We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improving, but happy enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sporthotel Niederau
Ranked #41 of 56 Wildschonau B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2016

Wanted cheap and cheerful accommodation whilst we enjoyed a week of snowboarding and this is exactly what we got. Yes, the rooms were basic and the food average, but the location was great and the staff friendly. Although the rooms were not cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TynemouthSamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2015

Stayed at the hotel at the end of January and cannot fault anything from the hotel. Bedrooms were of a basic standard but extremely clean and serviced daily. Location cannot be better located right next to the main lift. What made this stay so great was the friendly and helpful staff and the excellent food. Dinner daily had 2 choices of main course, some local dishes which was exceptional. Nothing was too much for any of the staff and was always made to feel at home by the owner nick and barman Johnny. I would recommend the hotel as somewhere I would stay again definitely.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2015

I booked this hotel before I read it's reviews and I after reading the reviews was concerned about what I might expect when I arrived. It was so much better than I hoped for. The food was great, wholesome food and every night was something new to me. We had traditional Austrian/Hungarian food prepared by the Hungarian cook. The French waiter was very attentive he even built a snowman for one of the younger guest and Mick the new owner was a great host.
Evening entertainment was provided in both bars and included a pub quiz, bar crawl and live music.
The location is perfect, the main lift is opposite the hotel so we had more time in bed as Breakfast was served from 8.00.
There was a good choice at breakfast. 3 types of cheese and meat as well as cereal,eggs and cake we only needed to buy a snack for lunch. Our bedroom only had a shower but we were told that other rooms have baths so email beforehand if this is important.

Room Tip: Half the rooms have bathrooms so request this if a bathroom is important, rooms on the first floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSportNiederau, Manager at Sporthotel Niederau, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2015

Thank you for your review. There are still many improvements to make but it is clear that we are moving in the right direction. It is very important to me that our staff work hard to give you the best possible service. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you next year. Regards Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week, arriving on boxing day. For novice skiers, the location could not have been better as there are loads of beginner ski areas within easy walking distance. For intermediate and more experienced skiers, the mountain also had plenty to offer, and the 6km toboggan run was heaps of fun! The main gondola is literally 20 meters from your door (!) and neighbouring towns are a short skibus hop away. It's very do-able to plan various ski excursions on different days.

We were upgraded to a family room which included a bath (the perfect way to wind down the day and ease those aching never-before-used muscles). The hotel is owner-run, which makes a huge difference, and the staff really go out of their way for their guests and are a great part of what gives this up-and-coming hotel it's charm.

The accommodation is fairly basic, but comfortable and the views are superb. Each room seams to have it's own private balcony. Breakfasts were great. Drinks were very reasonably priced, and dinners were fairly simple, with a set three course menu (two choices for your main course). We missed their quiz night but our French maitre'd kept all the guests thoroughly entertained with his riddles at breakfast and dinner.

We would highly recommend the Sporthotel Niederau and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rice086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel with a trip with Just Go,the hotel we were to stay at was full (3star) so we were
UP graded to this hotel and told it was 4star!
The accommodation was good the room was clean,spacious with a view of the mountains
The staff were ok our room was cleaned every day and towels changed
BUT the FOOD was awful,vegetables from freezer packs,the meat was covered in a sauce?
no soup for starters,bread roll at breakfast were fresh one day and stale the next!
Yes it's a pleasant enough hotel but the food ????

Room Tip: Rooms at the front over look the ski runs and in June are used for hang gliding good to watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSportNiederau, General Manager at Sporthotel Niederau, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Chris & Sue

We have just taken over the management of the Sport Hotel. I can assure you that the menu choice for our Half Board guest will be a choice of two different main meals plus a veggie option. Fresh bread will be supplied each morning from the valley bakery and some will be baked on site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wildschonau hotels
8.1 km away
Hotel Schneeberger
Hotel Schneeberger
#8 of 11 in Niederau
70 reviews
4.3 km away
Landgasthof Dorferwirt
3.8 km away
Apparthotel Talhof
Apparthotel Talhof
#1 of 5 in Oberau
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 km away
Landhotel Tirolerhof
Landhotel Tirolerhof
#4 of 25 in Wildschonau
117 reviews
8.5 km away
Hotel Sonnschein
Hotel Sonnschein
#4 of 11 in Niederau
606 reviews
7.7 km away
The Auhof
The Auhof
#7 of 15 in Niederau
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sporthotel Niederau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sporthotel Niederau

Address: Dorf 124 | Niederau, Wildschonau 6314, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Tirol > Wildschonau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Wildschonau
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sporthotel Niederau 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sport Hotel offers the closest proximity to the ski lift in Niederau, less than 20 meters away. Built in the 1960's (the first purpose built hotel in the valley) our hotel provides great mountain and village views. It is fair to say that the hotel is more basic than more modern hotels but we feel that we can still compete on value for money,vhospitality, food and price. We have recently taken over the management of the hotel, Autumn 2014 and aim to turn this hotel around so that it can live up to the great potential that it has due to its enviable location. All the nightlife, ski bus for those whom want to travel to the other piste in the valley, shops and banks can be reached in 5 minutes walk. Our two bars have events each week including live music, pub quiz and DJ's. We aim to offer a warm friendly welcome and we wish to make your holiday a success. We have noted previous comments and aim to address each and every one of them in turn. The hotel is suitable for groups of young people, sports clubs and private guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sporthotel Niederau Hotel Wildschonau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing