We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good local meal with a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boulis Taverna

Boulis Taverna
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Lakones
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Romantic, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Good local meal with a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016

We visited in late June when we were seeking a restaurant for lunch with a view over Paleokastritsa, after driving ourselves on a tour of the north of the island. Unfortunately there were no tables for 6 on the balcony as it’s so narrow, but we had a table inside the French doors and enjoyed the shade on a hot day, still with the view out to sea. As it was lunch, a few of our party fancied a simple omelette, noting that there were a number of versions listed on the menu, but unfortunately it transpired they had no eggs that day! In the end we all had fairly main meals which were nicely cooked. This is a homely and traditional rustic taverna and good value. The couple who run the taverna were friendly and welcoming to us – though they seemed to enjoy bickering between themselves in the kitchen – which was quite an entertaining side-show to the lunch……. maybe because he forgot the eggs that morning!

  • Visited June 2016
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    51
    9
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
woore cheshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Greek food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2016

Visited on the back of trip advisor comments and recommendation of our host in Paleokastritsa. Excellant views but unable to sit outside as very windy. Owners clearly care about their food and help in explaining what is in the various special dishes. Went for traditional Greek food which included stefaddo and a pork and mushroom dish. Both were Excellant and washes down with a free glass of kumquat liquor provided free by the owner. Quaint surrounds, unpretentious and good value for money

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richardWooreCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful view, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2016

If you want to experience traditional Greek food at its best, this is the restaurant to choose. The food that we were served at this family run restaurant was a high light of our stay in Greece. Not only is the food, atmosphere and service all exceptional, but the view is breathtaking. Well worth the the trip up the mountain!

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denys299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

Walked up the mountain today from Paleokastritsa to get to Lakones, and it was well worth the effort as we had an excellent home-cooked meal at Boulis Taverna. We sat at a table with a superb view while Mr and Mr Boulis were both busy at work in the kitchen. We both chose oven-cooked specials, and they were absolutely delicious, as was their home-made walnut cake. Also had a glass of the local rose wine from the village. I would highly recommend a meal at this taverna. Even contemplating walking up again to have another meal there...

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We'd have walked up a mountain for food like this....In fact we did.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2016

Walked up the donkey path from Paleo for the views and the chance of a meal. Immediately on entering we knew we were in safe culinary hands. The kitchen, on the left as you enter, Mr Boulis hard at work and Mrs Boulis plating and serving. Very rarely, sitting down you know whatever you chose will be perfect. Mousaka, on offer everywhere in Greece has long since been abandoned by me as often it is reheated in a microwave, dry and bland. Seeing Mrs Boulis emboldened me to try it one more time somehow knowing it would be good. It arrived. I was wrong. It was wonderful and any other adjective you may wish to add. A green salad with onions and olives as an acompliment and the obligatory Mithos. Bliss and the only problem was I wished to turn back time and repeat. Sometimes the pleasure is so great. Oh. Nearly forgot. I finished off with homemade walnut cake...abosolute heaven.

  • Visited July 2016
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boulis Taverna also viewed

Paleokastritsa, Corfu
 
Paleokastritsa, Corfu
Paleokastritsa, Corfu
 

Been to Boulis Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing