We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sofia Sea View(Pwani Mchangani)
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Waridi Beach Resort & Spa(Pwani Mchangani)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Waikiki Zanzibar Resort(Pwani Mchangani)
US$51
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$52/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Silver Sands Beach Hotel(Pwani Mchangani)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
The Dhow Club, Zanzibar(Pwani Mchangani)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surfescape Village - Zanzibar(Pwani Mchangani)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mchanga Beach Resort(Zanzibar Island)(Great Value!)
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pwani Vanilla House(Pwani Mchangani)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Villa Kipara(Pwani Mchangani)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
638
278
55
26
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
278
55
26
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barmain restaurantindian restaurantstone townour honeymoonlow tideafrican stylevillage walksoupsseafood platterstar fishwater poloa la carte restaurantsrooms are largehigh priceseddy murphywater shoes
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Let me preface this review with the caveat that the previous 5 hotels I stayed at during this trip were 4/5 star level. This hotel is listed as 5 star on the web, so naturally, 5 star service, cleanliness, etc., was expected.

We arrived at Neptune and were met with a friendly greeting, but it rolled downhill from here. We arranged our stay through our travel agent, and when the front desk couldn't confirm our reservation, they demanded that we pay a $500 deposit to secure our rooms. We refused. After some discussion, they began to prepare our rooms and asked us to wait until they were ready.

We decided to find our way to the light fare/bar area to wait for our rooms, which was teeming with people. We were told at reception that if we wanted to eat at one of the restaurants for dinner, we would need to make a reservation ourselves so we did. Now, for a 5 star resort, I would think they would do that for you but not here (at the previous 5 star resort we stayed, they made the reservations for us...). Some members of our group went back to reception to find out if the rooms were ready and received one set of keys for a room. We made our way there, and walked into a room that smelled like urine. That was off putting, to say the least.

Finally, it was lunchtime and we made our way to the buffet. We were hungry, but weren't exactly excited to eat after we saw flies swarming the pasta and grill stations. That kind of killed the desire to eat, but hunger usually gets the better of you so we went in the cooked food area to get some food. It was mediocre at best, and again, considering the 5 star rating, we were disappointed. After this, we went back to our one ready room, and called to ask for the second room's key. We called twice and still did not have someone bring us the key. Finally, someone came and gave us the second room key, after at least one hour. Mind you, the room had been ready for that amount of time.

It was a rainy day so we stayed at the room for a bit before deciding to return to the bar area for drinks. We requested four glasses of wine and two of them arrived in plastic wine glasses that were scratched and dirty. Naturally, we did not drink them.

After this series of disappointments, we notified our agent of our feelings about our stay. It was finally dinner time and we were able to get our own reservation at the Thai restaurant on site (we were grateful that we didn't have to brave the buffet). This was the only positive experience from our stay there. Food was good, service was good. Our agent notified the hotel manager of our experience and he came to speak with us at dinner. He was polite and pleasant, and apologized for our experience. He understood why we were disappointed, but asked us not to share our experience on TripAdvisor. We couldn't guarantee that to him because we felt it was important to share our experience with the faithful readers of this site. On our way back to the room, an attendant showed up with two bottles of wine for us. Now, I imagine that this was a peace offering but we would have been happier if our service had been 5 star from the moment we arrived vs. receiving wine as an apology.

Needless to say, we would not recommend that anyone looking for a 5 star experience stay at this resort. If you're open to a 2/3 star experience, manage your expectations and stay here.

*NOTE: We have family in the travel business in Dar Es Salaam who informed us that when the resort was run by 'the Italians,' it was a true 5 star experience. It is now run by the locals and the service has declined as a result.*

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amitabobita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear valuable Guest,

Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences. We have forwarded your correspondence to the relevant departments.

However, please find some clear facts. Facts you also see on the internet and during your booking. Check in Time is 14h. When you arrive before we are always happy to release rooms when available. In your case the rooms were not available and normal check in time is valid. To give critics on this is totally unfair. If you go to your hotel in Dar Es Salaam you refer at, you will exactly experience the same. We do not serve wine in plastic glases as we simply have no plastic glases. It is also very unfair that you told the management you were very happy with the wine and the extra attention but that you still feel need to use the social media to express your personal frustrations. This, anonyme, without your picture, without your name or address. We have a very professional team working daily to make all our guests happy on the spot and we do succeed very well in this. The resort has 6 restaurants to offer a full variety in case some food you do not like. The main restaurant, the Italian, the Thai, the Indian restaurant and the snack restaurant are at no extra cost. You ask this in your next stay in a 5* hotel in Dar Es Salaam, give it a try, you will get an extra bill for every meal and every drink. It looks like you are very wrongly informed and you just want to harm our reputation. Feel free to give me a call at any time to discuss this in person: +32471340389. I will be happy to hear from you and to know who you really are.

Yours faithfully,

Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I cannot say enough about how fantastic this hotel is. I just got back from spending 3 days there with a large group (around 100) and the entire staff was unparalleled in attentiveness and friendliness. The facilities were kept clean and well-maintained. The food was incredible with many options and flavors to choose from. There were many activities available to participate in such as swimming, kayaking, and volleyball. The activities and games provided were also great for the kids in our group. Overall, 10/10 experience at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank emsanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We were 2 couples and we stayed there from 6 to 16th of may 2017. The resort is very,very nice, very clean and with a beautifull beach. What impressed me the most were the people. They just make you feel like in paradise. The food is very good and for all kind of tastes. They have daily activities like voley, aerobic etc and entertainment program after dinner.
The beach boys didn't bother us. They were very nice and they respect you if you told them to leave you alone. The best bartender was Amour and the best waiter was Geoffrey.
We bought a trip from the beach, from Eddy Murphy(this is the name of the company) and we were very pleased of what they offer.
If you want a special vacation this is the place to be.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Otilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences. We have forwarded your correspondence to the relevant departments.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We've just got back from a wonderful Easter week at the Neptune Hotel. Do not let the weather forecast scare you, we had wonderful days of sunshine and a few very brief and refreshing showers on two days quickly gone to make room for more sun.

The room was great, the bed comfortable, the cleaning ladies did a wonderful job.

Food was delicious, we ate at the Indian restaurant, where everyone was so warm and welcoming, we loved Helene. The rest of the days we went to the main restaurant because honestly its just so good, and varied every day, I am not much of a meat eater and there was also plenty for me. My son loved being spoiled by everyone in the restaurant and especially by the pasta man.

I didn't try all the cocktails but enjoyed a few Pina Coladas and they were lovely.

Every night there was a show to enjoy, during the day there is some entertainment too but I don't think it gets as much attention as it deserves as everyone is busy sunbathing or at the bar. I particularly enjoyed the yoga class.

There is a nice lady where the toys are who would be happy to entretain your children if unlike mine they are happy to run around with a new face.

On the beach, as someone mentioned, of you don't want to buy stuff just say that and you will be left alone pretty quickly, I found the locals really nice, happy to just chat with you or to leave if you are not interested. I asked one of the guys 'King' to show me around the village next door, it was nice to see real Zanzibar, totally recommend taking gifts (pens, books, toys) to the hundreds of kids that live there. 'Mango' gave my partner a tour on the beach when there was low tide, totally recommend it too, he took great photos.

The hotel also offers pretty decent tours. The only thing I found a bit pricey was the spa.

Overall, go, relax, take a book, talk to the locals, take mosquito repelant, take sea shoes and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nana140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017

Room- Perfect match as per the expectations. Detailed cleaning and well kept. A few painting polishing though needed which can add a cherry on cake.
There was a issues on mosquitoes. The management takes care to keep it under control; however this brings a bit of discomfort. if you get capture this please!

Food- Ample options on full board and gets a good serving. However the monotony in the selection on Breakfast and the Table d hote menu in the speciility restaurant makes it boring after a while. I suggest there should be a buffet in the specility restaurant as well. Taste wise, service and attenttion is 10 on 10. Expectation is over a bit of more variety to ensure attention. Eg. live counters, breads and breakfast.

Service- Polite and friendly. No complaints- Kabisa!

Maintenance- Clean pool, neat beach and good plantations. However the hotel beach needs a little attention on the weeds and insects.

General- Good kids area! A suggestion to keep ongoing certain activities to keep the kids entertained.

Rest is perfect! Looking forward to visit your other properties soon!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zabirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences. We have forwarded your correspondence to the relevant departments.
Kindly be informed that the hotel beach is perfect clean and nice. The beach you refer at is one of the worlds most beautiful public beaches in its natural environment. Having 6 restaurants in a resort with only 154 rooms offers a lot of food variety so this feedback is rather strange. On top, there are theme nights in the main restaurant and the breakfast is a full breakfast buffet offering different choices for every day.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews