per night and Triple Ksh 1,000 per person per night.Camping is Ksh 600 per night with your own gear or 1000 with our tent mattress and bedding included. The cottages have their own bathrooms and Fans, still basic but part of our surroundings. The cottages are Single Ksh 3,000 per night, Double Ksh 1,800 per person per night, Triple Ksh 1,400 per person per night and 4 people Ksh 1,000 per person per night. Cheers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stilts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilts Backpackers Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing