We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$372
Fully refundable before 15/06/23
No prepayment needed
Expedia.com
US$369
Fully refundable before 15/06/23
No prepayment needed
Vio.com
US$280
Hotels.comUS$369
PricelineUS$372
TravelocityUS$369
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,298)
Filter reviews
1,298 results
Traveller rating
604
336
159
101
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
604
336
159
101
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea the ground floor evening meal an overnight stay lovely room beautiful grounds poster bed a lovely stay birthday treat library bar full scottish breakfast yogurt fountain wedding castle edinburgh ballroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,298 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2023

Delightful stay for two days/nights near my childhood home for a recent birthday treat. Room was large and airy, very comfortable with lovely view over the grounds and river. Staff very friendly & accommodating, especially Rachel on reception & Isabel in the restaurant. Dinner menu a bit limited (the haddock was superb) and the wine list is quite expensive. Certainly good value for money - recommended. My wife adds "this hotel is amazing - one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. I have only the loveliest, kindest things to say. Will be back."

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review. The team will be delighted to know their warm welcome was noted and we really appreciate the kind words from you and your wife. We hope to see you here again soon. Best wishes, Melville Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2023

Afternoon tea x gift for my birthday and it was a total let down.
Hotel was cold we were given a very average afternoon tea with dry sandwiches and mediocre cakes. And we were ignored after the delivery of the tea and just felt we were in the way. Certainly won’t plan on returning. And feel I cannot let the gift giver know how disappointed we were.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank GMWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Hello. We're sorry to hear your afternoon tea experience was disappointing, but thank you for taking the time to write a review and let us know. We've forwarded your comments to upper management so they can look at improving the service, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime soon. Best wishes, Melville Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2023

We purchased 2 vouchers on the hotel website for “dinner,bed and breakfast + bottle of wine each night” at a significantly lower cost than the usual room price. If we had paid full price for the room, we would have been incredibly disappointed.

The castle and surrounding grounds are truly beautiful and we received warm and friendly greetings on arrival at 12pm. As our assigned room had already been cleaned, we were lucky enough to be able to check in earlier than usual. We stayed in room 003 (junior suite) for 2 nights, which we felt that for the usual price, had a number of cosmetic issues:

Pros of room:
- very spacious room
- Comfy large bed

Cons of room:
- missing headboard
- Ripped curtains
- Missing curtain pelmet with a strip of Velcro where pelmet should have been
- Paint peeling in bathroom behind radiator
- Paint splatter on staircase in room
- Broken artwork behind sofa
- Dated bathroom in need of modernisation
- No fridge in room

Evening meals were good, but the service in the restaurant needs improving. The staff were all very friendly but appeared to lack direction and service felt chaotic and disorganised. We were initially given “the wrong menu” for the d,b&b offer and this error was only picked up after we had ordered starters. Stuff were very apologetic and advised that we wouldn’t need to change our choice of starters but that there would be surcharge for ribeye steak (£20pp.) Mistakes happen and we were very understanding of this.

On check-out at roughly 10am, as there was no one on reception, I had to hunt down a member of staff in the very busy breakfast room (I would advise you breakfast as early as possible to avoid the later rush). The general manager then appeared in a very flustered state to check us out. He handed over an invoice for £116, which was obviously a surprise to me (we were only expecting to pay the £40 for the steaks). I asked the manager to help me understand where these charges had come from and he was unable to do so. He just kept saying he would “look into it, investigate, and call me later” to discuss. I politely explained that I wanted to settle the matter before I left and I queried that perhaps the menu confusion had caused the unexpected charges? The manager then laughed out loud and then stated “this is not a surprise, they keep doing this..” Those words from the general manager speak volumes in my opinion. I left after paying the £40 as expected, but am still clueless as to why they tried to charge £116.

All in all, we had a pleasant stay for what we paid. The hotel itself has great potential, but for a 4 star hotel, we do feel that improvements need to be made. Unlikely to return in future.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kyle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Hi Kyle, thank you for choosing to stay with and for writing such a thorough review. It's great to hear you enjoyed the look and location of the castle and the warm welcome from our staff. Nevertheless, thank you for sharing the aspects of your stay which you thought required some love and attention. Ensuring our guests have the best experience from the moment they arrive to the time that they leave is a top priority, so please allow us to apologise for the confusion you experienced on checking out. We hope to welcome you back to the castle in the future. Best wishes, Melville Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2023

After reading the reviews we were looking forward to spending my birthday weekend here. The castle/hotel was lovely. Room very clean & authentic. We went for our complimentary drinks in the library bar, this was nice and the room was cosy. There wasn't a bar tender and you had to ask the reception lady each time you wanted a drink. The bar was littered with empty unwashed glasses ? We went for our evening meal.....the young waiter started to tell us what the specials of the day were but he admitted he couldn't pronounce one of them - so still don't know what it was ! We ordered a nice bottle of wine....waited asked again...when the young waiter eventually brought it he slammed it on the table....how unprofessional. Our food was very nice but the service was very poor. My hubby did mention it to a waitress who came at the end of our meal. She was very apologetic and said she wouldn't charge for the wine which was a nice gesture. Breakfast time we were asked for our room number and we waited to be asked if we wanted tea/coffee/toast....no we were invisible......waiter kept walking past and we couldn't get his attention. We left..... A lovely venue but the service certainly let's it down.....a few table manners/training required without a doubt. We won't be returning.

Date of stay: February 2023
Thank Janie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2023

Hello Janie. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your room and the chill out areas within the hotel but we're sorry you felt let down by the service you received by our staff. We're always working on improving our guest experience, and providing a warm welcome is very important to us, so please feel assured that your comments will taken on board. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your husband back again sometime soon. Best wishes, Melville Castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2023 via mobile

Beautiful Castle In Stunning Grounds .

Check in was very welcoming and smooth ( by the assistant manager who’s name escapes me) just the correct amount off information given for our visit without being overwhelmed.
Room was as expected, true old castle style. Lovely and clean . Beautifully warm and cozy. Didn’t eat in the Castle as we were meeting friends close by.
Had a night-cap in the incredibly well stocked bar which was exactly what we needed at the end of the day.
Had a fabulous nights sleep and then enjoyed a hearty perfectly cooked breakfast. The young chap who looked after us was very attentive and had a great sense of humour which we appreciated.
Check out was , like check in, extremely smooth preformed by Emma who again like the assistant manager was a pleasure to deal with .
Would definitely recommend this stunningly beautiful Castle .

Room tip: Lots of parking in front of the castle. Lots of places nearby to visit and so close to Edinburgh
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bigboab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helen Laing, Marketing at Melville Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2023

Huge thanks for your five star review. We are delighted your stay with us was so memorable. We pride ourselves on our warm, friendly and professional customer service and will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team.
We hope to welcome you back to Melville Castle in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews