We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Neil and McCarththys MaJohnson hotel”
Review of Ma Johnson's Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ma Johnson's Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 June 2007

The Town of McCarthy and specificly the MaJohnsn hotel was one of my greatest travel experiences. The owner and all the individuals associated with his organization were down to earth and extremly helpful beyound just bussines.
I am truly grateful for ending up there by offering a hitchhiker a ride in and found it imposible to leave. You have to experience it for yourself.
Tony C
Atlanta.Georgia

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadrunniner51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 210 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2006

We spent two nights in McCarthy in July 2006 and loved every minute of our stay. Go to McCarthy if you are looking for a hint of life in a small Alaska town and like to get away from everything. We stayed one night at the Lancaster Backpackers Hotel which is less expensive than Ma Johnson's. The Lancaster is perfectly acceptable if you just want a very basic place to stay. (hostel like but with private rooms) Bathrooms were downstairs and shared with others but were perfectly clean and had plenty of warm water. We then went out to the backcountry with a guide for five days and returned to a little more luxury at Ma Johnsons. Depending on your traveling style it may be worth the money for the better linens, nicer baths and quaint lobby of Ma Johnson's but the Lancaster is perfectly fine if you are satisfied with clean basic accommodations. We enjoyed our stay at both places. Either way, have a meal at the lodge. The food was some of the best in Alaska.
We let the rental car prohibition on the McCarthy Rd. scare us and we flew in with Wrangell Mountain Air. Although our flight was great, it was expensive. Next time, we will drive. Everyone says the road is not bad at all.
A visit to McCarthy is not complete without seeing the backcountry of Wrangell St. Elias either on your own (depending on your level of experience) or with a guide. We flew out to a backcountry landing strip with Wrangell Mountain Air (fabulous pilots and planes) and spent five days backpacking in total awe of the vast beauty of the Alaskan wilderness. If you're not up for backpacking definitely opt for a flight see - the glaciers, waterfalls and rivers of Wrangell St. Elias are a sight to remember for a lifetime.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paula191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2006

We stayed at the Ma Johnsons hotel in McCarthy Alaska in July 2006. If you dont know where McCarthy Alaska is, I'm not surprised, but if you like out of the way places with lots of local charm, look it up. The hotel was clean, the room cozy, and the service very freindly and accomodating. Breakfast is included with your room, and is served across the street in the restaurant. The town is only about 2 blocks long, dirt road, and lots of dogs running around, but what a fun place to go!!! We were in Alaska for 2 weeks, we drove 2,400 miles, and McCarthy was definetly one of our favorites!!!

3  Thank debminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego, California
15
Reviewed 3 July 2006

Stayed 4 nights at Ma Johnsons and really enjoyed the entire Wrangell St.Elais / McCarthy experience. McCarthy is a charming old town with dirt streets and an old west style main street. For me it was retro back to the 50's in the mid-west where I grew up. It took us a couple of days to wind down from our multi tasking mentality to enjoying the slower pace of McCarthy, but we loved it. We sat on the porch in the evenings and watched the neighborhood kids ride their bikes and dogs playing in the street. Note there were only 3 kids and 6 dogs, but they had a wonderful time. An old yeller golden retriver had enough and came up and lay down beside me with his ball. So we played ball. The accomodations at Ma Johnsons include period furniture of the time and photos yesteryear. Very laid back and enjoyable. The breakfasts and dinners at the McCarthy Lodge (under the same management as the hotel) are superb. The food preparation and presentation are first rate. After a day of hiking, coming back to a great meal was wonderful. For those day hikes, we carried a lunch prepared at the McCarthy Merchentile which was also 1st rate. The people are friendly and very accomodating. We only wish we could have stayed longer. Wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Weert, Netherlands
13
Reviewed 15 June 2006

Travelling from Valdez to Fairbanks, we took a shuttle from Chitina to McCarthy and stayed there for three nights in the Ma Johnsons Hotel. This was one the best places we had so far. The hotel is from the early (19-)twenties and is perfectly renovated. When entering the hotel, it feels like a leap back in time. This is actually true for the whole town; it was like living in a western town for a couple of days. The owner and personnel of the hotel are extremely friendly and very helpfull. The surroundings give plenty of opportunities for hiking with splendid, scenic views.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ma Johnson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Johnson's Hotel

Address: 101 Kennicott Avenue, P.O. Box MXY, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in McCarthy
Price Range: $149 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Scenery, Fine Cuisine, and True Alaskan History all rolled into one – Perfect for a weekend gateway!Our accommodations and restaurants are in the very center of the largest protected wilderness on earth. McCarthy is surrounded by more mountains and glaciers than anywhere else in Alaska! Experience the unexpected; unique tasting menus with casual style at McCarthy Lodge. The Golden Saloon offers a hearty menu of family favorites. Our greenhouses provide fresh produce for our restaurants, our Copper River Red Salmon is wild-caught by locals. Best of all, the fully restored Ma Johnson’s Hotel is the only authentic historic hotel in the park. Spend a few minutes in the Golden Saloon and make friends instantly. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing