We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$595
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aloha Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$75
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo(Rasdhoo)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$470
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Starry Night at Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Heaven Ukulhas(Ukulhas)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$55
Hotels.com
View Deal
Velidhu Island Resort(Velidhoo Island)
US$241
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Gangehi Island Resort(Gangehi Island)
US$180
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Nika Island Resort & Spa(Kudafolhudhoo Island)
US$489
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,899)
Filter reviews
1,899 results
Traveller rating
1,651
186
38
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,651
186
38
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsanantara velioverwater bungalowour honeymoonthai restaurantfishparadise on earthwater poolhalf boardsister islanddhoni barmale airportspecial thanksboat rideroom boyprivate islandmaldives resortprivate pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 1,899 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Anantara Veli for 6 nights early August in a Deluxe Overwater Bungalow.

We fell in love with the place. It really is postcard perfect.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted at Male airport, walked to a luxury speedboat, greeted with water and cool towels and from that point onward the service was nothing short of exceptional - truly 5 star service and not once did we ever feel that the staff were fishing for tips. Exemplorary service was given by staff who exercised discretion and tact but were always friendly and happy. The staff at Anantara really made our stay - from wait staff to reception to marketing all the way up to our personal dealings with the General Manager.

The food was of a very high standard and the restaurant choices each evening were more than ample.

The Deluxe Overwater Bungalow at Veli was amazing with a beautiful bathroom opening out to the water, upper and lower decks with lounges, and a really nice size. Bottled water was complimentary and restocked every day. The bedroom and bathroom are a great size also.

We kept busy with plenty to do between the two island (Veli the one we stayed on and Dhigu the adjacent island). The boat running between the two is approximately 1 minute and runs back and forth all day until late evening so you really have the full use of two islands.

I cannot recommend this more highly.

We will have very fond memories of Veli / Dhigu and the people for a long time to come. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We visited the Velli in March and had an amazing holiday. After a 3.5 hour flight we were collected by a luxury speedboat at the airport and travelled 45 minutes to the Velli and Dhighu resort. Velli is the adult island and the families stay on Dhighu. This doesn't mean that the kiddies don't come across for dinner though so be warned! We were lucky enough to request the most secluded water villa at the end of the pier - this was beautiful but a far walk from the island! The rooms were lovely with the only criticism being that the decking on the sun jetty looked a little tired. When we were settled we soon relaxed and enjoyed the rooms, sea and snorkelling so much that the only other facilities we used was the spa towards the end of the holiday - despite lots of energetic kayakers zipping around our lagoon! We were lucky enough to see (from our water villa) sharks, lion fish, a huge barracuda thing (lucky this was through the floor when we were out of the water!) and a huge turtle - which according the staff we were very lucky to see! As you walk back to the jetty you pass through loads of marine life under the villas which is lovely to spot on your way to breakfast. The staff were great- the island absolutely spotless and the hermit crabs then come out as soon as the sun sets and scuttle across the beach just add to the feeling of pure contentment. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for room 121 - right at the end of the jetty for more privacy - deluxe water villa.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seymour31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent is the perfect word to describe this place.

Given the array of islands to choose from, you'll be spending days to land on a choice as looking for a place to stay in Maldives is already a huge work itself, from where to stay up to how far can your allocated budget stretch.

Anantara Veli is located in South Male Atoll, only 40mins boat ride from the airport-close enough to save you from expensive seaplane fare, however, far enough to save you from airport noise.

The island and the adjacent Anantara Dhigu provide many restaurants that you can choose from, cuisine varies from Thai, japanese and seafood, from ala carte to buffet if you are a heavy eater.

Facilities like gym, library and internet and swimming pool are also available. What i like the most is the provision of free snorkeling equipment and kayak. Packing for travel is already a lot of thing, and being able to have access to this kind of equipment for free is a big plus plus plus points to Anantara Veli.

The marine life at this island is never to be under estimated. While on the shore, we were able to see a group of 8-9 baby black tip reef sharks. While kayaking, 2 manta rays were also enjoying the sea. & never have to go far as fish of different families crowd beneath our over water bungalow.

Thank you Anatara Veli for making our stay a memorable one, to your staffs who were never tired of giving their smile and to go an extra mile just to give us a comfortable stay. Thank you Chua and Angel for your very kind and accommodating service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRLacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The best vacation ever, beatiful place, beatiful rooms, all in all beatiful :-)
Extremly nice staff, they make you feel very welcome and want to go back again. Hospitality was excellent, they did every thing to make us feel welcome, even to small details.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waleed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Choosing where to stay in the Maldives is not an easy task. There are dozens of resorts. I was very concerned about my choice, because we were marking two special occasions: my birthday and our anniversary. But I must say I chose the RIGHT one.
Our experience satrted from the moment we were warmly welcomed at Male airport. We just had to wait for about 15minutes for another couple good for a break after our flight from Dubai. The speedboat trip to the resort took30min. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by the staff, while playing some typical Maldivian music. Our checkin was done in our villa. I was not very impressed by the decoration of the villa -I think it needs some new look, but it was fantastic. A water-villa in the Maldives is a must-do. You could see hundreds of fishes, including some baby sharks, just under your feet. Something I definetely did jot like was the lack of toiletries... First time ever in a resort of this category. I do kot find it hygenic the eay the soap, shampoo, etc are provided.
Breakfast was quite good. The best part is that you could go for breakfast barefoot... Tried the buffet dinner at two of the restuarants... Forgot the names. But both were delicious.
The spa was great. There is small gym, infinity swimming pool, small beach... Facilities are good. Went for the local island excursion and it was so much fun!!!!!
Nice arrangements were made twice, including cake and beautiful villa decoration.
It was low season, as it was the begnning of the rainy season, so it felt kind.of empty... Much better!!!! Everthing was for us only
!
The best is the staff. No words to describe all of them. They made our experience unique, unforgottable.
BIG THANKS to all Anantara Veli!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SheikhaCantabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews