We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third review”
Review of Casa de Cris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa de Cris
Ranked #1 of 11 Cavelossim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oldhan England
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Third review”
Reviewed 28 November 2010

This is our third consecutive year at Casa De Cris, and our 25th or so visit to Goa, I have reviewed the last two visits, but there are perhaps additional bits to add that I missed out previously.
As before everything was as we wanted, friendly staff, clean room, and good value for money. Having read some of the other reviews I feel that they sometimes focus on things which really don’t mean an awful lot. For example barking dogs!!, they don’t bother me much but I would be interested if anyone can point me to any Hotel in Goa that can be guaranteed bark free, although I guess that may be the case in the 7 star super luxury hotels but I for one wouldn’t pay the $300 dollars a night for the privilege.
Not mentioned is the bread man, who comes down the street on his bicycle at 7.30am honking his little horn to announce his arrival, better than my alarm really and more reliable.
Thanx again to all the staff, who do all they can to make you feel welcome, and thanx to the three Barretto brothers too, James the playboy who runs the Casa De Cris and Beach Bar, Mike the Cool who runs the sister hotel, across the street, Mikes Place, and it’s beach bar, and last but not least Captain Steve, who has a tremendous hit on his hands with the twice weekly boat cruise, which as a relaxing day out, with fabulous food and drink is simply unbeatable.
As I may of said in the last review, the street on which the hotel is located is a dead end, although there are a number of restaurants on the street which give it a vibrancy which makes sitting on the balcony with a beer in the early evening, before venturing forth, watching the world go by, a real pleasure.
Yes there is relatively loud music each evening from the restaurants, but it’s not really intrusive and the main point here is, it stops ay 11pm, not on days when they feel like stopping but every evening, so the street without any passing traffic is quiet from the 11pm music turn off to the 7.30am bead man (apart from the odd amorous dog)
Enjoy Casa De Cris, but make sure you are a in tune with Goa and then you will enjoy the whole thing a lot more

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fishenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    18
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
67
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

my partner and i have been to goa a few times and stayed at different hotels, but casa de cris was far the best, good location, friendly staff and helpful, great rooms, with kettle cups etc and fridge. we have booked again for 3 weks in feb 2011 and we cannot wait to go back. great dining at mikes place, especially bettys and joe's cove, and the beach shacks are great too. we would deffinately recommend casa de cris its much better than donna sylvia and half the price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at Casa de Cris last March and have to say it was a really lovely hotel and we were made to feel really welcome from the second we arrived.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable, spotlessly clean, with the best air con i have ever had - could get really quite cold even though it was boiling outside.
I have never felt so relaxed at a hotel - we were always greeted by smiling faces and nothing was too much trouble.
It is perfectly located, near to all amenities and a short walk to the beach.
We are going back next March - really can't wait!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Rooms were clean although it did smell a little damp. Paid 2500 rupees for a room on the ground floor. Over the road from Mikes Place who also own Casa des Cris. Can be quite noisy at night with the kareoke going on till late.

Beware getting a taxi from the hotel, the prices quoted are so overpriced

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonmackam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Having always stayed in upmarket accomodation and 5 star hotels in Asia which cost a fortune, I was persuaded by friends when they found out I was going to Cavelossim to stay at Casa de Cris. Although they hadn't stayed there, they had seen the smart two storey building and heard that the roomks were nice. A couple of years ago I stayed In Baga at the Ronil Beach Hotel and spent a fair bit of money for a 4 star hotel which was basic. For those of you never having been to Goa, even the best hotels are quite basic, unlike Thailand or Malasia where they are palacial.
Anyway had a look on Trip Advisor and decided to give it a try. Best decision I made. E mailed James - one of the Baretto brothers and booked nearly a year in advance.
Arrived very early in the morning and didn't have to worry about hanging around waiting to get into a room. Tony, the young man who takes care of all of your needs during your stay was waiting for us, and carried our heavy bags to the room, which was large, clean and bright . It was on the second floor, which is actually the top floor, and had a smallish balcony which was fine for two. The front facing rooms have larger balconies but no other window.Our room, 208 was on the corner of the building so we had a window and a balcony which made the room nice and bright. We could overlook two small streets which was good as there's a good atmosphere in this area at night.. No worries about noise, all entertainment finishes at 11 pm, but hopefully you won't be in bed that early. .
The bed is massive, Has a huge bathroom with shower, TV, Air Con, fridge and safe.
The room was nicer than ones I have seen at the Holiday Inn or Hati Mahal and all this for 2500 r a night, about £35.00.
I wouldn't describe it as a hotel, more of a family run guest house. The rooms were cleaned every day and the towels and beds were also changed. If you like a soft fluffy towel take your own as the towels are a bit hard, but this isn't unusual, it's the way there laundered.
Breakfast was served 20 metres away in Mikes restaurant - another brother - and was perfectly adequate to start the day. At night the restaurant has a great buzz about it and the food is superb.
Off to the beach, 5 mins walk to James' Beach Shack where the food in my opinion was the best on the beach and the boys who work there are really nice and helpful. There's about 15 shacks on this part of the beach. Mike also has a beach shack which is on another part of the beach nearer the Holiday Inn. You could walk from James shack to Mikes along the beach in about 20 mins.
They arrange fishing trips and cruises for you and we did both. The crabs we caught in the River Sal were cooked for us at the shack. The 5 hour cruise took you onto the sea to see the dolphins then back to the river for a lunch of huge prawns and kingfish with salad and curry while cruising the river spotting all the exotic birds and wildlife on the river banks. Two guys sung and played the guitar and had us all joining in after we were a bit tipsy with the constant flow of alcohol. All of this for £10. Thanks to Stephen - the third brother who runs the cruises.
All in all, had a fab holiday and met a lot of nice people who we met at the shack or they were also staying at Casa,. All of the brothers couldn't do enough for you and they're all good looking especially you James !!!
Don't spend loadsa money, go to Casa de Cris. Am about to book for Feb next year.
Thanks James, Mike and Stephen for making our holiday special. See you all soon x

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elly57Lanark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavelossim
0.3 km away
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
Karma Royal Haathi Mahal
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
904 reviews
1.8 km away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,248 reviews
0.2 km away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Dona Sa Maria
Dona Sa Maria
#6 of 10 in Cavelossim
209 reviews
1.8 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,524 reviews
8.1 km away
Joecons Beach Resort
Joecons Beach Resort
#3 of 14 in Benaulim
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de Cris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de Cris

Property: Casa de Cris
Address: Mobor Beach, Cavelossim 403731, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Cavelossim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Cavelossim
Price range (per night): $47 - $74
Hotel Class:1 star — Casa de Cris 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Casa De Cris Goa/Cavelossim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing