We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Afrika Pearl & Spa(Diani Beach)
US$117
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$212/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$136
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahari Dhow Beach Villas(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$58
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
African Dream Cottages(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bahati Diani House Glamping(Diani Beach)(Great Value!)
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AfroChic Diani(Diani Beach)
US$625
US$560
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$641/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
191
33
5
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
191
33
5
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbush babiestree houseforty thievesgreat place to stayshared bathroomthe cottageshot wateryour doorstepbeach barstayed for nightsother guestsevery eveningthe location is perfectcave restaurantcalamarihome away from homewayne
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Stayed at Stilts from 24/10/2017 to 09/11/2017.
This was my 2nd visit to Stilts and upon arrival was warmly greeted by all the staff.
Wayne ( the owner ) is an exceptional host who goes out of his way to make your holiday the best it can be, ask him anything and he will do his best to help and advise.
I stayed in a Cottage again which was clean and functional. Located in a stunning tropical environment with a variety of wildlife on your doorstep.
The premises is patrolled by security at night, which make one feel reassuringly safe and the security staff really look after your welfare.
Shops, Beach and the famous Forty Thieves bar is just a short stroll away.
I highly Recommend Stilts and every guest i have spoken to whilst staying there has only good things to say about the place.
I am already planning another visit for next year. Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I called Stilts the day before we planned to arrive requesting a treehouse for two nights. The next day, we were greeted by Patricia who advised that they take payment on arrival - this is peculiar. She requested 3400 kes per night when the prices on the website and TripAdvisor are lower. We hadn't been shown to our treehouse yet but, after querying with Patricia and her insistence, we paid. We were then asked to confirm that we had read and understood the printed and laminated copies of the house rules which essentially focus on the responsibility of the guest to keep all valuables in a locked “safe room”. Reading through the negative reviews on this site, I now see why.

We were shown to our treehouse by a lovely member of staff (Emmanuel?). To say we were underwhelmed would be an understatement. The treehouse is basic - the sort of thing we've consistently paid 2000-2500 kes (including breakfast!) for elsewhere. It's literally just a double bed in a very damp (you're in an open forest) room, only slightly larger than the bed, with no fan up a steep ladder with no steps, just rungs (great fun with backpacks!).

We decided to drop our bags and go for a walk to the beach. We walked through the Flamboyant hotel to access the beach. While making our way through, we met Wayne, the owner of Flamboyant and Stilts. He welcomed us to the hotel and checked we had settled in okay - we explained we hadn't had a chance to look properly as we'd just dropped our bags to come to the beach.

During our time on the beach, we decided we'd rather look for accommodation elsewhere. Being on a tight budget for a two year trip, and having been in East Africa for months now, we've got a reasonably good idea of how much we should be paying for accommodation and can't afford to be ripped off.

We got back to Stilts at lunchtime (within two hours of checking in) and let Patricia know that we had decided to check out and find somewhere else to stay. Patricia was unable to do this so she called Wayne. He arrived to discuss why we were leaving - we explained Stilts is too basic for us and also mentioned the incorrect prices online. He said the website was made by someone else so he can't change the prices (??).

This was when the purpose of taking money upon arrival became clear. After accepting that we were leaving, Wayne tried to withhold US$17 / 1700 kes of our money for the inconvenience of changing the sheets. Now we appreciate that, even though we hadn't touched the bed, there is a hygiene requirement to change things for a new guest. If the place had been busy (we didn't see a single other guest) or if we'd taken the last treehouse (all of them were empty) we'd have understood the need to pay for loss of potential earnings. To attempt to charge us for changing the sheets, however, seems pretty opportunistic and $17 is just extortionate. Do you really think the staff are paid that much or that washing powder or water is that expensive?

Eventually, after much grumbling and a really unnecessary call for Patricia to go and strip the bed and wash everything while we were sat waiting for a resolution, Wayne backed down and provided a full refund.

The whole exchange, which we'd tried to conduct civilly, left a bad taste. Fortunately, we found Footprints Guesthouse and, for less money, are staying in a beautiful, new, clean and friendly place instead.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We visited at the recommendation of our taxi driver to feed the Bush Babies. The staff were great, especially the owner Wayne who made everyone feel welcome and spent time with his guests. He's done a great job at creating an intentionally relaxed vibe. The 7:00pm feeding of the Bush Babies was a treat and a cool, educational experience. The food was very reasonably priced and very good.

We'd highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi David, It was great meeting you guys. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and tell other travelers about visit to Stilts. Next time your in Diani please stop by and say hi.

Many Thanks and Safe travels

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights in a treehouse. The room was nice and clean, there was a net over the bed and functioning wifi everywhere on the property. You cannot store any food in your room because of the monkeys but there is a bar and a restaurant. Good thing is that you can use the pool that belongs to another hotel/restaurant close to the beach. The staff was excellent, very helpful. We had a wonderful time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Katerina,
Thank you so much for your comments. We love hearing from our guests and are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope we can be part of your holiday once again in the near future. Safe travels and Thank You again

Best Wishes
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of Stilts' double rooms, which was a 'treehouse-esque' structure with a balcony and seating... and it was utterly amazing!

Though we had a shared bathroom, which was a short walk from our room, cold and saltwater, this was a completely new experience for us and added to the immensely rural and natural experience here!

Staff here are very friendly and happy to help you with laundry, travel arrangements and local knowledge. Good food and drink is served in the communal bar, again on stilts, where at 19:00 each evening there is a unique opportunity to help feed the bush babies, which we really enjoyed!

Access to Stilts' sister hotel across the road was free, where we could use the pool, snooker room and have access to the white sanded beach!

Overall, an incredibly relaxing and satisfying stay!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi George,
Sorry I missed you when you were here those couple days. So glad to hear you had a good time with us. Our sister property is very new for us but we should mention the snooker room is not open for anyone to play in. Other than that you're spot on and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future

Regards

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews