We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch”
Review of The Castle Inn

The Castle Inn
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Congleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Description: Situated just outside of Congleton on the edge of the Staffordshire Moorland countryside and the last country pub in Cheshire, The Castle Inn is the very best in matching great food and great drinks without losing the feel of a great pub.
Restaurant details
Description: Situated just outside of Congleton on the edge of the Staffordshire Moorland countryside and the last country pub in Cheshire, The Castle Inn is the very best in matching great food and great drinks without losing the feel of a great pub.
Reviewed 14 August 2021

Stopped in for lunch (sandwich) after a walk. Lovely sandwiches, fresh ingredients, nicely prepared and presented and really friendly service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank sumeh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2021

Called in with husband and two kids after a hard day of decorating at home. Kids had burgers, husband pie and I had the Sunday roast which was delicious. A tower of roast dinner loveliness with loads of roasties, veg and hot gravy. It was amazing and I polished off the lot. Everyone else also enjoyed their meal. There was a pleasant ambiance and we will come again. Many thanks.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheshirehousewife01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2021 via mobile

A delicious roast dinner. The staff are friendly and welcoming, especially Sophie and Alice. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank BobB000000223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2021

We had the steak and ale pie with stilton. the best we've had - a big portion which I finished off. Our favourite pub. Would recommend anything on the menu. The food is absolutely exceptional.

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Badbeef22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Kadie and Sophie were excellent hosts - we were a family of nine and we sat out the back on two picnic tables in the shade with our little ones and two dogs. We were made very welcome - nothing was too much trouble. The meals were all beautifully presented and delicious. Wow. What a find. Starters, two rounds of drinks and mains all for under £165. Definitely recommend - hope to be back one day.

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Connector308676
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Castle Inn also viewed

 
Congleton, Cheshire
 

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.