We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a spectacular location, but could do with a spruce-up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Uluwatu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This is the third Anantara property I have stayed at and it matched the others in some respects but not in others. The rooms are big, airy and well-appointed. The setting on top of the cliffs in Uluwatu is spectacular, especially at sunset. The food is very good, without being mind-blowing and the service is friendly and attentive, always with a smile, as you would expect.
Where it falls down is some of the quality of the finishing, with cracks in walls, areas needing a good lick of paint, and just a few other things that make it fall short of being a genuine 5-star property.
We had an ocean view room with its own pool, which was great, though these pools are all interconnected to your neighbours so you won't much privacy if others are out swimming. Also, they don't really catch the sunlight, so it's not as warm out there as it otherwise might be.
As others have said, the resort isn't really close to anything that you can walk to, but this is true of most places in this part of Bali. Stay in Seminyak if you want to be able to walk everywhere (we split our time on this trip between Uluwatu and Seminyak). If you can, find a driver you can deal with directly, as this will be cheaper than booking through the hotel.
Very much enjoyed our stay, but there is room for improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank flavour2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Dear flavour2804,

Thank you for the feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed the room, restaurants and that our staff were able to provide excellent service.
We are currently refurbishing many of the guest rooms and public areas. You may not have noticed that our cliff side restaurant is sporting new permanent waterproof roofing and retractable blinds to enable it to operate in all weather. We will gradually be carrying out further improvements without inconvenience to our guests.
We hope to welcome you back in the future when next you return to Bali.
Kind regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

42 - 46 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2017

We booked Anantara to end our honeymoon in a really nice hotel!
We paid a fair bit for 4 nights stay so expected a lot. The rooms themselves are great, large space and clean! They give so many bottled waters its handy and the hot tub etc is great.
The breakfast is fantastic, loved it every morning and the view of the surfers and sea was brilliant every day as well as the sunset.
Offered us a free photography session which was really good and got a picture for free.

The only thing that really frustrated me was the location... but most places seemed spaced out in Uluwatu.
However to get to the main road was like a 5 - 8 minute walk and then you would have to walk along non existent pathways with cars/bikes coming past (they are currently building pathways so its a construction site everywhere).
What was very bad in my opinion was they had Anantara vehicles and 2-3 staff at times outside - it was quite dark so we wanted a lift to the main road instead of walking through the dark and the staff member tried to charge us 50,000 IDR... it was literally 0.2miles out of the place! We did a 4 mile trip for 24,000 IDR. The staff member was really cheeky when asking this, seemed really rude. We opted to walk.

The hotel I felt try get money out of you... the food etc is expensive compared to other places locally.
Also when we asked to book transport to airport the woman said it is 660,000 IDR which we knew was wayyyy too much... we said no then she mentioned oh we have a special price of 360,000 IDR at the moment would you like to take this price... so it looked like they would have charged us 660,000 if we said yes to that.

Other than that, I had a lovely stay but it was overpriced. We played in Alaya Resort in Ubud before this and paid 50% less for same nights and that was more of a 5 star hotel/service.

Room Tip: Expect monkey noises at night!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Dear HarveyS10,

Thank you for sharing this and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy you had a good overall stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and complimentary
photography session. Our location is one of the outstanding features that many of our guests appreciate it does take you off the beaten track to somewhat however the reward is the fantastic views.
We hope to see you again when next you visit Bali.
Kind Regards
Allan & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I've been fortunate enough to have seen & experienced more than my fair share of hotels around the world - some great, some OK, and some not so good. As such I think I'm well positioned to have a reasonable idea of what to expect.

In that context I've never experienced a hotel so remote from expectation as this one! So wide is the gap, so big is the disappointment, we "voted with our feet & wallet" and checked out early (after just 2 nights instead of 7), and moved to a property that were confident would meet (& even exceed) our expectations. "Tired" and "in need of renovation" are understatements when it comes to this property.!

The only positives I can find to balance my feedback is that the food was generally of a good standard (albeit that the restaurant itself lacks any atmosphere at all), and that the staff really did try where possible. Additionally, after only a little resistance, the Assistant Front Desk Supervisor agreed to refund the cost of our cancelled nights (that we had pre paid), and later acknowledged that "many people give us similar feedback".

I read other travellers feedback out how wonderful the breakfast is. I disagree - it's OK, but certainly no more than you'd expect from an average hotel.

It's noteworthy that despite the staff giving generally good service, the General Manager declined to talk to us about our stay, despite both my requests to do so.

This is certainly not the worst hotel in the world, there is plenty about it that's just fine, (depending on what you're looking for), but it's also a million miles away from being a top hotel!

What a shame - a single property has destroyed the way I perceive a hotel brand, and as such that brand has likely lost a customer for life.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Nick G,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an great guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Trust you enjoyed the complimentary luxury transport and our driver service. You may have noticed we are currently upgrading and refurbishing many of the guest rooms and facilities and we hope to welcome you back next time you choose to visit Bali.
Kind Regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We decided to splurge on our last couple of nights in Bali and stay here and boy was it an absolute treat! We were lucky enough to have a room with a private pool (well semi private as you shared with your neighbours but there is a wall between) but that didnt bother us at all as we were always alone when we used it. The service was immacule and the view and infinity pools just stunning. Breakfast was also the best buffet I've experienced (which was included in our booking). Other than that food and drinks were pretty expensive but that is to be expected. They also had a lot of seafood on the menu which wasn't too good for us since we don't like seafood but there is other choices on the menu and the food was always declicious. There was also lots of complimentary food and drinks. It's the kind of hotel where you just stay there by the gorgeous pool all day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sallykha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear sallykha,

Thank you for highlighting the areas that made your stay with us memorable. I'm pleased to hear our staff were able to deliver good service to you and that you also enjoyed our fantastic location and the views. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

For anyone who is not used to complete luxury this was a real eye opener! The room we had came with a walk in pool. The room itself was huge and so nicely laid out. The hotel itself is situated between two great beaches (Padang Padang, bingin bingin, dreamland) that they provide shuttles for. The buffet breakfast was 10/10 and I could not fault. The staff were so well organised and everyone knew who you were or what special occasion you were celebrating. A truly unbelievable experience!!

Room Tip: If you can, get the pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Paz S,
"Unreal" this is always a wonderful way to start a review, I am so happy to read you loved our location, the buffet breakfast and the service from our staff. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uluwatu
5.2 km away
Alila Villas Uluwatu
Alila Villas Uluwatu
#1 of 10 in Uluwatu
1,089 reviews
0.5 km away
Suarga Padang Padang
Suarga Padang Padang
#3 of 10 in Uluwatu
327 reviews
3.8 km away
RIMBA Jimbaran BALI by AYANA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,565 reviews
14.5 km away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
4.2 km away
AYANA Resort and Spa Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Pemutih - Labuan Sait | Impossible Beach, Uluwatu 80364, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Uluwatu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Uluwatu
Price Range: $382 - $755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascading down Uluwatu’s dramatic cliff-side, Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort reveals an infinite panorama of sky and sea. Signature resort experiences unveil unique perspectives of the Island of the Gods, in a surfer’s paradise of rolling Indian Ocean waves. Carved organically into the cliff, 74 designer suites and villas seamlessly blend innovation and indulgence with contemporary Balinese artistry. Elegant minimalist architecture and floor-to-ceiling glass windows frame spectacular coastal scenery. Sophisticated interiors open onto al fresco decks, providing luxurious spaces to soak up the expansive ocean scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Flight Raja Travels Singapore PTE LTD, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Anantara Uluwatu Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing