We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel found right in the middle of this one horse town”
Review of Ma Johnson's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ma Johnson's Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Stayed here as part of a group. Charming hotel in rustic town. Rooms quite small with shared facilities, but very comfortable and clean. Good restaurants in the street nearby. Friendly staff. Lots of stunning walks nearby and a visit to the Copper Mill in Kennicott is a must!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MittensMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK400400, Owner at Ma Johnson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience in our "One horse town" on Tripadvisor! The ghost town of McCarthy is the real deal. Ma Johnson's Hotel was the Boarding House in town and the rooms are indeed about as small as rooms could be.

We have maintained the integrity of the experience since 2002 when we began our restoration of McCarthy. We love to hear that authenticity in staying at a real Alaskan hotel resonates with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Ma Johnson's. Very clean, authentic and beautiful rooms, decorated as it used to be 100 years ago. Excellent breakfast, with high quality products. Very friendly personnel. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK400400, Owner at Ma Johnson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

H M:
Thanks for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed here just one Thursday night in June, and it was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Alaska. We arrived in the evening and were greeted in the charming and pleasant drawing room by Sven, the young clerk. The room we had was very small but very nice. The hotel only has shared bathrooms, but we never once had to wait to use one.
When we checked in, we mentioned that we had a reservation at the Michelin-starred restaurant across the street, but Sven said in some consternation that the restaurant was closed that evening, as several of the staff in saloon (also owned by the hotel) had taken sick, so the restaurant staff had to cover for them, since Thursday night is Open-mic night, and the place is always packed. But when he saw our reservation in the ledger (the only reservation for that evening), Sven dutifully called the owner, who said that they would provide us dinner.
The restaurant was indeed closed, but the second chef cooked for and served us himself: a delicious three-course meal, including grilled salmon and elk medallions, along with a bottle of Burgundy--all in the middle of the wilderness. Fantastic!
After dinner, we joined the throng of young people crowding the saloon. And I sang a couple of Motown songs (accompanied by the local drummer, Spencer, and trumpet player, Adam), while the dancers sang along. The next day Spencer saw us returning from a hike and came over to hug me.
We had a great breakfast and a wonderful picnic lunch packed for us the next day.
In short, Ma Johnson's and the restaurant and the saloon helped us have one of our most memorable evenings of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Ma Johnson's has a great feel. It is full of history and charm. Just the right touch of laissez-faire makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in the door. The location is perfect. You can comfortably retire to your room or walk out the door and be in the heart of town. Aline is such a gracious host from placing a call to reconfirm the booking to answering all our questions and to upgrading us due to missing lightbulbs. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWRWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay in McCarthy. Lots of history in this Hotel and very charming and cute atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious. Super friendly and helpful staff work here and they make sure you are happy.
My only message is to travellers that stay in these rooms, please be more respectful and considerate with the noise you make going in/out your room or bathroom. People open the doorknob and shut the door 2am in the morning without careful thoughts that others stay here as well and it's shareable. This is not your home. Travellers be more courteous.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ma Johnson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Johnson's Hotel

Address: 101 Kennicott Avenue, P.O. Box MXY, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range: $149 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scenery, Fine Cuisine, and True Alaskan History all rolled into one – Perfect for a weekend gateway!Our accommodations and restaurants are in the very center of the largest protected wilderness on earth. McCarthy is surrounded by more mountains and glaciers than anywhere else in Alaska! Experience the unexpected; unique tasting menus with casual style at McCarthy Lodge. The Golden Saloon offers a hearty menu of family favorites. Our greenhouses provide fresh produce for our restaurants, our Copper River Red Salmon is wild-caught by locals. Best of all, the fully restored Ma Johnson’s Hotel is the only authentic historic hotel in the park. Spend a few minutes in the Golden Saloon and make friends instantly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing