We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
169
62
14
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
62
14
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolden saloonacross the streetthe ownerhistoric hotelboarding housema johnson'sunique experienceice climbingdirt roadother travelerscopper mineopen mic nightpotatoesfoot bridgenational parklobbyneil
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Ma Johnson's. Very clean, authentic and beautiful rooms, decorated as it used to be 100 years ago. Excellent breakfast, with high quality products. Very friendly personnel. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AK400400, Owner at Ma Johnson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

H M:
Thanks for your kind words!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

We stayed here just one Thursday night in June, and it was one of the highlights of our two-week trip to Alaska. We arrived in the evening and were greeted in the charming and pleasant drawing room by Sven, the young clerk. The room we had was very small but very nice. The hotel only has shared bathrooms, but we never once had to wait to use one.
When we checked in, we mentioned that we had a reservation at the Michelin-starred restaurant across the street, but Sven said in some consternation that the restaurant was closed that evening, as several of the staff in saloon (also owned by the hotel) had taken sick, so the restaurant staff had to cover for them, since Thursday night is Open-mic night, and the place is always packed. But when he saw our reservation in the ledger (the only reservation for that evening), Sven dutifully called the owner, who said that they would provide us dinner.
The restaurant was indeed closed, but the second chef cooked for and served us himself: a delicious three-course meal, including grilled salmon and elk medallions, along with a bottle of Burgundy--all in the middle of the wilderness. Fantastic!
After dinner, we joined the throng of young people crowding the saloon. And I sang a couple of Motown songs (accompanied by the local drummer, Spencer, and trumpet player, Adam), while the dancers sang along. The next day Spencer saw us returning from a hike and came over to hug me.
We had a great breakfast and a wonderful picnic lunch packed for us the next day.
In short, Ma Johnson's and the restaurant and the saloon helped us have one of our most memorable evenings of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vaidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Ma Johnson's has a great feel. It is full of history and charm. Just the right touch of laissez-faire makes you feel comfortable as soon as you walk in the door. The location is perfect. You can comfortably retire to your room or walk out the door and be in the heart of town. Aline is such a gracious host from placing a call to reconfirm the booking to answering all our questions and to upgrading us due to missing lightbulbs. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWRWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay in McCarthy. Lots of history in this Hotel and very charming and cute atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious. Super friendly and helpful staff work here and they make sure you are happy.
My only message is to travellers that stay in these rooms, please be more respectful and considerate with the noise you make going in/out your room or bathroom. People open the doorknob and shut the door 2am in the morning without careful thoughts that others stay here as well and it's shareable. This is not your home. Travellers be more courteous.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Traveller2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This is the only "Hotel" in McCarthy, and not going to lie I was apprehensive after seeing photos of the hotel. Photos really do not do this place justice. The staff was extremely friendly, and the hotel was impeccably clean and quaint. The walls inside the hotel display historic findings of all sorts that I enjoyed looking at. A few things to note: 1) If you are a guest at the hotel, they provide a "free" shuttle that picks you up at the bridge (instead of waiting for the shuttle that comes every 15-30 minutes) 2) They do not have plug ins inside any of the rooms, they have plug ins only in the common area 3) There are no keys to any of the rooms, so probably best to leave anything valuable at home (Although I never felt like any of our belongings were not safe).

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank Cshayeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews