We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wellesley Resort Fiji
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2017

The resort is in a secluded location. Gardens are beautiful, beach pristine clean,pool area fabulous and food delicious. As the Wellesley is an adults only resort, the pace is slower and quieter. Areas of the resort have been upgraded. Bathrooms are in need of an upgrade but always clean. Rooms are spacious with air conditioning and fans.
We were on a 3 meal per day plan and found the menu to be varied, absolutely delicious and plentiful. Well done to the new chef who was still in training.
Manager was friendly, helpful and delightful. The staff were obliging, efficient, friendly and beautifully Fijian.
Taxi from Nadi was $135. There is no shop at the resort so make sure you bring plenty of sunscreen, insect repellent and snacks etc.
A great resort to unwind and forget about stress.

Room Tip: All rooms have garden views. Some rooms were in the process of getting private pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 56amethyst10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We appreciate the time taken to provide a review on your stay at the Wellesley Resort. It really is quiet and beautiful - so nice having an Adults only result on the Coral Coast. We have brand new pool villas now and many upgrades along the way - we have been busy these past 6 months! If you'd like to come back and see us we offer exclusive direct deals for our return guests - simply drop us as email for the best rate guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2017

It took me a little while to realise what a little gem this is. Its accessed by a roughish dirt road but our hired corolla make it fine. The air con was broken when we checked in but were promptly moved to another room. The resort itself is gradually being renovated but the rooms are comfortable spacious and quiet. Alongside the jungle the gardens and pool are lovely, and it's an easy stroll down to the beach for decent snorkelling and swimming. A short walk to the next resort along the beach if you feel the need. Snorkel gear and kayaks were available to loan. We found an 'all meals included' package which worked out very well. The food was good and a reasonable variety. They are happy to work with gluten and dairy free needs as long a you are a bit flexible. Wine list is short but OK - Just. Spirits and cocktails were also available and the drinks prices are reasonable. The small restaurant soon creates a friendly atmosphere with guests sharing their stories of the day. The Fijians are always happy to please. The staff are mainly from the local villages and some are just getting started in the workplace so be prepared for Fiji time. It doesn't take long for Fiji time to get into your system here. You will leaved relaxed and with new friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor showers and that there will be rooms with their own plunge pool under constr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenya_J121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We appreciate the time taken to provide a review on your stay at the Wellesley Resort. It really is quiet and beautiful - so nice having an Adults only result on the Coral Coast. We have brand new pool villas now and many upgrades along the way - we have been busy these past 6 months! If you'd like to come back and see us we offer exclusive direct deals for our return guests - simply drop us as email for the best rate guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I am not normally one to write an extensive review but having read such varying reviews I have tried to cover all aspects of our trip below in the hopes it might help people:
- to get there from Nadi airport we took an airport taxi for 150FD as we thought this cheaper than the hotel offered service (160FD), which was about 2.5-3 hours long because unfortunately our taxi driver got lost
- track to the resort from the main road ~5-10 minute careful drive as quite rough, both our taxi drivers complained bitterly about this
- We got the Sunbeam bus back to the airport at the end - 9FD each for ~2 hour journey
- secluded spot - absolutely beautiful scenery - lush forests, palm and coconut trees, colourful flowers, with a beautiful clean pool, sun loungers, short stroll to the beach
- our room was an executive suite, which was comfortable, well equipped and clean, served our purposes perfectly
- food was delicious - good range offered considering the small kitchen, with a lot of fresh fruit and Fijian produce
- Recommend full board
- Unfortunately me and then my boyfriend both got D+V for 24 hours which took us a couple of days to recover from. It seemed that 4 or 5 other couples also became unwell in a similar way, as did a member of staff and our taxi driver also commented that his family were unwell and that there was a 'fever' going around Fiji - so I suspect this was a virus rather than food poisoning/unhygienic kitchen
- some activities offered - one kayak had missing paddle so only one useable, reasonable snorkelling gear, swimming, organised walks from the gardener Sabir - hill top walk with views, Mangrove walk, coconut tasting etc
- there is a spa which offers massages, facials, manicures etc. Good value with specials
- Extensive drinks menu (cocktails) - perhaps would be good to put drinks menus on tables, as I didn't realise they had such an extensive list until I went to the bar towards the end of the trip
- Has a beach bar though often not open, serves soft drinks and beers
- we had planned to get the bus to Suva but as we were unwell we didn't have the energy for a 2 hour bus journey!
- WiFi expensive at 10FD for 1 hour but didn't use it as didn't mind being isolated from technology for a week
- You can go along the beach 5 minutes to Crusoe resort to organise scuba diving and on the way encounter the local village with a shop of souvenirs and locals who will organise half day trips to a nearby waterfall, village tours, meals and snacks - very friendly people who are making the most of tourist trade which seems reasonable to me - but be aware you may spend more than the experience is really worth (ie we went to the waterfall for 150FD for 2 people, which at home we could have done for the price of fuel - however without a rental car we would never have been able to, and we got a lovely tour guide (Kuki) and the admission fee has gone towards making a picnic, changing room area and sturdy walk for visitors

All in all I think this was a lovely, relaxing trip in a stunning location.
If you want 5* luxury, 24 hour reception, utter convenience, then this is not the place for you.
If you are independent and able to enjoy peace and quiet, a book, the company of your travel companion etc then this is a wonderful place to do it.
My experience of Fiji was that it is laid back, slightly haphazard, and I liked that the resort was close to the village so we were able to explore a tiny section of Fiji.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for providing a detailed review on your stay. We hope that you'll come back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

After a two-hour car journey costing $150 FJ, we turned on to a 4km dirt track though the jungle leading to a small 15 room resort. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, with very noisy aircon preventing decent sleep. A pleasant and small pool. 5-min walk to a sand/gritty beach not great for swimming. Any snorkelling is too far, for all but a very strong swimmer. Food at the restaurant was basic and stuck in the 70's, as was the country music on a constant loop - there's only so much Dr Hook you can listen to.

Activities are pretty non existent. Wifi is $10 per hour but is intermittent and slow at best. There is one other small resort close by which serves great cocktails but reports from the guests there were not great.

There is one small shop in the 30 house village, 5-mins walk, which we went to for the best food available even through a tropical squall, as there are no other options.

We had three days of rain and the enforced capture was enough, so we moved to a hotel in Denarau.

If you are looking to be completely cut off from the outside world then this could be for you. Other than the friendly staff there was nothing great about this resort. We left after 4 days despite having paid for an 8-night booking.

Needs a call a complete overall and better working with Crusoes - will not be returning.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Family_of_6Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for sharing your views on your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay fell below your expectations. The snorkelling is fabulous and peaceful on our beach typically. We have a brand new catering team who rotate our menu regularly - we've also updated our music collection since you last visited! Our guests usually adore the Wellesley - I think any resort can seem not so grand after 3 days of continue rain - what bad luck! I hope you reconsider and come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Wellesley for three nights of solitude and doing absolutely nothing.

Few things to note:

1. The hotel is about a 2 hr ride from NAN Airport. I used Fiji Shuttle and found them to be reliable and affordable. It was only US$38 one-way. At the airport, they will advise what time they will pick you up from the resort - based on yr departure time.

2. If you're driving yourself to the resort, rent a vehicle that can traverse an unpaved road. Once you turn off the main hwy, it's about another 10 minute drive to the resort.

3. Come w/ the expectation that you will do next to nothing here - which is a good thing. Wifi is available near reception, but I didn't bother to use it as I wanted to be off the grid. Each room does have cable TV however.

4. There are a few activities available such as snorkeling and diving as well as PADI certification - call Alex to make arrangements. Otherwise, if you're keen to do anything else, speak to reception and they can accommodate. Well spent our time on the grounds and either hiked around the area (there's an uphill hike that affords a lovely view of the beach and a village) or laid out on the white sandy beach.

5. Meals are included - except the hot options during breakfast. However, the prices aren't that expensive - especially if you're using the greenback. We had a lovely and quite filling, fish cake served on a bed of rocket salad w/ chili sauce as well as Fijian beer-battered fish and chips (priced at FJ$19.00).

6. The rooms are quite spacious and include a queen bed, living area, A/C, flat screen TV, fridge and kettle w/ coffee and teas. Each bungalow has its own shower but is located outside (which is quite fun showering "in the jungle"). Towels are included.

7. The staff are all quite lovely and be sure to say bula to them. One of the groundskeeper even invited us for an afternoon of coconut drinking (straight from the source!).

Don't expect Sheraton or Shangri-la standards at Wellesley. If that's what you're looking for, go there. The charm of Wellesley is it's small, secluded and provides a break away from the world (in every sense possible).

There's a great spa onsite too. Again, prices are quite reasonable (US$50 for a hydrating massage). We also chatted with the lovely proprietor and she gave recommendations on what else to see in Fiji.

I'd recommend Wellesley but, again, don't expect chain standards. That's the beauty of this remote place.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

What a lovely balanced review. Thank you! We now offer exclusive, unbeatable rates for our return guests so be sure to get in touch directly and we will look after you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korolevu
24.7 km away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
985 reviews
11.0 km away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,730 reviews
5.3 km away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
70.0 km away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
45.5 km away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
15.8 km away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#2 of 4 in Korolevu
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellesley Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellesley Resort Fiji

Address: Namaqumaqua Road (off Queens Hwy) | P.O. Box 104, Korolevu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korolevu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Korolevu
Price Range: $110 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wellesley Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privacy, exclusivity and magnificent natural beauty are the defining characteristics of Wellesley Resort Fiji. Situated on Fiji’s Coral Coast in 100 acres of pristine tropical rainforest, 17 unique rooms and suites are set back on a valley which overlook the azure waters of the Pacific Ocean. The accommodation is an elegant retreat—chic and contemporary. Reserve our premium Pool Villas which offer privacy and refinement. The Wellesley Resorts boasts an outstanding swimming pool, extensive gardens and stunning white sand beach and blue lagoon. This part of Fiji's Coral Coast is renowned for its crystal clear waters and spectacular diving - this is one of the only white sand, blue lagoon experiences available on Viti Levu (Fiji’s main island). Romance. Rejuvenation. Serenity. Inspiration. Celebration. Everything you expect from one of Fiji’s premier adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wellesley Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellesley Resort Fiji Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Hotel Coral Coast
Wellesley Coral Coast
Coral Coast Wellesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing