We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August in Anantara Veli”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I can say for sure that i just had the best holiday of my life, me and my husband we stayed in anantara veli for 8 days, and it was awesome, weather was rainy for two days but aside from that we got a wonderful weather, lots of sun. What i haven't knew from my search on the net regarding this hotel is how many activities it has available, and especially that there are 3 islands one next to the other, and each one of it with it's own activities and restaurans pool and bungalows, there actually different resorts but under anantara, so going from one to the other was so comfy, free of charge and 5 minutes away by boat, a fairy passing every 5 minutes from one side to the other, this way you can choose from spa on top of the sea or jungle spa, different restaurants, we had from where to chose, where to eat, even if the room service was s good, but you actually get italian cuisine, barbeque open bufet, sea grilled bufet, thai food, meditarean food, japonese, geckos was one of the best, very nice sushi. The staff was very friendly and helpful, i really can't find a things to complain of, you have romantic venues in case you wanna have a special time with your love one, we took the tent on the beach dinner and it was great, you can choose from wine room, sand table, on the yachts, in room on ur deck so far i can remember. Fishing was great, my husband is a big fisherman and we booked this amazing yacht with great crew and went fishing, traveled to male, seen the dolphins, i would recomend this hotel to all my loved ones it's really worth it, is not as we usually hear, there is no way you'll getbored, with all the corals under ur bungalows and all the activities.

Room Tip: We had 131 and was quite far from the island, but you get the best privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavinia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,071 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at Anantara Veli for 6 nights early August in a Deluxe Overwater Bungalow.

We fell in love with the place. It really is postcard perfect.

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted at Male airport, walked to a luxury speedboat, greeted with water and cool towels and from that point onward the service was nothing short of exceptional - truly 5 star service and not once did we ever feel that the staff were fishing for tips. Exemplorary service was given by staff who exercised discretion and tact but were always friendly and happy. The staff at Anantara really made our stay - from wait staff to reception to marketing all the way up to our personal dealings with the General Manager.

The food was of a very high standard and the restaurant choices each evening were more than ample.

The Deluxe Overwater Bungalow at Veli was amazing with a beautiful bathroom opening out to the water, upper and lower decks with lounges, and a really nice size. Bottled water was complimentary and restocked every day. The bedroom and bathroom are a great size also.

We kept busy with plenty to do between the two island (Veli the one we stayed on and Dhigu the adjacent island). The boat running between the two is approximately 1 minute and runs back and forth all day until late evening so you really have the full use of two islands.

I cannot recommend this more highly.

We will have very fond memories of Veli / Dhigu and the people for a long time to come. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We visited the Velli in March and had an amazing holiday. After a 3.5 hour flight we were collected by a luxury speedboat at the airport and travelled 45 minutes to the Velli and Dhighu resort. Velli is the adult island and the families stay on Dhighu. This doesn't mean that the kiddies don't come across for dinner though so be warned! We were lucky enough to request the most secluded water villa at the end of the pier - this was beautiful but a far walk from the island! The rooms were lovely with the only criticism being that the decking on the sun jetty looked a little tired. When we were settled we soon relaxed and enjoyed the rooms, sea and snorkelling so much that the only other facilities we used was the spa towards the end of the holiday - despite lots of energetic kayakers zipping around our lagoon! We were lucky enough to see (from our water villa) sharks, lion fish, a huge barracuda thing (lucky this was through the floor when we were out of the water!) and a huge turtle - which according the staff we were very lucky to see! As you walk back to the jetty you pass through loads of marine life under the villas which is lovely to spot on your way to breakfast. The staff were great- the island absolutely spotless and the hermit crabs then come out as soon as the sun sets and scuttle across the beach just add to the feeling of pure contentment. We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Ask for room 121 - right at the end of the jetty for more privacy - deluxe water villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seymour31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

Excellent is the perfect word to describe this place.

Given the array of islands to choose from, you'll be spending days to land on a choice as looking for a place to stay in Maldives is already a huge work itself, from where to stay up to how far can your allocated budget stretch.

Anantara Veli is located in South Male Atoll, only 40mins boat ride from the airport-close enough to save you from expensive seaplane fare, however, far enough to save you from airport noise.

The island and the adjacent Anantara Dhigu provide many restaurants that you can choose from, cuisine varies from Thai, japanese and seafood, from ala carte to buffet if you are a heavy eater.

Facilities like gym, library and internet and swimming pool are also available. What i like the most is the provision of free snorkeling equipment and kayak. Packing for travel is already a lot of thing, and being able to have access to this kind of equipment for free is a big plus plus plus points to Anantara Veli.

The marine life at this island is never to be under estimated. While on the shore, we were able to see a group of 8-9 baby black tip reef sharks. While kayaking, 2 manta rays were also enjoying the sea. & never have to go far as fish of different families crowd beneath our over water bungalow.

Thank you Anatara Veli for making our stay a memorable one, to your staffs who were never tired of giving their smile and to go an extra mile just to give us a comfortable stay. Thank you Chua and Angel for your very kind and accommodating service.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRLacson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The best vacation ever, beatiful place, beatiful rooms, all in all beatiful :-)
Extremly nice staff, they make you feel very welcome and want to go back again. Hospitality was excellent, they did every thing to make us feel welcome, even to small details.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Waleed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veligandu
31.7 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,793 reviews
28.9 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,698 reviews
15.0 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,710 reviews
0.7 km away
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
#1 of 1 in Dhigufinolhu Island
1,920 reviews
36.4 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Veli Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Veli Maldives Resort

Address: Male, Republic of Maldives, 2098
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range: $768 - $2,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Veli Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat hand-in-hand to one of the most naturally stunning destinations on earth, a romantic paradise enveloped in soft white sands and turquoise waters. Just 20 km by speedboat from the airport in Male, delight in the private luxury of your own over-water bungalow, with all the comforts of home and then some. Unwind in your room, either over water in the crystal lagoon, or from your Ocean Pool Bungalow, with private pool and ocean views offering beach and lagoon access a few minutes stroll from your room, or admire the kaleidoscope of exotic fish and corals just steps from your over water and deluxe over water bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Anantara Veli Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Veli Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Veli Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing