We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good lunch near lovely walks” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bridge Inn

The Bridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Amberley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Traditional country pub with food.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Good lunch near lovely walks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016

Took my mother here for lunch yesterday having seen the TA reviews. I pre-booked a table in the bar, given we had her retriever with us. Not having visited before, I was impressed with the rustic yet smart decor, and the attractive front terrace. It looked well cared for. Service was prompt, friendly and efficient. We enjoyed a chicken curry and a chicken saganaki, both from the specials board. Both meals could have done with some extra seasoning (I know there's a tendency to worry about salt content but some things do need it). However nicely presented and good quality. We also enjoyed warm choc cake and toffee banana pancake desserts, plus 2 soft drinks, and the bill was £40 which is quite reasonable in this area.
Following our meal we took the dog for a walk along the river amongst the butterflies - lovely. A very nice afternoon and would happily return.

  • Visited July 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    100
    20
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Shame this place is not more local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

Have visited this place more than once after returning from Portsmouth watching my team, Goodwood or generally walking the beautiful Southdown's.

Every time the service has been great. Have only ordered off the general menu, but it's typical pub food cooked to a high standard and well priced after loosing your shirt at Goodwood races. Set in lovely surroundings it gets busy but if you haven't experienced The Bridge Inn it's a must if you are in the area.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nice. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Stopped in by for a few drinks and something to eat. All good was lovely, but my Cesar Salad was particularly good. Really nice staff and cute pub, arrived unannounced and plenty of table space.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy pub grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

I've been going to this pub for several years now and I can't get past the scampi, chips and salad on the menu as it's just DELICIOUS! And generous platefuls. Seriously, I have tried other things..the homemade fish cakes are great and the rib racks too. The whitebait are good also. The menu doesn't change much but it doesn't need to. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. By the way, the people who own the pub also have the cottage accommodation next door! Both places are at the foot of the South Downs, so a great break to walking the Downs, but are also only 5 mins walk from the train and to Amberley working museum.

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch stop with dog”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2016

We found this welcoming pub after being unable to park at the other pub in the village (popular for walkers of the South Downs Way). We were walking the Way for charity, and having a back up driver with car, were able to go a little way off the route of the Way easily for lunch. So glad we did! The staff were incredibly welcoming, allowing us to sit in the bar area to eat with our dog, even bringing out treats for her. We had thick doorstep sandwiches and a large bowl of chips and I was very impressed with taste, presentation and quantity. Would highly recommend this pub.

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bridge Inn also viewed

 
Arundel, Arun District
 

Been to The Bridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing