We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 11 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
6
8
2
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6
8
2
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2019 via mobile

I will start to say about the room , luxury and elegant , clean and spacious . The restaurant it was also perfect , very nice and friendly staff , the food very tasty , varied breakfast . The only problem it was that sometimes from the bathroom came a bad smell .

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobertA5045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
restaurant m, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2019

Thank you for your review! We are extremely pleased to receive such compliments. We assure you that we will try to solve the problem you mentioned. We hope to be your choice every time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019 via mobile

The good parts: the rooms are very nice, big and nicely decorated. Almost all of them have sea view. Also the quality of the food is good.
The negative aspects: too many tourists, it became a mass spot for uneducated people. There were lines everywhere in the restaurantes...you had to wait tens of minutes to grab some food. The outside barbecues were canceled 3 days after our arrival - mid august. Same on the food and beverage management.
The cleaning of the rooms was done unappropriate.
The beach was fine, but there were present near beachchairs a lot of illegal sellers, maybe thiefs, no clerk from the resort did anything to stop them.
So, good bye Phoenicia, we will not came to you any more!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank brebelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
restaurant m, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you liked the design of our rooms, but we are sorry for the problems you mentioned! We assure you that we will take them into consideration and we will try to solve them as soon as possible. We hope to be your choice once again in order to show you that we offer quality services!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019 via mobile

The weekend started early by driving Saturday towards Mamaia from Bucharest at 6.15 am . We were going just for the wk end as our son was there already with my parents. The read was busy but got there in decent time (2h15m). They prefer to stay at Phoenicia due to the wide variety of food they have in the morning and at lunch.
This year they choose the newest hotel Royal for the holiday.

Things I like there:
the room:
- very specious,
- well maintained (1y old hotel)
- it was a junior suite, perfect for them and my son
- had ice and water available in the lobby, complementary from the hotel

Are for improvement:
- the food - the reason my parents prefer this hotel was decent, no longer WOW.
- at was always something missing
- not enough fruits and not enough specialities
- always having a “process” problem: not enough knifes, forks, plates etc

Significant area from improvement:
- as we were not staying in the hotel we went at the reception to pay and eat breakfast with my son
- the POS was not working
- i was advised to go at the hotel ATM to take cash: the ATM of the hotel was not working so we went to other ATM somewhere close bu to take out cash

After eating we went on the beach where the kiosk servicing the beach was a total disaster:
- the POS was not working
- they could not offer you tap beer, it was only available for all inclusive
- 45’ later they could not accept cash as there cash machine broke down
- the cocktails were really amateurishly and service poor

Same day 4h later:
- the POS was not working neither at the restaurant nor at the beach

1 week later:
- the POS on the beach still not working - probably they were surprised by the summer! :-)
- still poor service and beverages

Guys, you have a great location and infrastructure, pls get yr “staff” together and solve this annoying issues and raise the bar in service offering.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Cossmminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenicia H, Public Relations Manager at Phoenicia Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry for the inconvenience caused and we will try to solve the problems you mentioned as soon as possible. We hope to be your choice once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

I,ve been there in a small getaway with two kids, the hotel
Is very nice, the rooms are big and spacious, i reallly loved it! The food is great and also the beach! Iehat it need is a good spa for rainy days!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank cristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This hotel is ok, but not really a 5 star, rooms are clean, but the views are terrible! And everything is so crowded. But they have a beach of the hotel, and lots of pools. A special plus we can give to the cleaning of the hotel and the food, very good food. Stuff was also friendly.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 321cristinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews