We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$70
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$76
View deal
Trip.com
US$65
View deal
PricelineUS$73
Hotels.comUS$76
TravelocityUS$76
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,965)
Filter reviews
1,965 results
Traveller rating
673
613
338
210
131
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
673
613
338
210
131
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden room steam railway roll top bath lovely hotel both nights bottle of prosecco strathspey railway loch garten four poster bed single room a bit tired night break enjoyable stay couple of nights bed and breakfast short break aviemore
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,965 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2022

Booked the rooms via phone with Shelly on reception, very pleasant and helpful. Accommodation in the garden room area, dog friendly, was ok, shower not great but a minor gripe.
The staff for our evening meal were pleasant enough. Then following our order for starters and main, we received both at the same time, no breather in between. We gathered with the area being full the quicker we were out the better for them. We never spoke up as Harry, possibly the owner, made our minds up we best leave, did not feel relaxed with him around. His manner is awful.
The following morning for breakfast, again staff pleasant apart from Harry. This man comes across poorly and has no time for people, I feel for the staff who make a great effort, as he makes no effort to make you feel remotely welcome.
The food is way overpriced, both breakfast and evening meals were of poor quality, and overpriced.
Very disappointed overall, food and cost paid to stay here are way overpriced, we won’t be back.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank M9879VBterrya
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Dear Terry


Thank you very much for choosing The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers.

We are genuinely happy to read that you found the accommodation pleasant in the garden room, and that the service you received from Shelley on our front desk was helpful.

However, allow us to express our concern regarding Harry. We don't have such a person working at this establishment and is definitely not the owner of the company.

All the comments we receive are of great value for our continuous improvement and we have proceeded to share yours with the management team in order to review these internally and establish the necessary measures, working to improve our guests' experience.

We loved having you here and we are sad to see you leave this way. We know that we are capable of offering much more than what you have unfortunately experienced and we would loved to have another opportunity to welcome you back and offer you this time the unique, pleasant and unforgettable Boat Inn experience we like delivering and you deserve.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2022

The boat is in an excellent spot to explore the local area where there is plenty to do for those wishing to see the ospreys or cycle/walk.
The staff were friendly and welcoming and very helpful with our questions. All facilities were clean and of a high standard.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judithmW6654RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Thank you for the lovely review Judith.
We look forward to you visiting us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2022 via mobile

I will admit that some of the reviews on here concerned me, so much so I cancelled my original booking.

We tried several places in Aviemore and could not get a table and ended up coming back here.

I wish I hadn’t bothered going to all the hassle as The Boat was a great wee place.

They were accommodating at short notice to find us a table with my 3 year old and had a great menu for him and for us. There was a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and the staff were attentive.

When our courses came they were piping hot and really beautiful.

Thank you for a lovely, unexpected evening.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Excursion58879676674
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2022

Thank you for your positive feedback and we are very happy that you and your family felt welcome, and enjoyed your meal here at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

We had a nice stay at The Boat Inn. The room was spacious and clean, breakfast and dinner were good. I would like to emphasise particularly one lovely gesture on behalf of the head waitress: as we are used to having continental breakfast - eating cheese in the morning - the head waitress kindly provided us with some albeit it was not part of the breakfast. What is more, we did not have to ask again: with a friendly attitude, she brought us something close to continental every morning. That was very nice of her!

Two things to notice though: we did not have bedside tables and reading lights in our room. I would strongly recommend that the hotel managers fix that.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank erdeng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Thank you very much for your kind review. It was only a pleasure having you stay with us.
Regarding the bedside tables and lighting - this shall definitely be raised with the necessary persons.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2022

we have been staying at The Boat intermittently since 1993! it is our base for our annual pilgrimage to the Spey. the hotel has, IMO, never been better! Magda is running a tight ship and the care and attention to details shows. The staff were especially friendly and helpful this year, (not that they aren't usually), and the one big change we noted was the quality of the food and the menu. we tried almost everything available and it was all good, particulate mention of the Cullen skink and the Thai red curry. but a wide range should suit most folks, and GF and vegan options highlighted.
room was standard double, but adequate space and facilities and most of the bathrooms have recently been upgraded with large walk in showers.
the hotel was busy as always, but staff always on hand. Wi fi coverage good even in bedrooms. 2 car parks; usually full as trade is brisk!

Room tip: personally, I like being at the back of the hotel, its quieter. The garden rooms are lovely.
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 628philipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Magdalena Mazurkiewicz, General Manager at The Boat Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2022

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We look forward to you visiting us again in 2023.
So glad you enjoyed your time with us.
Have a lovely weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews