We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$131
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$116
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Austria(Niederau)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Schneeberger(Niederau)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Staffler(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Wastlhof(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pension Enzian(Niederau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Platzl(Auffach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
8
7
4
1
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
7
4
1
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a trip with Just Go,the hotel we were to stay at was full (3star) so we were
UP graded to this hotel and told it was 4star!
The accommodation was good the room was clean,spacious with a view of the mountains
The staff were ok our room was cleaned every day and towels changed
BUT the FOOD was awful,vegetables from freezer packs,the meat was covered in a sauce?
no soup for starters,bread roll at breakfast were fresh one day and stale the next!
Yes it's a pleasant enough hotel but the food ????

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look the ski runs and in June are used for hang gliding good to watch
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSportNiederau, General Manager at Sporthotel Niederau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Chris & Sue

We have just taken over the management of the Sport Hotel. I can assure you that the menu choice for our Half Board guest will be a choice of two different main meals plus a veggie option. Fresh bread will be supplied each morning from the valley bakery and some will be baked on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Had a very good stay skiing was very good too plenty to fill up a week. Hotel was good service and food was served every night when we came down. No dramas at all. Pefect location to the neiderau slopes. Defenetly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If have balcony room can see views all all the mountains
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

THIS "HOTEL" IS DISGRACEFUL! Went February half term with my school

Food: - I can't even call it food, barely any carbs and no veg/salad at all. We all needed a good meal to support our Skiing but we got nothing at all. ALL food seemed to be ordered in from the local corner shop 'Spar'.
- Breakfast was plain, bread rolls that were pratically stale.
- There was an offer in Spar one day for Hot Dogs (2 for 1), we got served it up that lunch time.
- Milk had gone off, had to eat dry cereal all week.
- We had a stodgy curry one day. A chicken 'Korma' with one bit of chicken amoungst all this creamy sauce. Rice was awful. Next day for desert we got 'rice' pudding consisting of the same rice from the night before.

Rooms were horrible, prepare for cold showers! Also, don't break anything as they overcharge you, 300 euros one of my friends were charged for a window panel. Rooms were NOT cleaned and the staff were very unhelpful. Very loud as well from the bar underneath the hotel playing rubbish music.

The obese lady that owns the place asked ME to move a bed to another room, surely she should of. There was this blonde waitress who was THE WORST WAITRESS ever, she told us to hold the plates whilst she scraped the leftover food that they served us (there was a lot left over). The blonde girl and the fat lady had a full scale argument one night right in front of us . . . very unprofessional.

Only positive was the location as the Gondler was right on the doorstep. Skiing is AMAZING! Just please please please please book another hotel, their are loads around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieJ767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed at the Sporthotel for a week in early March on a half board basis. On arrival we were made to feel really welcomed by the staff, and even though it was really late, we had an evening meal made for us. We were really impressed with the food all week, even though we had been slightly put off by some reviews, all of the soups were really tasty, as well as the main courses.

The bedrooms were basic and quite old but nice, and of good size, each with a balcony. All bedrooms look over the gondola station, and there are a few bars right below the hotel which do play music until late, however this did not bother us at all.

You could't get a more central location if you tried, only a few meters from the main gondola station in Neiderau, and right in the heart of the village, with only a 5 minute walk to the nearest shop.

I was nervous about coming to the Sporthotel because of the reviews on here, but I needn't have worried at all! You get what you pay for, and we thought our hotel was good value for money.

The only issues we had on this holiday were the in resort Crystal reps, who could never be found and gave us very little (and incorrect) information. However they were nothing to do with the hotel, so I wouldn't be put off. Overall my friends and I had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return. We miss it already!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This must be one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, in 20yrs of ski-ing .
The food was not very good to say the least, no choice, of menu: soup, no bread offered or sat/pepper on the table. Main course uneatable most of the time and luke warm, on several occasions I had to ask for it to be put in the microwave to be heated up. There was no fresh fruit or vegetables served all week except boiled pots on one night. If you say here I would suggest you have a good meal up in the mountains as you will need it. Hotel room radiator not working after 4 days we were given a portable. We are still waiting on our bus passes that the reps said we would require. Could not use the drawers in the room as they had no handles.

Room Tip: Have a room not under the disco
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSportNiederau, Manager at Sporthotel Niederau, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Louise, Thank you for your comments, having just taken over the hotel I think that your points were valid. We plan to change the noisy bar into the hotel bar, our menu has been improved, we will make sure that there is always plenty of heating oil and we are going through each room to rectify any faults. For our half board guest we now offer a 3 course evening meal with 2 choices plus a veggie option.
If you ever visit Niederau again, I would like you to come and see the changes.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews