We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Cumbres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2017

After working in Montevideo for a week , a friiend suggested me to go there and It was a very good advise ... But only for one night ... Not enough ! Wonderful place , very nice room and very nicely decorated by the owner with special objects from allover the world .Ancient costumes on the wall etc... The tea ceremony is great but it's a meal, mine arrived so late for a misunderstanding of the "non speaking enough English receptionist girl " and I couldn't finish it! Be aware not to take the bicycle after sunset I was almost attacked by two dogs in the property who scaredme but I manage to scare them more shouting ! Very nice dinner too ...

Room Tip: Casco Laguna with terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

Writing this review will take me a while since there is a lot to tell. After travelling around Argentina and Chile for four weeks, we decided to spend 6 nights here to relax and breath. We booked the Cielo room, where you have two bath tubs, one inside and one outside.

The Cielo room is on the first floor above the restaurant. It is a very spacious room - very very big bed (two twin beds actually), two balconies and a big bathroom. When we arrived, and we were in bathroom getting ready for the night, champagne arrived and little chocolate brownies. That was a nice little gift! The chocolate brownies you will get every night as the housekeeper will clean the room twice a day. Ours was called Silvia and she was so incredibly kind.

About the room:
- both Jacuzzis had problems when we were there. The one inside had buttons that were broken off so we couldn't control the bubbles. The one outside only served boiling hot water. Both problems were adressed with the staff at the reception  and were taken care of the same day.
- there were two twin beds next to each other so if you don't want, you don't have to sleep in the same bed ;-)
- privacy-wise: the balcony for us was very in sight. When we walked in the balcony, everybody could see us from head to toe. Also in the room, our room looks over the swimming pool and people can look inside.
- unfortunately the last two days we didn't have any internet in the room and we had to go down in the lobby to receive our emails. We asked the staff to fix it but unfortunately they didn't.

The room was amazingly spacious, but needed an upgrade since we felt it hasn't been used since a while.

Surrounding:
- view is amazing. The beautiful sunset and the walks you can make on the area.
- you can rent mountainbikes. We used them to cycle to the supermarket. Don't underestimate that Hill going back up!

Hotel:
- staff is very kind and very helpful. 
- they have a nice spa on the ground floor and a very nice pool. Even the gym was good - they have weights and not just cardio machines.
- this hotel is unique and very calm.
- the breakfast that is included is very good and we enjoyed this a lot.

Restaurant:
This is exactly where this hotel lost its two extra points. The food they serve here is good, but so overpriced!! If you would drink a normal bottle of red wine and two courses, you would spend 200 American dollars. For lunch, sandwiches are 30 dollars  (!!). To be clear: the food is amazing. But because you have no other option to go to (except renting a car or calling a cab) I felt forced to spend that much, also because the rooms aren't that cheap.

On our last night, we ate at the restaurant and we decided not to drink wine. We heard the older man in the restaurant  (he had grey hair and was a little fat) complain about us just drinking sparkling water. He treated us like we didn't matter.

Al together, this hotel is beautiful and has a beautiful scenery. We enjoyed our stay but the restaurant was forced and we felt mistreated a lot by the staff there. Just because we don't look like we cannot spend as much as the rich looking people around us, doesn't mean we can't.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mariecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

We stayed here after a long trip in Argentina so it was just what we needed. The hotel has a fantastic energy, very relaxing and positive. Beautiful and unique art and antiquaries can be found everywhere including your room. I was very impressed by the service and helped us with some of our questions (i.e. rent a car and the car rental company actually came to the hotel). The hotel has gorgeous views and people specifically drive up there during sunset. I especially loved our room, which was very original with a artistic/bohemian touch. It felt like a little home for us. On top of everything the restaurant was THE BEST of our whole trip in Argentina and Punta del Este. The food was spectacular! The only thing is that we spent a lot of our time in La Barra which wasn't close but by car it was fine. Anyway we wouldn't trade the location and quality of this place for a bit of a drive. Was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2016

This is a hotel with a unique view, it is located on the top of the hill and if you are inside the swimming pool you can se a continuity between the pool water and the see. the rooms are thematics, old fashion decorated a nice place to stye week end.

Room Tip: Romantic escape
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Javier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2016

This is the place you come to relax. It is situated on a hill above Laguna del Sauce and offers great views of the surrounding area. At check-in they offer you a choice of beverage along with some light pastries. They offer an on-site restaurant, which was a bit on the expensive side but the food was decent and I guess that's what you pay for convenience. Punta del Este is not that far away if you want to get away, but there is also a grocery store nearby if you want to pick up snacks.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ghart83181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Las Cumbres
2.7 km away
Hotel Del Lago Golf & Art Resort
32.1 km away
Solanas Punta del Este
Solanas Punta del Este
#22 of 67 in Punta del Este
686 reviews
12.6 km away
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
Barradas Parque Hotel & Spa
#4 of 67 in Punta del Este
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Club Hotel Casapueblo
Club Hotel Casapueblo
#2 of 6 in Punta Ballena
414 reviews
3.6 km away
Villa Toscana Boutique Hotel
Villa Toscana Boutique Hotel
#29 of 67 in Punta del Este
75 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Puesta del Sol
Hotel Puesta del Sol
#6 of 6 in Punta Ballena
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres

Address: Route No. 12, Km 3.5 | Laguna del Sauce, Las Cumbres 20000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Las Cumbres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Las Cumbres
Price Range: S$178 - S$469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 10km from the city of Maldonado and offers an outdoor pool, spa facilities and great views of the lake and hills. Solanas beach is 4 km. The rooms are spacious and elegant and come with free Wi-Fi access.The rooms at Hotel & Spa Las Cumbres are equipped with air conditioning, flat-screen satellite TV and DVD player. All rooms have bathtub (with exceptions) and some have a balcony or terrace and a spa tub. A full continental breakfast is served daily. French or Italian food is offered in the restaurant. (French italo) Many of the entertainment and the famous beaches of Punta del Este are 18 km away.The International Airport Corvette Captain CA Curbelo is a 10 minute drive. Free private parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Art & Spa Las Cumbres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art And Spa Las Cumbres
Hotel Art Las Cumbres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing