We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Booking.com
View Deal
US$157
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vilamar Hotel(Luz)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Oasis Beach Apartments(Luz)(Great Value!)
US$378
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveller rating
87
64
35
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
64
35
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden poolself cateringpalm baythomas cook repfully fitted kitchenfamily holidaylate dealthese issueslovely apartmenttennis courtscafes and restaurantsbuilding workplenty of sun loungerslocal supermarketeverything you could possibly needwatersidebedroom
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 213 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017 via mobile

Second time we’ve been to Luz, and we love it. Fantastic beach, brilliant restaurants, lovely people and a great little village. I’d go every year, but my child would like to visit somewhere else, fair enough, but I’m sure we’ll be back. It’s pretty sleepy so not for everyone, but just 5 km away is lively Lagos. The apartments we’ve had on both occasions have been fabulous. So Ocean Club and Praia De Luz are both highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We stayed in a lovely two storey villa , plenty of room and all the mod cons . Superb views of the beach front . The complex is spread over streets and has two separate swimming pool areas . We "camped" at The garden club pool complex as it was closest to our villa. Lou the lady on reception was very friendly and welcomed us warmly . We had teenagers with us and they didn't get bored ( Wi-Fi at pool area for them ) the pool area was clean and the pool was lovely to swim in . The snack bar was clean and tidy . I would be happy to take our young granddaughter to this complex . Only thing I would pick up a little TLC needed to some of the outside areas , but nothing that spoilt a relaxing Holiday . Would stay there again .

Room Tip: Garden club pool area was preferable
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andyportman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Stayed at Luz Ocean Club 12-08 -2017 to 19-08-2017.

We are a family of 2 adults and a 6 year old and a 3 year old.

On arrival at the resort we found the staff to be friendly and helpful and our apartment to be ready which we thought to be good as it was still only around 10:00 in the morning. Our apartment was Block 6 5D. On arrival at the apartment we found it to be clean but our first impression was that it was tired and ready for refurbishment of both the bathroom and kitchen areas, i think this resort block was built sometime in the late 80s and it would appear it hasn't had much work / money spent on since that time, basic decor was also in need of some work as paint was coming off the wall in the children's bedroom. After 3 nights myself and my wife moved from our bedroom and slept on the lounge sofas for the rest of our stay due to Ants crawling over the bed they appeared to be coming from a wall mounted light fitting and crawling down the wall and onto the bed frame.
We found it poor that the cleaners only visited once in our 7 day stay on day number 4 which we believe to be normal for the resort, we thought this to be not enough visits and for example i don't think i should really be supplying such items as toilet paper or dustbin bags in what i was sold as a serviced apartment the same as a serviced hotel room, we also found ourselves washing our room towels as they were not being changed as we had expected nor were the bedding.
The apartment was equipped well enough for us to do some cooking when required and all the equipment worked as expected but as stated above all is ready for replacement / update.

We found the swimming pools and pool side bar area excellent at our Waterside Gardens location but we could tell that resort used to be more active than it now is, its a shame that the owners of this resort don't make more of what they have as would have been the case when it was under the ownership of Warners Group.

The location of the resort is excellent only being 5 too 10 mins walk from the beach front / restaurants although not for people who have trouble walking up hills and only a couple of minutes from the local supermarket.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

I agree with a few comments that the overall property looks to be needing some investment. I sense they might be struggling slightly financially. The "adult only" pools that was there a few years back is closed, the old reception has been closed and in general it could do with a bit of attention. There is a gym, but it is properly rubbish. However, it is great place for a chilled out holiday in a really really nice small town. You don't get to chose the apartment, but if you do....number 46 was excellent. Great location, near the pool (one of two that is open), supermarket. Amazing quality, helpful notes left by the owners around the apartment (which is on two levels) with beautiful view out to the sea. Great Wifi, which was an essential for us if we wanted the kids to stay for a week. Despite the new reception now being "consolidated" the people managing it were really helpful, not that you need much help. I suspect the glory years might be past, but this is still a great place for a weeks holiday. And whoever owns number 46....you have a great place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

I have just arrived home after a stay at Luz Ocean Club . Our apartment was just behind the Mill area.
The apartment needed some TLC it was all a bit drab, it could be really pleasant. We hadn't intended to do any cooking, if we had the kitchen was very poorly equipped. The gardens are well kept .
The whole feel of the Mill area , around the pool and the bar, is that of neglect. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
However the pool and the bar closes at 1900hrs.
A walk down to the seafront revealed some really nice resturaunts and bars , but it is a bit of a walk and some of the roads are steep.
Make sure before booking that the accomadation is right for you.
I don't think I would go there again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are a distance from the beech area , check the location before you book
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews