We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Batu Kandik Homestay(Uluwatu)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$18
US$16
Booking.com
View Deal
US$7
US$5
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$26
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$14
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
US$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$887
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bingin Green View(Uluwatu)(Great Value!)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (947)
Filter reviews
948 results
Traveller rating
540
225
92
54
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
540
225
92
54
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean front suiteimpossible beachoutdoor jacuzzisea fire saltteppanyaki restaurantpool restaurantseafood bbqbose sound systempool access suitebuffet breakfastour honeymoonmain buildingspa bathfree shuttlepool sidethe cliffcoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 948 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We booked Anantara to end our honeymoon in a really nice hotel!
We paid a fair bit for 4 nights stay so expected a lot. The rooms themselves are great, large space and clean! They give so many bottled waters its handy and the hot tub etc is great.
The breakfast is fantastic, loved it every morning and the view of the surfers and sea was brilliant every day as well as the sunset.
Offered us a free photography session which was really good and got a picture for free.

The only thing that really frustrated me was the location... but most places seemed spaced out in Uluwatu.
However to get to the main road was like a 5 - 8 minute walk and then you would have to walk along non existent pathways with cars/bikes coming past (they are currently building pathways so its a construction site everywhere).
What was very bad in my opinion was they had Anantara vehicles and 2-3 staff at times outside - it was quite dark so we wanted a lift to the main road instead of walking through the dark and the staff member tried to charge us 50,000 IDR... it was literally 0.2miles out of the place! We did a 4 mile trip for 24,000 IDR. The staff member was really cheeky when asking this, seemed really rude. We opted to walk.

The hotel I felt try get money out of you... the food etc is expensive compared to other places locally.
Also when we asked to book transport to airport the woman said it is 660,000 IDR which we knew was wayyyy too much... we said no then she mentioned oh we have a special price of 360,000 IDR at the moment would you like to take this price... so it looked like they would have charged us 660,000 if we said yes to that.

Other than that, I had a lovely stay but it was overpriced. We played in Alaya Resort in Ubud before this and paid 50% less for same nights and that was more of a 5 star hotel/service.

Room Tip: Expect monkey noises at night!!!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarveyS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 September 2017

Dear HarveyS10,

Thank you for sharing this and we are grateful for your feedback. We are happy you had a good overall stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and complimentary
photography session. Our location is one of the outstanding features that many of our guests appreciate it does take you off the beaten track to somewhat however the reward is the fantastic views.
We hope to see you again when next you visit Bali.
Kind Regards
Allan & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I've been fortunate enough to have seen & experienced more than my fair share of hotels around the world - some great, some OK, and some not so good. As such I think I'm well positioned to have a reasonable idea of what to expect.

In that context I've never experienced a hotel so remote from expectation as this one! So wide is the gap, so big is the disappointment, we "voted with our feet & wallet" and checked out early (after just 2 nights instead of 7), and moved to a property that were confident would meet (& even exceed) our expectations. "Tired" and "in need of renovation" are understatements when it comes to this property.!

The only positives I can find to balance my feedback is that the food was generally of a good standard (albeit that the restaurant itself lacks any atmosphere at all), and that the staff really did try where possible. Additionally, after only a little resistance, the Assistant Front Desk Supervisor agreed to refund the cost of our cancelled nights (that we had pre paid), and later acknowledged that "many people give us similar feedback".

I read other travellers feedback out how wonderful the breakfast is. I disagree - it's OK, but certainly no more than you'd expect from an average hotel.

It's noteworthy that despite the staff giving generally good service, the General Manager declined to talk to us about our stay, despite both my requests to do so.

This is certainly not the worst hotel in the world, there is plenty about it that's just fine, (depending on what you're looking for), but it's also a million miles away from being a top hotel!

What a shame - a single property has destroyed the way I perceive a hotel brand, and as such that brand has likely lost a customer for life.


Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Nick G,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an great guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Trust you enjoyed the complimentary luxury transport and our driver service. You may have noticed we are currently upgrading and refurbishing many of the guest rooms and facilities and we hope to welcome you back next time you choose to visit Bali.
Kind Regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

We decided to splurge on our last couple of nights in Bali and stay here and boy was it an absolute treat! We were lucky enough to have a room with a private pool (well semi private as you shared with your neighbours but there is a wall between) but that didnt bother us at all as we were always alone when we used it. The service was immacule and the view and infinity pools just stunning. Breakfast was also the best buffet I've experienced (which was included in our booking). Other than that food and drinks were pretty expensive but that is to be expected. They also had a lot of seafood on the menu which wasn't too good for us since we don't like seafood but there is other choices on the menu and the food was always declicious. There was also lots of complimentary food and drinks. It's the kind of hotel where you just stay there by the gorgeous pool all day.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sallykha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear sallykha,

Thank you for highlighting the areas that made your stay with us memorable. I'm pleased to hear our staff were able to deliver good service to you and that you also enjoyed our fantastic location and the views. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

For anyone who is not used to complete luxury this was a real eye opener! The room we had came with a walk in pool. The room itself was huge and so nicely laid out. The hotel itself is situated between two great beaches (Padang Padang, bingin bingin, dreamland) that they provide shuttles for. The buffet breakfast was 10/10 and I could not fault. The staff were so well organised and everyone knew who you were or what special occasion you were celebrating. A truly unbelievable experience!!

Room Tip: If you can, get the pool room.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Paz S,
"Unreal" this is always a wonderful way to start a review, I am so happy to read you loved our location, the buffet breakfast and the service from our staff. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to them.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We stayed in an ocean view pool suite and it was possibly the nicest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Private pools are usually tiny and shaded by a wall- not here!! This private pool was infinity and looked over the ocean. It was HUGE for a private pool so I would definitely recommend this room. The actual hotel pool was also amazing and not busy at all.
Breakfast was amazing. Such a huge choice of things to eat from donuts to freshly made French toast and eggs. The style is buffet but you order your eggs, crepes, French toast and waffles at a counter making them fresh.
Hotel staff were lovely and the shuttle to Padang Padang beach was a nice bonus. There's happy hour at the hire which stretches over sunset which is also incredible at this hotel.
It was our anniversary when we stayed meaning we got petals on the bed, bottle of sparkling wine and a special anniversary cake later in the evening. Our table at dinner also had candles around it and heart shaped petals in the middle- a really nice surprise!
You MUST stay here if you are in uluwatu!!

Room Tip: Choose the pool suite wih ocean view- often there are great offers bringing the price down.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 September 2017

Dear Anna H,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay with us at the Anantara Uluwatu. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay, especially the private pool and those incredible ocean views at sunset. Happy to hear you were celebrated your anniversary with us.

I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Ananatara Uluwatu again soon.

Kind Regards
Allan & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews