We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$260
View deal
Hotels.com
US$260
View deal
FindHotel
US$104
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Booking.comUS$134
Orbitz.comUS$260
TravelocityUS$260
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
227
115
41
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
227
115
41
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish our waiter gan airport white sand beach bar beautiful island dolphin tour sri lanka gan island high season table tennis jacuzzi villa large amount olympic size swimming pool paddle boards paradise bikes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2022 via mobile

We have just returned happy and relaxed from a10 day holiday at Canareef.

If you want an immaculate and pristine 5* resort then maybe this is not for you.
If you want a good value lovely resort with super friendly staff and good food then it's well worth a visit.

From our arrival to our departure the staff were fantastic and more than helpful with any request.

The resort was really quiet

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank JasonZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 June 2022 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here end of May. Due to covid the island has only been open a few months. We took 3 flights and a speedboat to the island. We arrived late evening and were shown to our jacuzzi room which was amazing. We had sandwiches in the room on arrival. There was a maximum of 8 guests on the island the whole time we was there. We had cycles outside our room but just called a buggy to take us where we wanted to go, it's a long island. We had a couple of massages which were amazing. Due to lack of tourists we had a la carte meals every day. The chef and his team did a fantastic job.
We went on the dolphin tour
also amazing. My husband did a snorkeling tour which he said was great. Staff - too many people I could mention but im rubbish with names, Hassan our waiter each day was great. On our last day he set the table up on the beach, it was beautiful. The lovely staff at the pool and beach bar hated if we got up to order another drink, they're service was really good. A staff member lent me his phone charger coz mine had stopped working. All in all a fantastic holiday

Room tip: Jacuzzi rooms are huge. Take spare phone charger. Beach bar has the best beach and bluest sea
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank St1ffler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 April 2022 via mobile

We recently returned from a week at the Canareef Resort in the Maldives. To say it was paradise is definitely understating the fact.
The trip started by being picked up at Gan airport and being whisked away on a speedboat to the island paradise which is Canareef. White sand, clear sparkling sea water and coral reefs are the first things that greet you as you arrive, followed by staff service that was warm and ultra efficient. Nothing is too much trouble and we felt instantly relaxed and welcome. The accommodation was tasteful and very comfortable with ample room and a beautiful view. The food was exquisite, prepared by a professional and passionate chief. A great selection of drinks and cocktails from the bar and plenty to do including pool and table tennis amongst other things.
The Olympic size swimming pool was like climbing into a warm bath and with tennis court and gym, you are spoilt for choice. We used the cycles provided to get around the island, but a buggy is on call for the less energetic. We found this very helpful when, after snorkeling from the beach, one of the buggies returned both us and our bikes back to our residence.
There are a selection of pursuits on the water on offer, including snorkeling, paddle boards kayaks and a dolphin spotting trip, which we did and saw a large amount of spinner dolphins up close and personal. There is also a well equipped dive centre on the island with a qualified guide.
We had the time of our lives, feeling like we were the only on our own private island. We will definitely visit again, and suggest you do too.

Room tip: Remember your shades,hat and suncream.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4  Thank gezgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 March 2022 via mobile

Friendly and accommodating staff, delicious food and the island is large enough to either cycle or ride a bike.

We spent our last morning on a snorkelling boat trip. The crew were very helpful. We saw stingrays, black tip sharks, green turtles as well as an abundance of fish thanks to our wonderful snorkelling instructor.

We will definitely come again.

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ferriswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Kevin Theseira, General Manager at Canareef Resort Maldives, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2022

Dear Ferriswi,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on our food and your snorkeling trip. We look forward to welcoming you back at Canareef again in the near future. Again, Thank you for choosing Canareef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2021 via mobile

What can I say. Canareef offers welcome value for all of those who want to experience the Maldives but are presented with over-priced resorts.

Went early June which going on past weather records was a good time for clear skies. Have to say this was the case with showers only on one afternoon and true rain only once overnight.

Place was not busy. Probably 40 to 80 guests compared to 400 in high season. Ramadan falling for much of our stay also likely an issue.

No issues getting to Gan. Recommend yoy fly into Sri Lanka and get direct flight run by Sri Lankan. Much cheaper than the rip off choice from Male plus you will get 30kg each as opposed to 20kg from Male - great for dive gear - as well as the chance to see Colombo!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Northern_Baggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews