We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transun Travel - Lapland December 2010 - Davvi Arctic Lodge”
Review of Davvi Arctic Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Davvi Arctic Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2010

We came back last week from our wonderful Lapland trip with Transun Travel.We have had amazing time in Lapland, thanks to Transun. Everything was planned very well and it was so well organised. We have stayed at the Davvi Arctic Lodge, the room was warm, a good size and always clean. Food was good too, and we were never hungry.The Hotel staff (Iain, Sue, Laura, Ross and the restaurant staff) were superb. We were in “Shooting Stars” group, all our activities and rides were absolutely fantastic. We loved each and every adventure so much (and there were so many of them as everything has been promised as per Transun's Lapland 2010 brochure). My children (aged 7 + 4) enjoyed every minute of our stay in Lapland (both of them wanted to stay a bit longer) and they loved meeting Father Christmas. Father Christmas and His Elves knew all about my children (their names, ages, what they like, what they do, basically everything about them). Father Christmas was even dancing with my daughter. For us it was pure magic. The village of Karesuando is so unspoilt and natural and def real Lapland, nothing like Rovaniemi. All Transun staff were very helpful, informative, pleasant. Nothing was too much trouble for Transuns staff (Rachel, Greta, Katrina).They were totally organized, superb with excellent attention to detail. They are a real credit to Transun. Our guide Katrina was absolutely fantastic, friendly and considerate, all children liked her very much. Even when we walked down to the church with Katrina and she informed us that the vicar was not going to be there for the carol service, she made excellent effort with the singing. We all sang together and it was fabulous service. Well done Transun Travel and the team.". What a great time we have had and it was the most magical experience which we have enjoyed very much.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
5  Thank dasha_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

696 - 700 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2010

I'm so pleased we ignored all the negative comments posted about this hotel. We have just returned from the holiday of a lifetime with our 2 young girls. Yes, the Hotel was basic but very clean, warm and comfortable. The food was yes, basic, but very tasty, hot and plentiful. However surely the whole point of going to a remote place like this is for the magical scenery and the trips, which were out of this world. We shall never forget how truly wonderful they were and all just the right length of time considering how cold it can get. We were given very warm arctic suits, the ski wear we took didn't get used so I wouldn't bother investing in any! However we did take warm fleece balaclavas, hats, scarves and ski gloves which were much appreciated and needed to keep warm! The staff were amazing Katrina and Getta and couldn't do enough for you. I'm sure anyone going to this hotel will have an amazing time, just wish we could do it all again!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I have just come back from this hotel and can tell you I agree with Stephen on every point appart from the pub down the round as it not somewhere we went due to it been a family holiday and not a booze cruise !!!

However the place was set in a lovely area giving the kids plenty of room to play and explore. Cabins were big enough and definately clean and we glad we paid the extra to stay in the cabins which Stephen from Ilkley may want to do next time.

Staff were great, beer was not as expensive as first thought and all in all the families that were there were all happy with the holiday !!!

We now beleive in Santa again 100% and next year we are going with Transun to find the Lock Ness monster !!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Had a great time, staying at the Davvi for 3 nights, the staff were all very friendly, polite & helpful. The food was well cooked and a good choice & was surprised at free tea & coffee.

We all really enjoyed ourselves - remember to take plenty of warm clothes

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueys39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2010

I did the research and thought I knew what to expect and those expectations were exceeded!

FAB Experience

FAB staff could not do enough (Transun, Hotel, and local guides)

Hotel - comfortable, clean & family friendly - we stayed in a Cabin & all rooms very warm.

FOOD all home cooked including tasty soups (which yes may have used up some left overs - so what - no waste and tasted good. For big eaters, or those wanting to try something else you could always go back for more! Don't expect haute cuisine this is not the South of France - it is the Arctic Circle and the hotel is just under an hour from the airport with something like 2 flights a week - you go for the experience, having said that the food was good, rustic and tasty with options for the kids.
Personally I don't believe in the kids having a separate choice, they should eat what the adults do, but understand some kids can be a pain with their eating (including mine).

All this in the Arctic Circle and on the outer reaches where access for supply must be a REAL issue - unlike the South of France! Like the Prada and Chardonnay brigade I too have stayed in classy accommodation - but trust me if you get on board for the real experience this trip gave you, nothing else can compete . I liked the friendliness, yes some elements were not perfect but were also not bad, it actually made the whole experience a lot more relaxed - MAGICAL !

Views across to Sweden were amazing.

The trips were amazing - just the right length for young ones, every effort was made to make it all enjoyable including Greta having a race with my eldest to warm his feet up . . . thanks Greta for all your patience and interest in the kids (let us know when you have made the 'helicopter' type machine that my youngest kept telling you you should build . . . . still don't know what that was all about !)

Cannot recommend the whole Santa experience enough - we definitely saw the real one this time !

Thanks to all involved and all the other like minded families that we made friends with and chatted to,

Clare

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClareMNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Davvi Arctic Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davvi Arctic Lodge

Address: Kaesivarrentie 3771, Karesuvanto 99470, Finland
Region: Finland > Lapland > Karesuvanto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Karesuvanto
Hotel Class:3 star — Davvi Arctic Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Davvi Arctic Hotel Karesuvanto
Davvi Hotel Karesuvanto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing