We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$270
View deal
Hotels.com
FindHotel
US$103
View deal
Free cancellation until 02/06/22
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
EtripUS$103
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
223
114
41
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
223
114
41
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish gan airport white sand sri lanka high season table tennis large amount olympic size swimming pool paddle boards paradise bikes resort island male buggies maldives cycle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

What can I say. Canareef offers welcome value for all of those who want to experience the Maldives but are presented with over-priced resorts.

Went early June which going on past weather records was a good time for clear skies. Have to say this was the case with showers only on one afternoon and true rain only once overnight.

Place was not busy. Probably 40 to 80 guests compared to 400 in high season. Ramadan falling for much of our stay also likely an issue.

No issues getting to Gan. Recommend yoy fly into Sri Lanka and get direct flight run by Sri Lankan. Much cheaper than the rip off choice from Male plus you will get 30kg each as opposed to 20kg from Male - great for dive gear - as well as the chance to see Colombo!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Northern_Baggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

Having booked a late holiday to the Maldives
We arrived at the resort to be welcomed by a lovely lady who set about explaining all we needed to know
We arrived at our villa which was a very nice clean and well kept jacuzzi villa
The whole experience was a delight with the only problem being we were unable to visit other islands because of the corona scare
all staff we fantastic and the spa treatments were second to none !!
To cap it off our villa was situated next to royalty
We had lady p of Sevenoaks and her butler Graham who both made the holiday into a most memorable trip.
We will be returning in the near future

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hastingslodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2020

Amazing stay at Canareef I’ve so much to include will try to keep it as simple as I can. From arriving at Male where we were met by a rep from Canareef to the end of the trip I can honestly say all staff have been amazing. Friendly polite very helpful always smiling would go out of their way to help you for example my luggage was lost they went above and beyond to get this back. This was not their problem the luggage was in Heathrow but they dealt with it and sorted it so thank you. Again we went the the local village and came across Abdul from house keeping he showed us around the village again going above and beyond this is not part of his job nor was he even at work he was on his break thank you very much Abdul such a nice gent. Kevin the manager has been so nice and kind to us helping us with lots of things for example giving us a better bug repellent and also a room upgrade to better accommodate our family. Again not his problem but went out of his way to help us thank u Kevin. All staff are so welcoming they have manners and are all so professional and best of all they are genuinely nice people. The south beach at Canareef is beautiful you the sand is pure White the sea is pure turquoise like you would expect to see in the Maldives the buggy’s can bring you to and from there in a matter of minutes and there is a nice little bar for refreshments which beer soft drinks and some mocktails are included in all inclusive. The private beach area outside your bungalow may not be the best for swimming in however you still can do this it’s just not as clear however it is so peaceful absolutely no one around you can just chill and listen to the sound of the waves with a little breeze most relaxing feeling ever! Dolphin cruise was amazing you see hundreds of dolphins even up close when you go to the front of the boat. The spa was amazing! Look out for deals when you arrive it’s a must. All inclusive consisted of breakfast lunch dinner buffet style, different theme every day for lunch and dinner. very big variety for all 3 meals we have been here 18 days and always had different meals. There’s also many stations each day where things are cooked fresh infront of you fried eggs omelettes pancakes and waffles at breakfast many lamb and beef dishes cooked infront of you for you liking. Nan bread and lots of pastas cooked fresh infront of you to to order. The food is really tasty and never disappoints. All inclusive drinks one beer which was nice one of each wines which were decent too about 7 or 8 different cocktails and mocktails that were delicious pina colada daquari blue lagoon mai tai many more and obvs all your spirits waters soft drinks teas and coffees. Dhoni bar also does a small snack plate at certain time as well. Rooms are beautiful and spacious I would recommend jacuzzi room for a family as it’s a good bit bigger also you have a nice back area as well as front so you could go out there and sit while the kids take a little nap or watch some tv if they are too warm. Rooms made up twice a day you will always have fresh towels and sheets. Entertainment very good although We have not been out late but the band are amazing singers and are very outgoing and fun, the crab race was really good my little boy 2 and a half absolutely loved it was so entertaining and funny. The pools are all clean beautiful and good temperature and toilets around the island very clean. All in the place is just beautiful we have had an amazing time and we have a baby and a two year old with us I can only imagine how much more relaxing this place would be if you were on honeymoon or something. I don’t want my review to come across in a way where it’s too good to be true there are a few of things personally I would change which are all really small kids club would have that grass outside cut down to make it look more appealing as the outdoor play area did actually look nice (nicer than pictures and more modern) only the tall grass put us of as like any tropical place there is bugs. A baby changing unit would be good in the toilets. I’d also do away with one of the cleans a day and have house keeping focus on a bit of a deeper clean or checking out stuff that could be better maintained with the time they would save going back and forward to each place twice and being in each place twice. Not that I think the place is unclean because it’s not just I think that extra time would make an even better standard and clear up any of those fussier reviews with pictures of basic ware a tear. I also think it would be good to put a little brush and dust pan in each room so guests could get on top of the sand they tread in. All in brilliant place definitely would come back can see the management have made a lot of changes from reviews from the past so only go on recent reviews! Also I’ve spoke to a number of different people here and no one has had a bad word to say! Thank you Canareef! your staff are a credit to the island Ickleel, Abdul, Robal all the guys in the bar and Jessica from the band thank you for your amazing hospitality and putting up with us and our children hope to come back soon!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Katmc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

We have 1 more day left on our wonderful vacation at Canareef, will miss this paradise very much.
Beutiful beaches, lots of colourful fishes in the ocean & also some small reefsharks, stingrays, turtles & dolphines.
The lunch & dinner buffé at Kihli restaurant is very tasteful and with a lot of variation & very nice desserts.
Spacious rooms at the sunset side, cleaning of the rooms
twice every day & everywhere on the island it is very clean and tidy.
Very helpful staff on the whole island.
Special thanks to Hassan at Dohni bar & Aslan and Kihli
Restaurant & ”Happy Man” at Meeraa bar for your excellent service.
Wish the whole staff our best and hope the Corona virus will not hit your wonderful island.

Anita Kurucz & Jörgen Göransson(167)

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anitakurucz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2020 via mobile

We arrived tired from a long journey, 26 hours in total. As soon as we where on the island we were welcomed by Samatha, who talked us through the layout etc.
Initially we were a not sure it was what we expected. However, with a good nights sleep and some food we realised how special this island was. It’s probably the opposite of what you may expect from Maldives, stilted bungalows etc, but this is why we loved it, the (Sunset bungalows)look out to the lagoon, just a few steps and you are paddling in the sea. As reviewers have mentioned there is sea grass, which is just like normal grass, nothing to worry about. The lagoon is tidal so sometimes there is more water to swim in than others.
This is the best all inclusive food I have ever eaten. I don’t normally like hotel food, but was really impressed with the choice, quality and freshness. The restaurant staff are all so accommodating and look after you really well. The rooms are cleaned and swept 2 times a day. Our room was a little tired in places, ie it needed a bit of paint in some areas. However, we had nice white sheets, clean towels every day. Great air con and WiFi and a excellent powerful outdoors shower. My husband had a few scuba dives and was lucky enough to see Manta Ray. Overall we had a great trip and thought it great value for money. I would recommend the sunset villas.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank L8477DLsarahf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews