We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
8
28
31
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8
28
31
19
13
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2015

We came out from Paris to stay at this hotel for one night so we could go out to the Chateau de Vaux le Vicomte.
The strangest part about this journey was the lack of taxi cabs in town. We had a very difficult time getting one from the station to the hotel.
The hotel itself is in a lovely setting, however, there was a odd odor in the lobby area when we came in. Our room was fairly spacious - if a little dated and had a nice view of the grounds and the pool (which was already closed for the season when we were there).
The front desk WAS able to call a cab for us to go out to the Chateau and we were able to arrange with that driver to pick us up late that evening.
Breakfast the next morning (12 euros) was very disappointing. And since you are a little ways away from town, there are few options. There are cheeses and meats, cereals, yogurts, breads, coffee and juice. There were also very cold rubbery scrambled eggs and bacon that looked raw.
As we prepared to leave the next morning, we asked the front desk to call a cab for us back to the train station. No cabs were available and, although we had a train to catch in one hour, the front desk offered little help but to suggest we walk. Which we had to do, carrying all of our heavy luggage (no roller bags!). It wasn't a terrible walk, but carrying large bags was not the way we wanted to start our morning.
Although the room was decent, we found the service, public areas and breakfast lacking.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rgwnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. Easy to find with secure private parking. Pull up in front of the hotel and nip in to reception and a valet will take your keys and park your car.
The hotel has a spa and does various treatments but I would book these ahead of your stay as seemed popular. There is a hair salon too. The spa was €15 per person to use.
Our room was comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities, a well stocked mini bar that wasn't exorbitantly priced and free toiletries.. Bed was extremely comfortable.
The bar is quite popular especially on a hot day. We had a few beers served with delicious cheese choice buns that were complimentary whilst listening to a sax player.
At night we are in Geirges restaurant which has 1 Michelin star . There are various set priced options plus a la carte. We chose the €54 option which was a 3 course meal. This in fact turned out to have 8.
To begin there was an Amuse Bouche of several things, I chose pate served on Apricot Toast. We were then served with our main course of Pork steak. This was followed by a refreshing ice cream then my desert of Hot Grand Marnier soufflé served with a shot of liqueur. Next came a selection of small sweets. The wine list is extensive and we took the waiters suggestion of a white wine from the Loire Valley €63.
The breakfast next morning was fab, selection of hot and cold items. Bacon, sausage, srambled egg. Cold meats, cheeses, smoked salmon. Cereals, yogurts croissants and pan au chocolate. Breads, jam and honey. You could even add champagne to your orange juice. Great selection of coffees and tea.
All within 5 mins walk of the cathedral and shops. The light show at the cathedral is something that isn't to be missed - amazing!!
Would I stay here again? Definitely!!

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank 0804julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2015 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights after our Air BnB fell through. The hotel was immaculately clean, and the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Breakfast, as with many European hotels was extra, 12Euros. But it was well catered, and the nicest thing was the fresh squeezed orange juice. The hotel had a lovely setting in the trees at the edge of Melun, with a very clean swimming pool and a tennis court. The rooms were average sized for Europe, but had a full balcony for each room. Strangely, there were very few people staying here, surprising for such a nice hotel.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
1  Thank WanderingSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2015 via mobile

I arrived having been told it was superb ....
It is well worn with a stale food aroma ... The restaurant pool bar and sauna were all closed ( pool indefinitely).
I was told to eat at the Buffalo grill opposite.
Security ... Non existent !! The gates are kept open all night, front doors are unlocked and unmanned, no perimeter fence to guard against public entering from all sides ...
Need I go on ??
I had arrived from UK for the weekend to organise a function and rooms ...
I will be spending my time finding an alternative venue and not staying for the two nights booked !!!

  • Stayed: March 2015
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudson2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Fortunately I was only staying here two nights. it was like stepping back to the sixties. A bit run down and no Bar.
The staff were helpful but the food was truly awful. Cold bacon, vold scranbled egg in a cold breakfast room.
The rooms were clean, tidy but a bit run down. It was expensive and most uninviting

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
legrandmonarque, Directeur général at Hotel Restaurant Le Grand Monarque, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Sir
Our hotel has been built in the seventies and as our name is “Le Grand Monarque”, we do not pretend, as you may have figured it out, to be a design hotel. Interior design is a personal feeling. Works are done regularly to enhance our but saddly we can not please everyone’s taste.

Also we attached great importance in satisfying our guest with the quality of our services and confort. We do not have a bar room but we would have been very pleased to serve you a drink at any time and anywhere like your room, the lobby, the restaurant, next to the pool… For the breakfast service, we already took actions to improve it by hiring a dedicated person recently.
Could you please give us some more information concerning the day of your stay as to know if more actions have to be done?

Waiting hearing from you,
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews