We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service I've had in my entire life!!”
Review of Stilts Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stilts Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Perfect for students or people on a budget, great service and prime location between major bars on the beach! It was honestly the best vacation experience ever. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for cheap good quality accommodation, and top notch service!

Room Tip: This place is best for friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

Stayed at Stilts from 24/10/2017 to 09/11/2017.
This was my 2nd visit to Stilts and upon arrival was warmly greeted by all the staff.
Wayne ( the owner ) is an exceptional host who goes out of his way to make your holiday the best it can be, ask him anything and he will do his best to help and advise.
I stayed in a Cottage again which was clean and functional. Located in a stunning tropical environment with a variety of wildlife on your doorstep.
The premises is patrolled by security at night, which make one feel reassuringly safe and the security staff really look after your welfare.
Shops, Beach and the famous Forty Thieves bar is just a short stroll away.
I highly Recommend Stilts and every guest i have spoken to whilst staying there has only good things to say about the place.
I am already planning another visit for next year. Paradise.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

My partner and I called Stilts the day before we planned to arrive requesting a treehouse for two nights. The next day, we were greeted by Patricia who advised that they take payment on arrival - this is peculiar. She requested 3400 kes per night when the prices on the website and TripAdvisor are lower. We hadn't been shown to our treehouse yet but, after querying with Patricia and her insistence, we paid. We were then asked to confirm that we had read and understood the printed and laminated copies of the house rules which essentially focus on the responsibility of the guest to keep all valuables in a locked “safe room”. Reading through the negative reviews on this site, I now see why.

We were shown to our treehouse by a lovely member of staff (Emmanuel?). To say we were underwhelmed would be an understatement. The treehouse is basic - the sort of thing we've consistently paid 2000-2500 kes (including breakfast!) for elsewhere. It's literally just a double bed in a very damp (you're in an open forest) room, only slightly larger than the bed, with no fan up a steep ladder with no steps, just rungs (great fun with backpacks!).

We decided to drop our bags and go for a walk to the beach. We walked through the Flamboyant hotel to access the beach. While making our way through, we met Wayne, the owner of Flamboyant and Stilts. He welcomed us to the hotel and checked we had settled in okay - we explained we hadn't had a chance to look properly as we'd just dropped our bags to come to the beach.

During our time on the beach, we decided we'd rather look for accommodation elsewhere. Being on a tight budget for a two year trip, and having been in East Africa for months now, we've got a reasonably good idea of how much we should be paying for accommodation and can't afford to be ripped off.

We got back to Stilts at lunchtime (within two hours of checking in) and let Patricia know that we had decided to check out and find somewhere else to stay. Patricia was unable to do this so she called Wayne. He arrived to discuss why we were leaving - we explained Stilts is too basic for us and also mentioned the incorrect prices online. He said the website was made by someone else so he can't change the prices (??).

This was when the purpose of taking money upon arrival became clear. After accepting that we were leaving, Wayne tried to withhold US$17 / 1700 kes of our money for the inconvenience of changing the sheets. Now we appreciate that, even though we hadn't touched the bed, there is a hygiene requirement to change things for a new guest. If the place had been busy (we didn't see a single other guest) or if we'd taken the last treehouse (all of them were empty) we'd have understood the need to pay for loss of potential earnings. To attempt to charge us for changing the sheets, however, seems pretty opportunistic and $17 is just extortionate. Do you really think the staff are paid that much or that washing powder or water is that expensive?

Eventually, after much grumbling and a really unnecessary call for Patricia to go and strip the bed and wash everything while we were sat waiting for a resolution, Wayne backed down and provided a full refund.

The whole exchange, which we'd tried to conduct civilly, left a bad taste. Fortunately, we found Footprints Guesthouse and, for less money, are staying in a beautiful, new, clean and friendly place instead.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Harriet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We visited at the recommendation of our taxi driver to feed the Bush Babies. The staff were great, especially the owner Wayne who made everyone feel welcome and spent time with his guests. He's done a great job at creating an intentionally relaxed vibe. The 7:00pm feeding of the Bush Babies was a treat and a cool, educational experience. The food was very reasonably priced and very good.

We'd highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi David, It was great meeting you guys. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment and tell other travelers about visit to Stilts. Next time your in Diani please stop by and say hi.

Many Thanks and Safe travels

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 5 nights in a treehouse. The room was nice and clean, there was a net over the bed and functioning wifi everywhere on the property. You cannot store any food in your room because of the monkeys but there is a bar and a restaurant. Good thing is that you can use the pool that belongs to another hotel/restaurant close to the beach. The staff was excellent, very helpful. We had a wonderful time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Katerina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WayneToronto, Owner at Stilts Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Hi Katerina,
Thank you so much for your comments. We love hearing from our guests and are so glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope we can be part of your holiday once again in the near future. Safe travels and Thank You again

Best Wishes
Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Diani Beach hotels
0.8 km away
Diani Sea Lodge
Diani Sea Lodge
#7 of 29 in Diani Beach
520 reviews
6.2 km away
Kusini Beach Cottages
Kusini Beach Cottages
#24 of 29 in Diani Beach
30 reviews
3.5 km away
Diani Backpackers
Diani Backpackers
#3 of 72 in Diani Beach
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Footprints House Diani Beach
Footprints House Diani Beach
#4 of 72 in Diani Beach
33 reviews
0 km away
Bidi Badou Beach Resort
Bidi Badou Beach Resort
#28 of 29 in Diani Beach
5 reviews
15.1 km away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#3 of 29 in Diani Beach
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stilts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stilts Backpackers

Address: Diani Beach Road, Diani Beach, Ukunda 80401, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Ukunda > Diani Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Speciality Lodging in Diani Beach
Price Range: S$33 - S$52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*****SEE RATES BELOW***** Our accommodation consists of 5 Tree Houses and 3 cottages and a camping area. As well as a Restaurant/Bar and Lounge area where we have Bush Babies visit us every night at 7:00pm. The Tree Houses are built out of native materials off the ground in the tree canopies, they do not have their own bathrooms. The rate for the Tree houses are: Single Ksh 1,800 per night, Double Ksh 1,400 per person per night and Triple Ksh 1,000 per person per night.Camping is Ksh 600 per night with your own gear or 1000 with our tent mattress and bedding included. The cottages have their own bathrooms and Fans, still basic but part of our surroundings. The cottages are Single Ksh 3,000 per night, Double Ksh 1,800 per person per night, Triple Ksh 1,400 per person per night and 4 people Ksh 1,000 per person per night. Cheers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stilts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stilts Backpackers Hotel Diani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing