We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$77
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/22
Agoda.com
US$59
View deal
PricelineUS$81
Hotels.comUS$68
HurbUS$86
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveller rating
689
617
342
211
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
689
617
342
211
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room steam railway roll top bath lovely hotel both nights bottle of prosecco strathspey railway loch garten four poster bed single room a bit tired night break couple of nights enjoyable stay bed and breakfast short break aviemore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2022

We visited this beautiful building last night. We were staying nearby in a country lodge and chose this as our special night out meal.
There were 12 of us and we arrived bang on time for our 7pm reservation. We had pre-booked our meals. As we walked in, my daughter and I were lagging behind (parking issues) and looked like we could have been dining au deux! As we followed the 'hens' through to the restaurant we passed an older guy (manager perhaps?) who said to a young waiter "you're going to have fun tonight"!
This, I felt, was very disrespectful and completely inappropriate.
We sat for a good 20minutes before a drinks order was taken. For the duration of our time there, this was the only drink we were offered!
Our meal arrived, we ate, we finished, we sat....and sat.....and sat. Finally, fed up, I asked the waiter to clear our plates and then dessert was finally served.
One order never arrived while another had a dirty plate.
My daughter was incensed with the service and overall lack of care for our table.
We were never asked if everything was ok, barely looked at throughout our visit.
A complaint was voiced to the blonde assistant manager who was lovely and very disappointed in our treatment by her staff.
We were offered a complimentary drink as compensation but declined.
Our desserts were taken off our final bill. This was the least they could do.
Our few days in the Highlands was absolutely wonderful....the only blip was our 'one meal out'.
This hotel needs to seriously look at staff training. That said, the food was lovely.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank X5418BNsandral
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2022

Thank you very much for choosing The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

All the comments we receive are of great value for our continuous improvement and we have proceeded to share yours with the management team in order to review these internally and establish the necessary measures, working to improve our guests' experience.

I am sorry to hear you did not receive our usual standard of service while you were with us. We loved having you here and we are sad to see you leave this way. We know that we are capable of offering much more than what you have unfortunately experienced and we would love to have another opportunity to welcome you back and offer you this time the unique, pleasant and unforgettable Boat Inn experience we like delivering and you deserve.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2022

Stayed here several times over the years and always been happy but we were left disappointed after our recent stay in a garden room..
Generally tired looking with ancient stained carpet, the bathroom had black mould all around the bath and the toilet was not fitted properly to the floor so leaked constantly, not at all pleasant on bare feet.
Sound proofing is bad, the couple next door were having an argument and we heard every expletive then the female was locked out of room by partner and spent til 5.30 in the morning knocking on door and wandering around hotel. Why was there no night porter or member of staff to deal with the situation?
Certainly put me off returning.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Evelyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I shall address the issues with the room with a member of our maintenance team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2022

We visited this hotel on 2 occasions while on a self catering holiday in Boat of Garten.
First occasion was for a late afternoon aperitif. Service was very poor inattentive and the bill was staggeringly expensive, especially mixers etc.
Second occasion was for an al fresco lunch (to give them a second chance). We were a party of 4 and tried to order / attract the waiters attention, not just once, but 3 times. He completely ignored our effort. It wasn’t as if the place was that busy, but it is basic staff training, at lest to acknowledge some is trying to get you attention.
Anyway we simply up and left the place, without ordering!
NEVER TO RETURN.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Service
Thank DACordiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2022

We do apologise that both of your experiences at The Boat Country Inn were unpleasant. Our aim is to give the best possible service to our guests at all times. Thank you for your honest feedback - management will look into this matter.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2022 via mobile

Staff were great, hotel was a bit tired and needed updating, bathroom needed modernising and a bit disappointed that we couldn’t get a coffee at 2110 on a Sunday evening. Hotel was in a great position but was in great need of a bit of an upgrade but it didn’t have much competition

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. I shall pass your comments to the managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2022 via mobile

Just returned from a 7 day sabbatical touring the highlands and have to state this property was the pick of our week “up north “
As it says on the tin springs to mind but customer service/ interaction second to none throughout my stay.
Young girls both Isla and Charlie were fab throughout my stay:
Even more was Shelly who we were welcomed by her on arrival.
Such a natural who engages./resonates with guests
I am in the hospitality industry also, look after her otherwise I may steal her from you.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Voyager51132166768
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2022

Thank you for your feedback. It is always lovely to hear members of staff have gone above and beyond and shall let the ladies know you appreciated their efforts. It was a pleasure to be your host and we hope you can make a return visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews