We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
The Beachouse(Korolevu)(Great Value!)
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Naviti Resort(Korolevu)
US$234
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$41
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Warwick Fiji(Korolevu)
US$316
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$217/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$190
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crusoe's Retreat(Coral Coast)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$89/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (273)
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
116
86
26
23
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
86
26
23
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal villageindulgence packagecoral coastdirt roadtropical forestwhite sand beachfishhidden paradiseprivate poolrental carfresh coconutrooms are comfortableinsect repellentrelaxing massagedvd playerclear waterpeace and quiet
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2017

It took me a little while to realise what a little gem this is. Its accessed by a roughish dirt road but our hired corolla make it fine. The air con was broken when we checked in but were promptly moved to another room. The resort itself is gradually being renovated but the rooms are comfortable spacious and quiet. Alongside the jungle the gardens and pool are lovely, and it's an easy stroll down to the beach for decent snorkelling and swimming. A short walk to the next resort along the beach if you feel the need. Snorkel gear and kayaks were available to loan. We found an 'all meals included' package which worked out very well. The food was good and a reasonable variety. They are happy to work with gluten and dairy free needs as long a you are a bit flexible. Wine list is short but OK - Just. Spirits and cocktails were also available and the drinks prices are reasonable. The small restaurant soon creates a friendly atmosphere with guests sharing their stories of the day. The Fijians are always happy to please. The staff are mainly from the local villages and some are just getting started in the workplace so be prepared for Fiji time. It doesn't take long for Fiji time to get into your system here. You will leaved relaxed and with new friends.

Room Tip: Some rooms have outdoor showers and that there will be rooms with their own plunge pool under construction.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenya_J121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

We appreciate the time taken to provide a review on your stay at the Wellesley Resort. It really is quiet and beautiful - so nice having an Adults only result on the Coral Coast. We have brand new pool villas now and many upgrades along the way - we have been busy these past 6 months! If you'd like to come back and see us we offer exclusive direct deals for our return guests - simply drop us as email for the best rate guaranteed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

I am not normally one to write an extensive review but having read such varying reviews I have tried to cover all aspects of our trip below in the hopes it might help people:
- to get there from Nadi airport we took an airport taxi for 150FD as we thought this cheaper than the hotel offered service (160FD), which was about 2.5-3 hours long because unfortunately our taxi driver got lost
- track to the resort from the main road ~5-10 minute careful drive as quite rough, both our taxi drivers complained bitterly about this
- We got the Sunbeam bus back to the airport at the end - 9FD each for ~2 hour journey
- secluded spot - absolutely beautiful scenery - lush forests, palm and coconut trees, colourful flowers, with a beautiful clean pool, sun loungers, short stroll to the beach
- our room was an executive suite, which was comfortable, well equipped and clean, served our purposes perfectly
- food was delicious - good range offered considering the small kitchen, with a lot of fresh fruit and Fijian produce
- Recommend full board
- Unfortunately me and then my boyfriend both got D+V for 24 hours which took us a couple of days to recover from. It seemed that 4 or 5 other couples also became unwell in a similar way, as did a member of staff and our taxi driver also commented that his family were unwell and that there was a 'fever' going around Fiji - so I suspect this was a virus rather than food poisoning/unhygienic kitchen
- some activities offered - one kayak had missing paddle so only one useable, reasonable snorkelling gear, swimming, organised walks from the gardener Sabir - hill top walk with views, Mangrove walk, coconut tasting etc
- there is a spa which offers massages, facials, manicures etc. Good value with specials
- Extensive drinks menu (cocktails) - perhaps would be good to put drinks menus on tables, as I didn't realise they had such an extensive list until I went to the bar towards the end of the trip
- Has a beach bar though often not open, serves soft drinks and beers
- we had planned to get the bus to Suva but as we were unwell we didn't have the energy for a 2 hour bus journey!
- WiFi expensive at 10FD for 1 hour but didn't use it as didn't mind being isolated from technology for a week
- You can go along the beach 5 minutes to Crusoe resort to organise scuba diving and on the way encounter the local village with a shop of souvenirs and locals who will organise half day trips to a nearby waterfall, village tours, meals and snacks - very friendly people who are making the most of tourist trade which seems reasonable to me - but be aware you may spend more than the experience is really worth (ie we went to the waterfall for 150FD for 2 people, which at home we could have done for the price of fuel - however without a rental car we would never have been able to, and we got a lovely tour guide (Kuki) and the admission fee has gone towards making a picnic, changing room area and sturdy walk for visitors

All in all I think this was a lovely, relaxing trip in a stunning location.
If you want 5* luxury, 24 hour reception, utter convenience, then this is not the place for you.
If you are independent and able to enjoy peace and quiet, a book, the company of your travel companion etc then this is a wonderful place to do it.
My experience of Fiji was that it is laid back, slightly haphazard, and I liked that the resort was close to the village so we were able to explore a tiny section of Fiji.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Zoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for providing a detailed review on your stay. We hope that you'll come back again one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

After a two-hour car journey costing $150 FJ, we turned on to a 4km dirt track though the jungle leading to a small 15 room resort. The staff were super friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean, with very noisy aircon preventing decent sleep. A pleasant and small pool. 5-min walk to a sand/gritty beach not great for swimming. Any snorkelling is too far, for all but a very strong swimmer. Food at the restaurant was basic and stuck in the 70's, as was the country music on a constant loop - there's only so much Dr Hook you can listen to.

Activities are pretty non existent. Wifi is $10 per hour but is intermittent and slow at best. There is one other small resort close by which serves great cocktails but reports from the guests there were not great.

There is one small shop in the 30 house village, 5-mins walk, which we went to for the best food available even through a tropical squall, as there are no other options.

We had three days of rain and the enforced capture was enough, so we moved to a hotel in Denarau.

If you are looking to be completely cut off from the outside world then this could be for you. Other than the friendly staff there was nothing great about this resort. We left after 4 days despite having paid for an 8-night booking.

Needs a call a complete overall and better working with Crusoes - will not be returning.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Family_of_6Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

Thanks for sharing your views on your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay fell below your expectations. The snorkelling is fabulous and peaceful on our beach typically. We have a brand new catering team who rotate our menu regularly - we've also updated our music collection since you last visited! Our guests usually adore the Wellesley - I think any resort can seem not so grand after 3 days of continue rain - what bad luck! I hope you reconsider and come back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed at Wellesley for three nights of solitude and doing absolutely nothing.

Few things to note:

1. The hotel is about a 2 hr ride from NAN Airport. I used Fiji Shuttle and found them to be reliable and affordable. It was only US$38 one-way. At the airport, they will advise what time they will pick you up from the resort - based on yr departure time.

2. If you're driving yourself to the resort, rent a vehicle that can traverse an unpaved road. Once you turn off the main hwy, it's about another 10 minute drive to the resort.

3. Come w/ the expectation that you will do next to nothing here - which is a good thing. Wifi is available near reception, but I didn't bother to use it as I wanted to be off the grid. Each room does have cable TV however.

4. There are a few activities available such as snorkeling and diving as well as PADI certification - call Alex to make arrangements. Otherwise, if you're keen to do anything else, speak to reception and they can accommodate. Well spent our time on the grounds and either hiked around the area (there's an uphill hike that affords a lovely view of the beach and a village) or laid out on the white sandy beach.

5. Meals are included - except the hot options during breakfast. However, the prices aren't that expensive - especially if you're using the greenback. We had a lovely and quite filling, fish cake served on a bed of rocket salad w/ chili sauce as well as Fijian beer-battered fish and chips (priced at FJ$19.00).

6. The rooms are quite spacious and include a queen bed, living area, A/C, flat screen TV, fridge and kettle w/ coffee and teas. Each bungalow has its own shower but is located outside (which is quite fun showering "in the jungle"). Towels are included.

7. The staff are all quite lovely and be sure to say bula to them. One of the groundskeeper even invited us for an afternoon of coconut drinking (straight from the source!).

Don't expect Sheraton or Shangri-la standards at Wellesley. If that's what you're looking for, go there. The charm of Wellesley is it's small, secluded and provides a break away from the world (in every sense possible).

There's a great spa onsite too. Again, prices are quite reasonable (US$50 for a hydrating massage). We also chatted with the lovely proprietor and she gave recommendations on what else to see in Fiji.

I'd recommend Wellesley but, again, don't expect chain standards. That's the beauty of this remote place.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Louie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

What a lovely balanced review. Thank you! We now offer exclusive, unbeatable rates for our return guests so be sure to get in touch directly and we will look after you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

The only thing that beat the 7 star setting was our hosts led by head of house, Gail...who would be enough to please Gordon Ramsey in Hell's Kitchen. Our room was immaculate. The staff are immaculate. The pool and restaurant setting against the large grounds and access the beach made our engagement one never to forget.

The only thing you might need to change are your chefs. Such beautiful produce deserves respect. But thank you Gail for getting our wine from the city!

Much aroha, Kapu and Tash.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kups_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrentCoffey, Manager at Wellesley Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2017

7 star setting... we must agree with you! Thank s for the fabulous review. We hope that you're able to come and visit us again. Get in touch directly, we have the best rates for our return guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews