We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Joondalup City Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Reviewed 25 March 2011

CONS - Old style CRT television, only a few Foxtel cable stations (ghosty too), surrounded by residential, no restaurants or shops in immediate vicinity, no underground or secure parking, restaurant closed Sunday nights, not the cleanest place. Bed felt tinny. Hotel and locale felt sterile and lonely - yet almost $200 per night. Internet @ $20 night. Not a good place for single female because it's isolated

PROS - If you're a walker, Lakeside Shopping Centre is a 10-15 walk away as is Edith Cowan University and the city train network. Very quiet!

Next time I'm in Perth I'd stay near Hillarys Wharf marina complex or Scarborough (for beaches and trendy dining), downtown (for a good range of 4 and 5 star hotels) or Fremantle (for cafes and character)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozeeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
There are newer reviews for Joondalup City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2011

The hotel is located at the Northern edge fof Perth. It is a great place to stay if you are doing business in that area. The hotel is small with around 30 rooms. It has ample parking. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The service is friendly and they have a small restaraunt for breakfasts and light dinners. It is very quiet. Some of the rooms could be a little larger and the TV reception etc isnot great.

If, like me, you are travelling on business, so it is one of those places where you are only in the hotel for a matter of hours than it is a good place to sleep, shower, breakfast and move on.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

my husband and myself stayed for 4 nights at the end of July this year while visiting friends, rooms were ok, staff ok. cleaned daily, everything in working order, and we had dinner in the restaurant downstairs three nights in a row and breakfast once the food was exceptional.
Shopping mall in walking distance, alongwith other bars and restaurants, we walked down by the lake every morning about 9.00 a.m. and saw our first wild kangaroos jumping around, lots of people take their dogs for their morning walk so there was always someone around
easy access to perth by car, took us about 20minutes

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ojblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

Ive been travelling over to WA for work for the last 5 weeks, and nothing in the CBD even comes close to the value, quality or cleanliness of this place.

Perth CBD hotels have been quite a disappointment, and are not good value at the moment - Over $200 for shabby hotel rooms that are not kept clean and have construction sites across the road, next door or both if you are unlucky.

Meanwhile, up in Joondalup, for less than $160 i've been living it up in near new rooms with lots of light, nice furnishings & that are well equipped (desk, iron, ironing board, tea & coffee making, fridge etc). More importantly they are clean!
The bathroom is spacious, bright, and the shower is excellent too (lots of water pressure and nice and high for tall people).

This place is great and comfortable for travelling for work. If you dont come expecting big city CBD hotel extras (onsite gym, pool, porters, 'good evening sir' etc ), you wont be disappointed. The rooms look exactly like the pictures on the website.

As the hotel is a relatively small complex (i believe there are only 35 rooms) you dont seem to get as many people coming and going past your room as you do in the city hotels. Rooms on the top floor near the ends of the corridors are the best pick if you've got the luxury of choice.

There are a few things that i'd change if I had my way (such as having a separate switch for that annoyingly loud bathroom fan rather than linking it up to the light), but they are only minor, and certainly wouldnt stop me staying here again (and i'll probably be back next week).

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilikeicecream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joondalup
17.6 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Perth Scarborough
8.1 km away
The Marina Hotel
The Marina Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mindarie
150 reviews
13.3 km away
Ocean View Motel
Ocean View Motel
#1 of 1 in North Beach
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 km away
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
Sunmoon Boutique Resort
#4 of 6 in Scarborough
297 reviews
17.9 km away
Indian Ocean Hotel
Indian Ocean Hotel
#2 of 6 in Scarborough
210 reviews
2.1 km away
Joondalup Resort
Joondalup Resort
#1 of 1 in Connolly
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joondalup City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joondalup City Hotel

Address: 18 Grand Bvd, Joondalup, Western Australia 6027, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Joondalup
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Joondalup
Price Range: $146 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joondalup City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Joondalup City Hotel is a brand new independently owned boutique hotel, nestling on a tree lined boulevard in the City Centre North of Joondalup, the capital of the Northern Suburbs of Perth, Western Australia. Our stylish, modern design hosts 35 bedrooms and suites, with levels of comfort which will satisfy the tastes and needs of travelers and visitors to Western Australia. With professional and friendly staff, our 5-star attitude and 3-star pricing ensures a pleasurable and affordable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Joondalup City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing