We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Snow Wonderland”
Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2009

The Hotel is in a stunning hillside location with views across Finland and Sweden (Just 15 minutes walk to the border). The Log Cabin we booked for a little extra was well worth it, our own Sauna, walk in shower and simple cooking facilities, 2 pin 220v electricity to charge camera batteries and comfortable twin beds. It made it more of an adventure getting wrapped up in warm clothes for the short walk to the main buildings, as it was minus 30 degrees during our stay, the snow was so clean and crisp with fresh snow falls most days. The transfer from Tromso airport Norway is a long 4 hours but the scenery is stunning. You will need some Norwegian Krone for a snack at the airport, they take euros but can only give Krone in change, and the shops on return for souvenirs is the same. If you want a change from the hotel food, which was good and fresh but there was not a lot of choice, you can walk 5 minutes to a Restaurant, very popular with the locals next to the Garage (which sells almost everything you could need)at the bottom of the drive. If you want to walk to Karesuando (The Swedish village just over the river 15 minutes away on foot) you may need to take Swedish Krona although they can take euros change again is in their local currency. There is a beautiful wooden Church in this village worth a visit this can be viewed on a website on Google search for Karesuando webcam, this has a live view and you can see the weather, depth of snow and the traffic passing between Finland and Sweden. etc. We are already planning our next visit, the staff and the Hotel were all extremely good, I have also posted a review for this area under the town of Karesuvanto (the Finland location) worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Constantraveller61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 752 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2009

Travelled wtih Transun on 3night break flying into Tromso in Norway. Transfer quite long but scenery enroute spectacular! Rooms warm and clean and functional. I hear they are in the process of being updated. Trips included were well organised and very enjoyable. Staff excellent and paid special attention to my daughter including a fantastic surprise birthday party. All food was included in my package and while a little limited in choice, was plentiful and well cooked. wifi access for those who want to keep in contact with the outside world. Would definately return again

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brightonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2009

Absolutely amazing holiday, the staff were friendly and helpful especially Graham and Lee, the food was very good, as long as you liked what was on the menu as not much choice (we did).
I note that someone said that the lodge was being updated next year, it does need it, but having said that the rooms are clean and warm.
We had great fun driving the Husky dogs, snowmobiles and seeing the raindeer farm.

The hotel is in a lovely location on the borders of Norway, Finland and Sweden.

We would go again especially if the rooms are updated.

WE DIDN'T GET TO SEE THE NORTHERN LIGHTS!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teatimeflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Absolutely amazing holiday, the staff were friendly and helpful the food was fantastic and the atmosphere was perfect. There were a few things that were not perfect though, the optional trips which were advertised in the new brochure a week before we arrived were still the same price but when we arrived they had gone up by an average of £25 per person. The overnight husky expedition was out of this world but was cut unbelievably short due to too much snow which had fallen the week before, which was fine but to have paid alot of money just to do the 40km a day trek and have just 15km a day it was extremely disappointing as we could have done the northern lights trip, got 2 husky expeditions, a reindeer expedition, snow shoe lesson and snowmobiling for less money. When we complained to the MD he was extremely rude saying that due to the snow we could not travel. It always snows there and if it was due to the snow they should advertise 40km a day in less november or march like the husky guide told us. But apart from this we really enjoyed ourselves. The food was fantastic the soups were delicious and used the food they had available.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ozzieadven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2009

We flew into Kitila and Graham took us on a 2 hour transfer to the Davvi, enroute we saw Reindeer crossing the road, the snow was falling and had covered the trees it was magical.
The lodge and rooms were warm, I didn't need all those jumpers as the cold weather gear we were given was fab. The staff were all very friendly and welcoming and they made the whole experience a delight as they would spend time chatting and nothing was too much trouble - they made a difference. The food was lovely served by the cheery Moira.
The trips were amazing, the lady at Reindeer Camp was nice and very interesting, it was so relaxing. The Huskies were full of life as we whizzed out into the dark and wilderness.
The Snowmobiles were the best! what fun, Our Ice Fishing trip with Lee and Simon on the frozen river were great - even though ours must have got away!
We took a fell trip, straight up the fell, at the top we could see Norway, Sweden, Finland and the Mountains of Russia and some 9 miles in the distance the mast at the top of the Davvi. We went to Cotta and cooked sausages over an open fire and looked out at the sunsetting, absolutely beautiful.
The museum was very interesting and the Snow Castle was amazing, we saw a Moose on the way ! we had lunch there and Simon and Lara presented us with a birthday cake that they had kindly made!
Peter took us out for a nice long walk on the Snowshoes trail which was fun! We spent some of our spare time on toboggans, great fun and very good exercise.
The Northern Lights came out - faintly but nevertheless they appeared. We were lucky as it had been snowing all week and the sky was cloudy. Saturday afternoon it lifted and the moon and stars appeared early evening and at 12 we saw them!
I am glad that we went for 7 days, it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harpo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Address: Kaesivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto 99470, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing