We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place but needs better publicity”

WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre
Ranked #2 of 23 things to do in Llanelli
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre is a 450 acre mosaic of lakes, scrapes, pools, streams and lagoons adjoining the salt marshes and shore of the scenic Burry Inlet. Whether you're a serious bird watcher or just looking for fun and relaxation, you can have a day of discovery whatever the weather. Hand feed birds from all over the world, watch the fabulous flock of Caribbean flamingos and discover hidden treasures such as little egrets, kingfishers, dragonflies and butterflies and look out for elusive water voles. Seasonal activities throughout the year including pond dipping, minibeast hunts, crafts and canoe safari and bike trails during the school summer holidays.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent a couple of hours wandering around the Millenium wetlands and then went to the smaller ponds close to the visitor centre. Apart from the school parties in the visitor centre, I saw only eight other people during my visit which surprised me as it was a glorious summer's day. With wonderful views of the Loughor estuary and the north coast of Gower, it really is a place well worth a visit. As it's quite a difficult place to find, it really does need more publicity to bring in the visitors.

Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTLlanelli, Public Relations Manager at WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us, Rob. We really appreciate your feedback! As one of the area's major visitor attractions, we welcomed over 70,000 people to our centre last year and our numbers continue to rise, which is fabulous for Llanelli, WWT and our important ongoing conservation work. On your visit, it was a hot weekday in term time so we wouldn't expect a huge number of visitors. The centre can also feel deceptively quiet as our outdoor site is sprawling and spacious (as you know).

In terms of publicity, we do our utmost to advertise our wonderful centre and charity. You will find us in magazines and newspapers, listed on websites, engaging on social media platforms, displaying on digital ad screens, and working with schools and other groups. Our big summer radio campaign has also started across several local stations, so please listen out for us!

We're also trying to get new roadsigns but this is with the council...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"pond dipping"
in 34 reviews
"canoe safari"
in 17 reviews
"duck"
in 15 reviews
"bird watching"
in 10 reviews
"wild birds"
in 12 reviews
"bird food"
in 9 reviews
"the reserve"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 22 reviews
"bird life"
in 8 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 11 reviews
"lovely morning"
in 5 reviews
"salt marsh"
in 4 reviews
"craft activities"
in 4 reviews
"staff volunteers"
in 4 reviews
"visit regularly"
in 4 reviews
"summer holidays"
in 7 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 9 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited recently as a group of 20 ladies. After a very enjoyable coffee and cake break and a warm welcome from Anna and staff, we had a delightful walk around and were pleasantly surprised and what lay around every corner. Sadly we were en-route elsewhere but, all agreed that a return visit is a must. Beautiful view from Tower reached by steps but no disabled access.

Thank reeve793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTLlanelli, Public Relations Manager at WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review! It sounds like you had the full WWT Llanelli welcome from Anna and her delicious cakes!

We're pleased to say that most of our site (the parts where visitors can safely go) is fully accessible to people of all levels of physical ability (including the hides) and we have mobility scooters available to loan should your group need one. The tower is inaccessible to wheelchairs and people with poor mobility, unfortunately, but we are always looking at ways to improve our facilities.

Please do come back soon, there's plenty more to see and do!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sadly the day we chose to visit we had that awful fine drizzle most of the day. It was quite overcast as well as breezy too having said that we still had a great day.

Plenty of birds to look at and feed which I especially enjoyed and I'm a nearly 50 year old!! . The site is well set up with resident birds as well as the wild ones. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The cafe was very nice and the food good, it was lovely to see the activity on the huge feeders from there too. Everything was clean and tidy too.

We spent all day here. It's a lovely place to visit , well set up ad managed. If only they could have organised a dry day for us!! We have been to other Wetlands but this would be amongst my top 3. All the staff we had dealings with throughout the day were polite, friendly and helpful which added to the experience.

Thank kingdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTLlanelli, Public Relations Manager at WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review. We can't control the weather (sadly) but pleased that the aspects of your visit we could control were to your liking. Please do come back again soon to see what else we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a lovely day here yesterday. It is a beautiful, peaceful site with a abundance of wildfowl & birds. It was lovely to see so many young only a few days old, especially the 3 baby swans. There is a collection of wildfowl from around the world, many are endanged species. The paths are well signposted, it is easy to find you way around. There are many hides overlooking various lakes so that you can view the wild birds. The tower is worth a visit as it gives a wonderul view over the wetland centre & the estuary beyond. Wiggly wood is also fun to walk through! Will definitely visit again.

Thank avalonsophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTLlanelli, Public Relations Manager at WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a great review, we really appreciate your feedback! It is such a special time of year and the young birds are a real treat for the soul. Please do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1st time we’ve visited and not disappointed. Plenty of wildfowl to look at and feed. Easy walking even for mildly disabled people. Great fun feeding and watching the wildfowl close up. Staff very friendly and helpful. Cafe very nice, food good. Some may consider it a little expensive but considering the profits go towards maintaining this beautiful site I don’t think it’s excessive. Keep up the good work. We’ll be back next time we’re in the area

Thank Neil0757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WWTLlanelli, Public Relations Manager at WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for this, Neil. Really appreciate your feedback and thanks for recognising that the charity needs support to maintain our special site.

Most of the site is fully accessible to wheelchair users and people with mobility issues. We're pleased to say that we also have mobility scooters available to make life a bit easier.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre also viewed

Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
Llanelli, Carmarthenshire
 

Been to WWT Llanelli Wetland Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing