We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Veli blew us away in every aspect of our stay! The reservations staff was too kind to have us check in really early as we were coming in from another island, not from Male. Zahir from Front Office, a very nice guy, also have us check out late. It's one of those perks when traveling during the low season but every staff member that we've met was genuinely nice and warm.

Our villa was really nice and spacious. Everything was luxurious. The housekeeping team was amazing. Our bed/villa gets automatically made up every time we come back from a swim or from lunch or dinner.

They have a number of good restaurants, a lot to choose from (including their sister resorts').

It's an adults-only resort (yes, no kids haha) and it's highly recommended for honeymooners. They offer complimentary 2-hour kayak use per day with free snorkeling equipment. There are so many activities there that will make every couple busy. The beaches at Veli and Moyo Island did not feel crowded including their infinity pool. We were the only ones there most of the time which was an added bonus since we always like secluded beaches all to ourselves.

The beautiful island itself, luxurious villas and amenities, great food, excellent service all make up an unforgettable Maldivian holiday. Our experience at Anantara Veli was definitely one of the best in all of our travels and we can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Choose the superior overwater bungalows with views of Moyo Island
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank chardichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane P, Manager at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

Dear chardichard,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Veli, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, especially Zahir from Front Office, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Dhigu Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraVeliMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaraveli) or by using the hashtag #anantaraveli. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Juliane Päch
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,570)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

As we were only in the Maldives for four days, we chose Anantara due to the fairly close proximity to the airport. As was worried this could be a mistake but it most certainly was not! The location is stunning and the bungalows absolutely faultless. We enjoyed being able to take the wee barge over to the neighbouring island for a change of scenery and were also really impressed with the prices of the restaurants and in room wines/drinks. We expected prices to be crazy but we're presently surprised that food and drink was reasonable for an island! I highly recommend staying here and hope to visit again one day soon.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane P, Manager at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Dear Paige W,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Veli for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. Anantara Veli is located in a beautiful turquoise lagoon which is just 35-minute trip from Male International Airport by speed boat, just as you mentioned.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Dhigu Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraVeliMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaraveli) or by using the hashtag #anantaraveli.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Juliane Päch
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

We spend there 5 days, it was very nice except the activities and the prices that are huge. We enjoyed the crystal clean water, the water villa, the beautiful beaches, but we got really disappointed by the dolphin trip - we payed almost 900 dollars for a custom trip that included dolphins quest, but we didn't see any of them. Moreover, it was raining and they've never thought to change the trip to another sunny day... Also, the food is very expensive for its quality and size, but in terms of cleanness , stuff and location, I have no complain. One more thing, the Wi-Fi from the room works only for some websites....

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank Eugen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane P, Manager at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Eugen T,
Thank you for taking time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor on your recent stay with us at Anantara Veli Maldives. I am sorry to read, that some areas feel short of your expectations during your stay and we were unable to live up to them. We have noted your comment on the dolphin trip and although chances are high to see them regardless of the weather, it is a wild animal in the open ocean and at times difficult to spot. However, we will certainly take your suggestion into consideration for future enhancements and provide more flexibility.

Our isolated location in the middle of the Indian Ocean does mean that the logistics of bringing in furnishings, supplies, food and drinks are somewhat more complicated and costly, thereby making the Maldives an expensive destination.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our lagoon and beaches. Our team strives daily to go above and beyond guests’ expectations ensuring many memorable experiences are taken home.

I take this opportunity to thank you once again on your feedback. We greatly value guest comments to continuously strive to deliver an enhanced stay experiences for all our valued guests. With the correct support I am confident that the shortfalls you experienced on this occasion will not be repeated in future.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to restore your faith in our resort. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally, I would be happy to assist with the arrangements for your next visit. In the meantime, please do keep in touch through our Facebook page. You can find us under AnantaraVeliMaldives and do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaraveli) or by using the hashtag #anantaraveli. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,
Juliane Pach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

The hotel is very well-located, the quality of service, food and activities is awesome.
This has been a really good experience, perfect for honeymoon and couple stays, but they also have an island dedicated to families too.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Minor Hotels
Thank elmadrilen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane P, Manager at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear elmadrilen0,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Veli for your holiday. I was delighted to read about the memorable time that you spent with us.

We always appreciate when our valued guests share their feedback as it makes the service we provide even more worthwhile. Anantara Veli is always famous in the couple and honeymooner guests for its romantic and quiet atmosphere, just as what you have experienced with us.

Our consistent aim is to provide a harmonious combination of the romantic, relaxation and a sense of adventure for all of our guests. The crystal clear waters filled with various species of marine life, the luxurious and stylish accommodation and our white beaches, all conspire to deliver your amazing experience. Also, sharing this stunning lagoon with our sister resorts, Anantara Dhigu Resort and Naladhu Maldives, means we can offer unique dining experiences, all with the backdrop of sophisticated luxury and Maldivian hospitality.

Along with these unique experiences and the dedicated service from the Anantara team members, all of our guests leave with new and lasting memories of their time spent with us.

Thank you once again for the glowing feedback which we will share with the wider team and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of welcoming you back at the resort in the near future.

In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraVeliMaldives. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaraveli) or by using the hashtag #anantaraveli.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our corner of paradise again soon.

Island Greetings,

Juliane Päch
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 luxury filled days in heaven! This resort is so beautiful and relaxing, just the way to celebrate our 18 year wedding anniversary!
The staff are the most attentive and detail focused group that I can honestly say I have ever had the pleasure of staying with. It just feels like a family taking care of you, right from when you arrive to the singing and drums from the group, strolling up to the bar in the afternoon to watch the waves and having the staff remember you drink preference and doing everything to make you feel welcome and at home.
One small glitch was the incorrect date for our wedding anniversary, although the resort celebrated our special day (the next day) with a bottle of prosecco and a beautiful chocolate sponge cake, we felt very special indeed.
Whilst we were relaxed and well rested at this resort, we did find some of the events slightly over our budget in regards to the food. One night the function was $185 USD PP plus 22% tax. We decided against going and spent our evening taking in the gorgeous view in our deluxe over water villa, having a delicious pizza and salad, both perfectly presented, for a fraction of the cost.
In regards to the room, I would advise going for the deluxe over water villa as it is a little further off the shoreline and not close to the reefs. The reefs are filled with gorgeous fish, we also saw a reef shark (approx 2 meters long!!) and 2 huge sting rays! Amazing! But the snorkelers are out around those villas to see the fish, creating less privacy. The deluxe villas have a plunge ladder also into the water, but a little further away.
Breakfast is amazing! So many choices! Even a well stocked gluten free area for those who require dietary limitations. Everyone is always smiling and happy. We had Junne the beautiful sand artist create a magical message for our anniversary on our table, that was very beautiful and original.
We asked for a late check out as our flight was departing at 8:30pm, this was approved without any problem and we were very grateful to spend the afternoon snorkeling and enjoying every last minute on the island.
I want to thank Cotzer and his team for giving us memories that we will treasure forever. We will definitely return to this island paradise!!
I would recommend taking small notes for tips for the staff with you as the island has no cash machine available, and trust me with this level of care, you'll want to tip these kind hearted people.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AliciaFiedler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juliane P, Manager at Anantara Veli Maldives Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Dear AliciaFiedler,

Thank very much for choosing Anantara Veli, and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback about your stay in our little paradise with the online community.

We are delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience during your time with us.

We have shared your kind words with our colleagues, Junne from Food & Beverages and our Cluster General Manager - Mr. Coetzer Deysel, who are deeply thankful, and pass along their greetings.

Since we share our beautiful lagoon with our sister resorts – Anantara Dhigu Resort and Naladhu Maldives – it allows our valued guests more dining options and the variety of restaurants certainly means that meal times never have to be the same during your stay. We aim that our guest leave from here with amazing stories.

Thank you once again for the lovely feedback and we look forward to the distinct pleasure of having you back at the resort in the near future. In the meantime, do stay in touch with us through our Facebook page; you can find us under AnantaraVeliMaldives and please do keep an eye out for special offers on the Anantara homepage as well. Feel free to share your photos with us on Instagram by tagging us (@anantaraveli) or by using the hashtag #anantaraveli. Till we meet again, stay well.

Island Greetings,

Juliane Päch
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Veligandu
31.7 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,793 reviews
28.9 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,695 reviews
15.0 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Velassaru Maldives
Velassaru Maldives
#1 of 1 in Velassaru Island
1,710 reviews
0.7 km away
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
Anantara Dhigu Maldives Resort
#1 of 1 in Dhigufinolhu Island
1,920 reviews
36.4 km away
Baros Maldives
Baros Maldives
#1 of 1 in Baros Island
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Veli Maldives Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Veli Maldives Resort

Address: Male, Republic of Maldives, 2098
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Veligandu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Veligandu
Price Range: $768 - $2,312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Veli Maldives Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retreat hand-in-hand to one of the most naturally stunning destinations on earth, a romantic paradise enveloped in soft white sands and turquoise waters. Just 20 km by speedboat from the airport in Male, delight in the private luxury of your own over-water bungalow, with all the comforts of home and then some. Unwind in your room, either over water in the crystal lagoon, or from your Ocean Pool Bungalow, with private pool and ocean views offering beach and lagoon access a few minutes stroll from your room, or admire the kaleidoscope of exotic fish and corals just steps from your over water and deluxe over water bungalow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Anantara Veli Maldives Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Veli Hotel South Male Atoll
Anantara Veli Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing