We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Wonderful”
Review of Mihir Garh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mihir Garh
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rohet
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We booked the Mihir Garh Hotel in Jodhpur, India on the advice of a friends who said it was their favorite hotel of an upscale trip to North Central India. It did not disappoint. We arrived late evening and we were warmly greeted by the elegant owner and his staff. We were
then given a tour of the property. On a balcony overlooking the desert, we met the wife of the owner. Standing in the light of a full moon in a red sari, she made a stunning visual impression. She was just as gracious as her husband. Because this was only our second stay in India, we didn't fully appreciate it until later on. Many of the other guests made it their last stop to wind down after a long trip. Whenever you stay there, the architectural and decor details, the beautifully prepared meals, the old world hospitality-- the staff genuinely cares that you have a perfect experience makes it a top boutique hotel of the world.

I will return to Jodhpur. I will look forward to a second stay at to the Mihir Garh.

Room Tip: it's all perfection plus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

Had a truly amazing and magical time here that we will remember forever.

The photos don't do it justice - as as well as getting our own beautiful suite with working fireplace and plunge pool, we found there was a lawn, a library and other gorgeous places to hang out.

The hospitality of the manager (and esp the lovely Omar) was unreal, we still talk about them now!

Lovely thoughtful touches, the local musicians playing at dusk, the cookie jar in the mini bar, the copies of Indian Vogue in our room....

Great mix of Indian, Rajasthani and western food, and fantastic massages, but the highlight was the trip to the local village - full of lovely friendly people

Can't imagine there would be a single person on earth who wouldn't love it here!
can not recommend enough, seriously WOW! x

Room Tip: we saw a couple of the rooms, they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yemisi_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

We stayed one night in this haven of tranquility in the middle of the desert. I have rarely encountered such impeccable, seamless service, and since there are only nine suites, each guest has ample space both within the room and outside in many a lovely nook and corner. Definitely recommend catching a sundowner while looking for local fauna to emerge in the landscape around. The design is beautiful and pays tribute to skilled local craftsmanship. Try to get one of the rooms with a jacuzzi as the plunge pools are too cold to use during the winter months.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roksanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We originally wanted to stay only one night in Mihir but finally decided to extend to 2 nights.:)))
It is really remoted, with hardly some Internet :(, but it is actually what you are looking for there. You are looking for: luxe, calm and voluptuousness.
The rooms are huge and the private heated swimming pool facing the nature is gorgeous.
The hotel have only 9 suites, which is great if you want to avoid the crowed of the big Indian palaces. Hence it is perfect for a couple in quest of romantism or for people looking for remoted place that combine luxe.
The all meal included is a great formula regarding the remoted situation. And actually you are not limited on the food and everything is good.
Finally the staff is really kind and help you fell at home.
Many thanks.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavyParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is a totally special place and like the previous reviewer was also a highlight of our 3 week trip to India.

We arrived to the sight of the fort like property in the middle of the desert – although the Thar Desert is quite lush and not barren as you normally think of deserts. We were greeted by Varun and the staff and were immediately treated like friends and told to treat Mihir Garh like our home. Firstly we sat in the lounge area by the pool whilst Varun ran through things - there are basically no rules and everything is adapted to suit our needs from the meals we want to where we eat them.

When we were shown to our suite I was speechless. It was truly beautiful with wonderful furnishings all in keeping with the area and with modern touches; there was a sitting area with a mud and glass mirror fireplace made by the local women, a huge squidgy bed looking out over the deck to the desert beyond and a perfect bathroom with luxuriating tub and separate shower. This really was heaven. The deck outside had a plunge pool but it was way to cold to use in December. My lasting memory was getting up early to watch the sunrise from our deck with only the sound of the peahens and the birds playing in our plunge pool - totally magical.

The food we ate was top notch and plentiful. On the first night we had drinks by the pool whilst local musicians played and then we ate dinner in the beautiful dining room. The next night we had dinner in our suite as we wanted to make the most of it and also wanted to relax and watch a movie.

We did the jeep safari to the Bishnoi villages and although I was a bit worried it would feel odd with Western tourists gawping at local villagers, I couldn’t have been more wrong. The owners of Mihir Garh work alongside the local villagers and they all help each other so, we were welcomed by everyone and it was an incredibly interesting few hours.

Mihir Garh is not a cheap place to stay but, it was absolutely worth every penny and after 2 nights the husband and I felt totally relaxed and ready to finish the rest of our tour of India. If you are travelling in the area you really must stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LesleyAnn44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rohet
14.4 km away
Rohet Garh
Rohet Garh
#1 of 2 in Rohet
513 reviews
9.0 km away
Fort Chanwa
Fort Chanwa
#1 of 1 in Luni
232 reviews
39.2 km away
Hotel Inn Season
Hotel Inn Season
#31 of 99 in Jodhpur
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.6 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Hari Mahal, Jodhpur
39.0 km away
Park Plaza Jodhpur
Park Plaza Jodhpur
#18 of 99 in Jodhpur
730 reviews
28.4 km away
Ravla Bhenswara
Ravla Bhenswara
#2 of 4 in Jalore
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mihir Garh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mihir Garh

Address: Rohet | Dist. Pali, Rohet 342001, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Rajasthan > Pali District > Rohet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rohet
Price Range: $764 - $2,638 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mihir Garh 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of those afternoons, I stumbled upon a treasure. “Mali Nathji ka Dhora”, the sacred dune dedicated to the Warrior God in Marwar was a place of breath taking beauty. Sprinkled with historical importance and mythology, this dune seemed to speak to me. Many happy days passed by as I sat there, mesmerized, watching the perfectly choreographed dance of the shrubs and the gentle desert winds. When I would head home, a wondering would accompany me, “How do I share this precious gift with others?” While growing up, the question answered itself. In fact, it became an image. How would it be to build a fort here, an elegant brown structure, which would look as if it has emerged from the desert itself? One of those evenings when Rashmi, my wife (and soul mate), and I were standing at the dune and soaking in the splendid sunset, inspiration struck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mihir Garh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mihir Garh Hotel Rohet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing