We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The holiday of a lifetime in a spectacular location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Canareef Resort Maldives
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“The holiday of a lifetime in a spectacular location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2017

Prior to your arrival check that the resort has received your flight details of your flight in Gan. It seems they missed our email and this could have been a problem, although for us it was not as there were spaces in the next flight.
From touching down in Gan we could not have asked for better service. The journey in the speedboat across the water helped you to see the resort in its full glory. On arrival we were given a drink and then checked into our villa (we had been given a free upgrade to a Jacuzzi Villa). The villa's are maintained to a good standard, and the wifi was surprisingly very good. With plenty of places to sunbathe both on the terrace at the front or next to the Jacuzzi in the back, you hardly needed to leave if sun catching is your thing. Also you can swim from your own section of the beach into the sea. The air-conditioning was very effective, especially for me as I do not cope in the heat. The villa was extremely clean and the housekeeping staff - who came twice a day - were very helpful. Each time they visited they deposited a 2 litre bottle of water, by the end of the holiday we had quite a large stockpile...perhaps a card asking for water would be a good idea.
We went out of the main season, but actually this worked better for us. Although the resort is in the middle of being improved, it did not affect the holiday. Around half of the resort is mothballed including a restaurant with a pool, such a shame as this is somewhere that deserves to be really thriving...hopefully the long anticipated direct flights to Gan will start meaning that the northern end of the island can finally reopen. Although the resort was quiet, the service was still a very high standard. Going all inclusive is well worth the money, we found it difficult to spend on anything (especially as the included drinks list is extensive - we hardly had any drinks that were not on it, the Canareef Express cocktail was our favourite). The Kihli provides a wide range of food, but if you go for a fortnight as we did then you may wish to eat in the other restaurants to add variety. Much of the food is cooked fresh and the kitchen staff were very helpful, my wife who is a coeliac found their advice very helpful and ate well all of the holiday. Twice we decided to eat in the Meeraa - the food here too was exceptional, my wife had lobster and we shared a bottle of wine listening to the sea under the stars (although not included in the cost, this was something that was well worth the extra). The staff in the restaurants could not be more helpful, Ifan (apologies for the spelling if incorrect) in the Meeraa and Solih (again appologies if incorrect) in the Kilhi really helped to make us feel very welcome, Solih - with his superb sense of humour and local knowledge - really helped us to get the most out of our time in this beautiful resort. The two pools were great to swim in, and we enjoyed playing pool in the Dhoni Bar most evenings. We can recommend the Crab Race at the Dhoni, this evening was a real hoot and helped us to make friends with other guests...shame my crab did not win, but at least I now know how to do the chicken dance. However I think the film shown in the film night should be suitable for the people in the bar, on one night there were children there who were hiding under cushions as the film was more suited to adults.
There are a range of activities in the resort, especially if you wish to do scuba diving. If however like us this is not your thing, then there is plenty to do apart from catch the sun (or burn in my case). One of the real highlights of the holiday (once I had stopped being amazed by the Flying Foxes) was the snorkelling trip. My wife is not a confident swimmer, but she came and with the help of the trip guide boosted her confidence so much that she swam the second time without the flotation aid...getting the chance to see an octopus, Nemo fish (formerly known as Clown Fish), Dory Fish, turtles (which is something I will never forget) and the colourful coral. On the way back we even came across a pod of dolphins who swam with us, previously in the holiday we had also done the 'Lucky Dolphin Cruise' which was also very good. If you want to get off the island then the Addu City Tour is superb, it really gave us a taste of what the islands are like in a safe and enjoyable way. We did also try some water-sports, we enjoyed the fun tubing. Get a bike if not included, it allows you to get around easily and burn off the three course meal you had for lunch and dinner (although if you wish to be really lazy, the buggy service is brilliant).
Overall this was to be the holiday of a life-time and it was. The location was spectacular and the service exemplary. If you want a holiday to remember then this is the place.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi Villa looking into the lagoon, the sea is less fierce and the Jacuzzi is fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnLWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    75
    26
    12
    9
See reviews for
63
131
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vejen, Denmark
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2017

Every thing is like a dream. The resort houses are spacy and nice. Beautyful view from bed to the beach so you can wake up with an impressive view. Tv, minibar ( not used as we were outside all day and had all inclusive), amazing outside private shower. Sunbeds and bicycles also at house. Beach just outside the house feels like a private beach as noone else is there, only people from next house. You need to choose the houses on sunset side as other side of island is not easy for swimming.

  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastwoodDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

The Canareef Resort is absolutely amazing, we flew from Male to Gan which was a bit more than a one hour journey, this was all arranged by the Hotel. Our Villa was very nice and we had a beautiful view from our window, the beds were quite hard but you get used to it after a few nights. Something adventurous was having an outdoor bathroom. One thing that was annoying was all of the small ants that were in the room. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and very welcoming. We booked a private lucky dolphin tour and snorkelling experience and it was absolutely amazing, we saw around 100 dolphins within the first 20 minutes. The reefs were nice but expected them to be a lot more colourful, but definitely worth it. The food was good but wasn't anything special. For an island the prices are quite reasonable. We loved having the bikes that come with the villa, as well as the free buggy rides anywhere. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Not too far or too close to the restaurants
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

We booked this hotel last minute and we were nicely surprised. Stayed in jacuzzi sunset villa, which is on excellent location on the beach. Beaches on this big island are not naturally sandy but were created by lodging of huge amounts of sand to beaches. Staff are exceptionally friendly and polite. Food is not very much to expect from, but still we can't complain. Selection is wide especially if you like Indian and Chinese tastes. We stayed on full board plan and were sadly surprised when we saw that drinks price list was very expensive (picture attached). SPA centre is ridiculously expensive for European budget.
Another nice point is a possibility to travel to local village which is connected by bridge on another island, it was a nice day trip.
Excursions in the resort are reasonably priced and we experienced reef snorkeling on one of nicest reefs in the area. Our guide Mr. Saeed (Didi) was very helpful and handy.
I would also like to commend Mr. Shahmeed from restaurant for his polite and friendly service.
Resort also offers free buggy rides anywhere in the island, it is handy due to he big overall size of the island itself.
Overall this resort deserves its 4* category.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi sunset villas are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjinSonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2017

Great resort to stay at - the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. It looks just like the pictures! The buffet food was great, although could get a little same-y after a week. You can pay for food at the bars outside the all inclusive which is actually a much higher standard. The beaches are very nice but only on the west side - get a sunset villa! There are lots of activities which are however quite expensive - for instance the jet ski package which includes dolphin watching and snorkeling is $400 for 2 for 90 minutes! However, our guide did extend to almost 3 hours and he did make it a really fun personal experience. There are also cheaper group activities which you can sign up for - but they need a minimum number of people signed up to do them so when the resort is quiet it might be difficult! The pools are great and the bars are nice - the entertainment could be improved - was a little quiet for us but this would be perfect for some. The transfers from Male, which are a bit of a pain, were organized very well making it worthwhile to travel down to this southern most island which does seem to have slightly better weather and the resort price seems to reflect that also. The lagoon is large and can be very peaceful - amazing fish and great dive sights. Overall, a really great place to relax for a decent price - only downside was transfers to get there but it seemed worthwhile.

Room Tip: Sunset villas for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimensioner87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herathera Island
11.9 km away
Equator Village
Equator Village
#1 of 1 in Gan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
7.8 km away
Shangri-La's Villingili Resort and Spa Maldives
3.3 km away
Charming Holiday Lodge
Charming Holiday Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meedhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 km away
Equa Reef Maldives
Equa Reef Maldives
#1 of 4 in Hithadhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
13.3 km away
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
Aquaventure Manta Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maradhoo Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canareef Resort Maldives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canareef Resort Maldives

Property: Canareef Resort Maldives
Address: 19060 (Formerly J Resort Handhufushi)
Region: Maldives > Addu Atoll > Herathera Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Herathera Island
Price range (per night): $309 - $1,364
Hotel Class:4 star — Canareef Resort Maldives 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the southernmost atoll of the Maldives, lies the idyllic Canareef Resort Maldives, a 271 villa resort that presents the best the country has to offer. Our island spans 4.5 kilometres, which is the longest island resort in the country. Indulge in the multitude of activities the resort has for you to enjoy. Go beneath the waves, experience our 25 unique dive locations and spot dolphins all year round. Leave your inhibitions at home and 'Step Out of The Blue' with us. Canareef Resort Maldives welcomes you with 271 spacious rooms for your honeymoon, friends or family. Each villa is refined by nature and designed for guests to enjoy the lush natural vegetation of the Island. Our villas consists of 80 Sunrise Villas, 71 Sunset Beach Villas and 120 Jacuzzi Villas from sizes of 76sqm - 97sqm. The Equator Crossing to the Resort would be one of the key highlights of your trip to our Island with your loved ones or friends, as guests get to view breath-taking aerial view of the Maldives expansive turquoise blue atolls riddle in the Indian Ocean. All guests to the Island via domestic flight will receive a personalised Equator Crossing Certificate from the Captain of the airplane. Just when you thought the fun and thrills was about to stop, hold on to your seats and be blown away by a short 10-minute exhilarating speed boat ride from Gan International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Canareef Resort Maldives reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
j Resort Handhufushi Hotel Addu Atoll
j Hotel Handhufushi
j Hotel Addu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing