We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sporthotel Niederau
Ranked #41 of 56 Wildschonau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, arriving on boxing day. For novice skiers, the location could not have been better as there are loads of beginner ski areas within easy walking distance. For intermediate and more experienced skiers, the mountain also had plenty to offer, and the 6km toboggan run was heaps of fun! The main gondola is literally 20 meters from your door (!) and neighbouring towns are a short skibus hop away. It's very do-able to plan various ski excursions on different days.

We were upgraded to a family room which included a bath (the perfect way to wind down the day and ease those aching never-before-used muscles). The hotel is owner-run, which makes a huge difference, and the staff really go out of their way for their guests and are a great part of what gives this up-and-coming hotel it's charm.

The accommodation is fairly basic, but comfortable and the views are superb. Each room seams to have it's own private balcony. Breakfasts were great. Drinks were very reasonably priced, and dinners were fairly simple, with a set three course menu (two choices for your main course). We missed their quiz night but our French maitre'd kept all the guests thoroughly entertained with his riddles at breakfast and dinner.

We would highly recommend the Sporthotel Niederau and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rice086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a trip with Just Go,the hotel we were to stay at was full (3star) so we were
UP graded to this hotel and told it was 4star!
The accommodation was good the room was clean,spacious with a view of the mountains
The staff were ok our room was cleaned every day and towels changed
BUT the FOOD was awful,vegetables from freezer packs,the meat was covered in a sauce?
no soup for starters,bread roll at breakfast were fresh one day and stale the next!
Yes it's a pleasant enough hotel but the food ????

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look the ski runs and in June are used for hang gliding good to watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSportNiederau, General Manager at Sporthotel Niederau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Chris & Sue

We have just taken over the management of the Sport Hotel. I can assure you that the menu choice for our Half Board guest will be a choice of two different main meals plus a veggie option. Fresh bread will be supplied each morning from the valley bakery and some will be baked on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Had a very good stay skiing was very good too plenty to fill up a week. Hotel was good service and food was served every night when we came down. No dramas at all. Pefect location to the neiderau slopes. Defenetly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If have balcony room can see views all all the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomH1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

THIS "HOTEL" IS DISGRACEFUL! Went February half term with my school

Food: - I can't even call it food, barely any carbs and no veg/salad at all. We all needed a good meal to support our Skiing but we got nothing at all. ALL food seemed to be ordered in from the local corner shop 'Spar'.
- Breakfast was plain, bread rolls that were pratically stale.
- There was an offer in Spar one day for Hot Dogs (2 for 1), we got served it up that lunch time.
- Milk had gone off, had to eat dry cereal all week.
- We had a stodgy curry one day. A chicken 'Korma' with one bit of chicken amoungst all this creamy sauce. Rice was awful. Next day for desert we got 'rice' pudding consisting of the same rice from the night before.

Rooms were horrible, prepare for cold showers! Also, don't break anything as they overcharge you, 300 euros one of my friends were charged for a window panel. Rooms were NOT cleaned and the staff were very unhelpful. Very loud as well from the bar underneath the hotel playing rubbish music.

The obese lady that owns the place asked ME to move a bed to another room, surely she should of. There was this blonde waitress who was THE WORST WAITRESS ever, she told us to hold the plates whilst she scraped the leftover food that they served us (there was a lot left over). The blonde girl and the fat lady had a full scale argument one night right in front of us . . . very unprofessional.

Only positive was the location as the Gondler was right on the doorstep. Skiing is AMAZING! Just please please please please book another hotel, their are loads around.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackieJ767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed at the Sporthotel for a week in early March on a half board basis. On arrival we were made to feel really welcomed by the staff, and even though it was really late, we had an evening meal made for us. We were really impressed with the food all week, even though we had been slightly put off by some reviews, all of the soups were really tasty, as well as the main courses.

The bedrooms were basic and quite old but nice, and of good size, each with a balcony. All bedrooms look over the gondola station, and there are a few bars right below the hotel which do play music until late, however this did not bother us at all.

You could't get a more central location if you tried, only a few meters from the main gondola station in Neiderau, and right in the heart of the village, with only a 5 minute walk to the nearest shop.

I was nervous about coming to the Sporthotel because of the reviews on here, but I needn't have worried at all! You get what you pay for, and we thought our hotel was good value for money.

The only issues we had on this holiday were the in resort Crystal reps, who could never be found and gave us very little (and incorrect) information. However they were nothing to do with the hotel, so I wouldn't be put off. Overall my friends and I had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return. We miss it already!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildschonau hotels
8.1 km away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
3.8 km away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
55 reviews
7.7 km away
The Auhof
The Auhof
#7 of 14 in Niederau
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
5.1 km away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#4 of 25 in Wildschonau
116 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel Platzl
Hotel Platzl
#1 of 5 in Auffach
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Niederau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Niederau

Address: Dorf 124 | Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wildschonau
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sporthotel Niederau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sport Hotel offers the closest proximity to the ski lift in Niederau, less than 20 meters away. Built in the 1960's (the first purpose built hotel in the valley) our hotel provides great mountain and village views. It is fair to say that the hotel is more basic than more modern hotels but we feel that we can still compete on value for money,vhospitality, food and price. We have recently taken over the management of the hotel, Autumn 2014 and aim to turn this hotel around so that it can live up to the great potential that it has due to its enviable location. All the nightlife, ski bus for those whom want to travel to the other piste in the valley, shops and banks can be reached in 5 minutes walk. Our two bars have events each week including live music, pub quiz and DJ's. We aim to offer a warm friendly welcome and we wish to make your holiday a success. We have noted previous comments and aim to address each and every one of them in turn. The hotel is suitable for groups of young people, sports clubs and private guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Niederau Hotel Wildschonau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing