We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic luxury in paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mystic River Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Negroman
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017

We happened upon this beautiful place looking for lunch and were blown away by the incredible food and beauty of the place. We were about to search for an Airbnb place but nothing could compare to Mystic River. The rooms are gorgeous, with our own deck and soaking pool overlooking the river. We were blessed to dine with the owners Tom and Nadege as it was the slow time of year for the whole tourist industry in Belize. She is from France and they make their own cheeses from the goats they raise there. It was the most lovely cheese and perfect for those with lactose issues. You must visit if only for the restaurant. We saw iguanas, woodpeckers and toucans from the dining patio area and from our balcony each day. Everything was impeccable. The staff were happy, polite and helpful. We strolled the grounds and enjoyed hundreds of kinds of plants, trees, and flowers. I was really surprised by the lack of mosquitos there. We travel quite a bit and this was one of the finest experiences which we have ever had. Only wish we had taken time to canoe down the Macal river. It is about a mile down a rough road, but don't let that dissuade you. You will have no problem even in a car. I have added a photo taken from our table on the dining patio.

Room Tip: Every room has a river view and a private deck, so you can swim, shower or sunbathe nude in privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TJErmoian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Owner at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Good morning TJ
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our food incredible! I will make sure to pass on your compliments to our chef and to our gardeners who work very hard everyday to provide us with fabulous vegetables! Being French means that cheese is a large part of my life and I take great pride is providing our guests with what I love to do! Thank you for the kind compliments and we cannot wait to have you both back at Mystic River. Take care and have a great day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

This place was amazing. The rcabins were comfortable, well maintained and private. We were there at the end of June so it was hot. We were provided with extra fans when we asked. The staff was knowledgeable and helpful about the entire area. The food was fresh, healthy, creative and delicious. I would gladly return.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows that we saw were nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asmith40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We recently stayed at Mystic River for the first 4 days of our honeymoon and it was fabulous! We were lucky enough to stay in room #13 (one of the "Cloud 9" suites) - and it surpassed our expectations! The pictures on the website do not do justice to the beauty of these rooms. The trip started off nicely with Nadege waiting for us just outside the baggage claim area and our van showing up shortly thereafter. It is a solid 2 hour drive to the resort, and the last 25 min or so is on quite a bumpy road, just to be forewarned. We did the pre-paid food plan, and every meal was excellent! This is not specific to Mystic River, but in Belize in general, wine seems to be very expensive, so this was a bit of a surprise for us. The tour prices are a bit more expensive through Mystic river than other local tour companies, but they pick you up and drop you off at the resort which makes up for the difference in price IMO. We did the ATM cave tour and canoed down the river to San Ignacio followed by a tour of Cahel Pech and Xunantunich, all of which were amazing!

Our one and only complaint was that there was not a mini-fridge in the room, which makes you fairly reliant on the resort staff for anything but tap water out of the faucet (which is drinkable, I might add). A big plus was the coffee/tea basket which the resort staff deliver to your room every morning around 7AM.

Room Tip: Room 13 has the best view and most privacy of any of the cloud 9 suites, but they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Manager at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Hello from Mystic River Resort!

It was a pleasure to host you for your Honeymoon. Being in the new Cloud 9 units are a sure treat for newly weds as the room and its view lends a special feel to any stay.

The tours you went on are among the best in Belize and we are happy to know that you enjoyed them.

The little stretch of bumpy road has definitely become a part of the adventure for us and it is our hope that the government will complete the paving which they've already started in that area. We'll also, work on making more items easily accessible to our rooms.

Thank you for choosing Mystic River Resort and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

I have stayed several times over the last few years and decided to try again after making a bonehead move and getting myself burnt up in Toledo district kayaking. I was in pain and needed to save my trip to Belize. I initially had plans for some harder hikes in the jungle but after getting burnt needed some " comforts" I decided to go back to Mistic River and handle some birding. Well, Abi was my guide and he was awesome. A young man with a definite passion for the local birds. I will forever be greatful to him and the lodge for taking great care of me!! Food is always good ( if not designed for the gringo) It is always fresh and healthy. Rooms are super comfy and staff is amazing

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 9morrison67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Manager at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Greetings from the Jungle,

Thank you for choosing to have us take care of you! It was a pleasure to host you and to ensure that your Belize vacation was everything you anticipated.

Abi is very passionate indeed and we too are always amazed by his birding skills. Thank you for highlighting this and the good food. We hope to have you back with us in the near future.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I've been here a dozen times (see previous reviews) and have great news. Mystic River has brand-new rooms that have a private plunge pool the patio and an outdoor shower! Combine that with the privacy of a patio in the jungle and you have a ready-made romantic afternoon sunbathing as you listen to the jungle birds and animals nearby.
I was here last week - the food is still wonderful, Leo and Steve still man the bar efficiently and perfectly, Nadege and Tom still run things smoothly and without a hiccup. They'll pick you up at Belize City Airport and take you back when you're finished with your trip to paradise. Don't miss this beautiful spot!

Room Tip: Rooms 12-14 are new rooms with pool on patio. Rooms 1 & 2 are the most secluded but also farthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Bill_DallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MysticRiverResort, Manager at Mystic River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Greetings from Mystic River Resort!

Thank you for your review of our property and staff! We are thrilled that you were able to have another wonderful Mystic experience with us.

Our property has indeed gotten some new rooms and our Cloud 9 Suites are popular for being a luxurious oasis perfect for a romantic getaway.

As usual, our staff and owners ensure that each guest has the best experience while they stay with us. We will be sure to send praises to Steve, Leo, Tom and Nadege for providing your usual hospitable environment. We do have the best staff and owners!

We thank you once again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to Belize and our property when your travels bring you back to the area.

All the best,
The Mystic River Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Negroman
4.8 km away
Ka'ana Resort
Ka'ana Resort
#4 of 14 in San Ignacio
825 reviews
2.3 km away
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
Table Rock Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in Cristo Rey
637 reviews
1.6 km away
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
The Lodge at Chaa Creek
#5 of 14 in San Ignacio
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Blancaneaux Lodge
Blancaneaux Lodge
#2 of 3 in Mountain Pine Ridge Reserve
438 reviews
9.9 km away
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
Mahogany Hall Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Bullet Tree Falls
140 reviews
8.8 km away
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
Mariposa Jungle Lodge
#1 of 1 in San Antonio
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic River Resort

Address: Mile 6 Cristo Rey Road, Negroman, San Ignacio 00000, Belize
Phone Number:
Region: Belize > Cayo > San Ignacio > Negroman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Negroman
Price Range: $189 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mystic River Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belize at its finest! Nestled on a steep bank of the beautiful Macal River, eco-friendly Mystic River Resort offers the best of all worlds to those who travel to Belize. In this oasis of privacy, serenity and rejuvenation, there are no crowds, just the soothing sound of birds, rustling trees, soft breezes and breath-taking views. We are a full-service Jungle Resort with an open-air restaurant, bar, spa, splash pool, yoga deck, adventure desk, luxurious accommodations with studios, one bedroom, and two bedroom suites – some featuring private plunge pools and outdoor showers! All our units offer king size beds, fireplace and private patio along with majestic views of the rain-forest and the river. Mystic River Resort, is located 7 miles from the twin towns of San Ignacio and Santa Elena, surrounded by incredible serene wilderness – it is the best place to find the perfect something – or nothing – to do. We look forward to welcoming you- at the Mystic River Resort. Your MMR Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mystic River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic River Hotel San Ignacio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing