We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2017

Amazing experience! The staff are fabulous and cannot do enough for you. We loved every minute. 4 different restaurants to choose from and then the never ending drinks and snacks -a few kilograms heavier!!!! Rooms were well maintained and clean. The reception are very helpful and although we forgot our mosquitio repellent, within half a day of request it was available - thank you. The boutique prices were reasonable which was a surprise and the staff were super friendly. We were never harassed by the "beach boys" and found the beach staff who constantly were on hand to serve and assist fantastic. All in all a wonderful and memorable holiday. Thank you Neptune Pwani and Zanzibar. Amazing country and fantastic people. We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a private balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank arumchine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2017

Let me preface this review with the caveat that the previous 5 hotels I stayed at during this trip were 4/5 star level. This hotel is listed as 5 star on the web, so naturally, 5 star service, cleanliness, etc., was expected.

We arrived at Neptune and were met with a friendly greeting, but it rolled downhill from here. We arranged our stay through our travel agent, and when the front desk couldn't confirm our reservation, they demanded that we pay a $500 deposit to secure our rooms. We refused. After some discussion, they began to prepare our rooms and asked us to wait until they were ready.

We decided to find our way to the light fare/bar area to wait for our rooms, which was teeming with people. We were told at reception that if we wanted to eat at one of the restaurants for dinner, we would need to make a reservation ourselves so we did. Now, for a 5 star resort, I would think they would do that for you but not here (at the previous 5 star resort we stayed, they made the reservations for us...). Some members of our group went back to reception to find out if the rooms were ready and received one set of keys for a room. We made our way there, and walked into a room that smelled like urine. That was off putting, to say the least.

Finally, it was lunchtime and we made our way to the buffet. We were hungry, but weren't exactly excited to eat after we saw flies swarming the pasta and grill stations. That kind of killed the desire to eat, but hunger usually gets the better of you so we went in the cooked food area to get some food. It was mediocre at best, and again, considering the 5 star rating, we were disappointed. After this, we went back to our one ready room, and called to ask for the second room's key. We called twice and still did not have someone bring us the key. Finally, someone came and gave us the second room key, after at least one hour. Mind you, the room had been ready for that amount of time.

It was a rainy day so we stayed at the room for a bit before deciding to return to the bar area for drinks. We requested four glasses of wine and two of them arrived in plastic wine glasses that were scratched and dirty. Naturally, we did not drink them.

After this series of disappointments, we notified our agent of our feelings about our stay. It was finally dinner time and we were able to get our own reservation at the Thai restaurant on site (we were grateful that we didn't have to brave the buffet). This was the only positive experience from our stay there. Food was good, service was good. Our agent notified the hotel manager of our experience and he came to speak with us at dinner. He was polite and pleasant, and apologized for our experience. He understood why we were disappointed, but asked us not to share our experience on TripAdvisor. We couldn't guarantee that to him because we felt it was important to share our experience with the faithful readers of this site. On our way back to the room, an attendant showed up with two bottles of wine for us. Now, I imagine that this was a peace offering but we would have been happier if our service had been 5 star from the moment we arrived vs. receiving wine as an apology.

Needless to say, we would not recommend that anyone looking for a 5 star experience stay at this resort. If you're open to a 2/3 star experience, manage your expectations and stay here.

*NOTE: We have family in the travel business in Dar Es Salaam who informed us that when the resort was run by 'the Italians,' it was a true 5 star experience. It is now run by the locals and the service has declined as a result.*

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amitabobita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Dear valuable Guest,

Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences. We have forwarded your correspondence to the relevant departments.

However, please find some clear facts. Facts you also see on the internet and during your booking. Check in Time is 14h. When you arrive before we are always happy to release rooms when available. In your case the rooms were not available and normal check in time is valid. To give critics on this is totally unfair. If you go to your hotel in Dar Es Salaam you refer at, you will exactly experience the same. We do not serve wine in plastic glases as we simply have no plastic glases. It is also very unfair that you told the management you were very happy with the wine and the extra attention but that you still feel need to use the social media to express your personal frustrations. This, anonyme, without your picture, without your name or address. We have a very professional team working daily to make all our guests happy on the spot and we do succeed very well in this. The resort has 6 restaurants to offer a full variety in case some food you do not like. The main restaurant, the Italian, the Thai, the Indian restaurant and the snack restaurant are at no extra cost. You ask this in your next stay in a 5* hotel in Dar Es Salaam, give it a try, you will get an extra bill for every meal and every drink. It looks like you are very wrongly informed and you just want to harm our reputation. Feel free to give me a call at any time to discuss this in person: +32471340389. I will be happy to hear from you and to know who you really are.

Yours faithfully,

Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017

I cannot say enough about how fantastic this hotel is. I just got back from spending 3 days there with a large group (around 100) and the entire staff was unparalleled in attentiveness and friendliness. The facilities were kept clean and well-maintained. The food was incredible with many options and flavors to choose from. There were many activities available to participate in such as swimming, kayaking, and volleyball. The activities and games provided were also great for the kids in our group. Overall, 10/10 experience at this hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank emsanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

We were 2 couples and we stayed there from 6 to 16th of may 2017. The resort is very,very nice, very clean and with a beautifull beach. What impressed me the most were the people. They just make you feel like in paradise. The food is very good and for all kind of tastes. They have daily activities like voley, aerobic etc and entertainment program after dinner.
The beach boys didn't bother us. They were very nice and they respect you if you told them to leave you alone. The best bartender was Amour and the best waiter was Geoffrey.
We bought a trip from the beach, from Eddy Murphy(this is the name of the company) and we were very pleased of what they offer.
If you want a special vacation this is the place to be.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Otilia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences. We have forwarded your correspondence to the relevant departments.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2017

We've just got back from a wonderful Easter week at the Neptune Hotel. Do not let the weather forecast scare you, we had wonderful days of sunshine and a few very brief and refreshing showers on two days quickly gone to make room for more sun.

The room was great, the bed comfortable, the cleaning ladies did a wonderful job.

Food was delicious, we ate at the Indian restaurant, where everyone was so warm and welcoming, we loved Helene. The rest of the days we went to the main restaurant because honestly its just so good, and varied every day, I am not much of a meat eater and there was also plenty for me. My son loved being spoiled by everyone in the restaurant and especially by the pasta man.

I didn't try all the cocktails but enjoyed a few Pina Coladas and they were lovely.

Every night there was a show to enjoy, during the day there is some entertainment too but I don't think it gets as much attention as it deserves as everyone is busy sunbathing or at the bar. I particularly enjoyed the yoga class.

There is a nice lady where the toys are who would be happy to entretain your children if unlike mine they are happy to run around with a new face.

On the beach, as someone mentioned, of you don't want to buy stuff just say that and you will be left alone pretty quickly, I found the locals really nice, happy to just chat with you or to leave if you are not interested. I asked one of the guys 'King' to show me around the village next door, it was nice to see real Zanzibar, totally recommend taking gifts (pens, books, toys) to the hundreds of kids that live there. 'Mango' gave my partner a tour on the beach when there was low tide, totally recommend it too, he took great photos.

The hotel also offers pretty decent tours. The only thing I found a bit pricey was the spa.

Overall, go, relax, take a book, talk to the locals, take mosquito repelant, take sea shoes and enjoy!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Nana140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEPTUNE H, Director of Sales at Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2017

Dear valuable Guest,
Sunny greetings from Neptune Hotels.
Thank you for your open feedback.
As a part of the leisure hotel industry, we are dependent on our customers' opinions.
We are grateful for their interest and for their sharing suggestions for improvement with us.
Many thanks for letting us know your experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you again in one of our Beach Resorts or Safari Lodges.
Yours faithfully,
The Neptune Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
2.6 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
0.8 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,776 reviews
21.8 km away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
667 reviews
54.3 km away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,074 reviews
43.5 km away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range: $449 - $907 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar Island/Pwani Mchangani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing